Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel closed for renovation

Posted Aug 11, 2014
We called on our way to the hotel to confirm our reservations which we had made approximately two weeks prior, and found out that the hotel was closed because it was undergoing renovations. I don't know if it was the hotel's fault or Expedia fault, but no one informed us that our reservation had been moved to another hotel. There wasn't even anyone at actual hotel to talk to. It was completely closed. Luckily the hotel we were moved to was a decent hotel, but not exactly what I would have picked. I wasn't excited about staying in a hotel I didn't know anything about, but was scared that if I canceled our reservation that I would be able to find anything else last minute in Miami Beach on a Friday night. I've always had good luck using Expedia, but this experience with the hotel (regardless of who's fault it was) was disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

QGood price, great location

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Hotel was being renovated. We enjoyed our newly refurbished room. The staff were very helpful and made us feel welcomed. We used the valet service and would recommend it. Enjoyed our stay. The hotel was great for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stacie from Orlando

Cozy Hotel Right Across from Miami Beach

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Went to Miami for a quick weekend getaway and booked a room at the Claridge since it was so close to to the Beach. Right across the road! It looked like it used to be a historical mansion kept in great condition then converted into a hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and had hardwood floors as opposed to carpet which was nice. The staff were all very friendly and professional. As we were checking out we learned they were closing for a few days to do renovations to the entire hotel! I would like to stay there again in the future to see what improvements they have made.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Vancouver

Nice and quiet location with very helpful staff

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Quiet , located close to the bus stops and beach. Helpful staff.
Cons: The only thing I did not like there is compulsary ( already included tip for buffet breakfast). Do not mind tipping, but not for a buffet breakfast.
Location: It is midway between North ann South beach, so it is not noise . There are two convenience stores nearby. Close to the bus stopes.
This was my first time in Miami Beach I spent 8 days at Claridge. Hotel personnel were very nice, polite and helpful, rooms are quiet and location is near the beach and bus stops. It is not very close to South Beach Art Deco area, so having bus stops nearby helps. You can buy 7days bus ticket for $30 and go around Miami Beach and Miami (including the 150 bus that takes you from and to the MIA). Taxi to the Ocean drive and Lincoln Road is about $8-10. Depends what are you after, but if you are after affordable (for Miami beach), quiet and nice place, close to the beach this is it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A from Scarsdale

Charming Hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Really nice hotel. Pretty, charming and cmfortable but with few amenities. Conveniently located a block from the beach. The restaurant was good for lunch, but service was a little slow. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit small for two adults and two children. we were supposed to have a junior suite but it was only one room with a bed and pullout couch so we took a room with two queens but it was a bit tight. Only other complaint was that the "resort fee" only covered towels for the four of us and two beach chairs, and the chairs weren't available after 4PM.
2 out of 5
by Guy in congress from Canada

Not worth the price.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The staff is very nice and friendly.
Cons: Being able to open the windows is a minimum requirement in a hotel.
Location: Beside beaches, not much.
The hotel looks pretty from the outside. Inside, everything is old. My room was clean but stinky. It smells like a septic tank (or non-drinkable water). Unfortunately, all windows were locked (with screws) so I couldn't even get fresh air from the outside. After a while, I got used to the odour of the room, but when I go out for a long time and come back to my room, I notice the smell again. The hotel is located very far from restaurants and shops, so if you don't have a car you will have trouble finding foods and drinks. Breakfast in the hotel is very pricey for the quality offered. I didn't have a choice because there were not many restaurants nearby. The pros include very friendly staff and high speed WIFI, which was convenient because I had to do work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hope you are not a light sleeper!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Bar has some pretty interesting drinks. staff is so helpful and polite. There are many lounge areas for guest. Wifi was free and worked well.
Cons: Have spa tub ready at all times! Tell guest about breakfast options. Give guest more larger towels, make sure there is a hair dryer/iron in room.
Location: Beach is great and across the street along with a boardwalk. Go to Lincoln Rd for dinner. Miami Botanical Gardens. Bike rental across the street.
I recommend getting a room on the top floor. Main floor is too noisy and the 2nd floor you can hear people above, below and on the sides. Valet parking was excellent but pricey. You are still better off then chancing your vehicle being vandalized or items stolen. Also very hard to find a spot and all parking in the area as far as I know if paid parking. Be prepared to wake up at 8am to feed the meter! The spa tub was empty, rooms needed a little tweeking here and there. TV are small and some rooms have sink in middle of the room. I prefer a sink with the bathroom enclosed. Also if you need a hair dryer, iron, or ironing board better ask for one. They had robes available but no small appliances in the room. Only two large bath towels in the room. There is a hefty spa fee per day but good if you need beach towels/chairs there isn't much of a business center. One thing I found annoying was only having one small garbage pail in the bath. I had to go to the bathroom anytime I neeeded to throw something away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Lovely hotel, close to the beach, friendly staff

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Nice hotel, friendly and courteous staff. Helped hold out luggage up to 5 hours after checkout and still found us a cab to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by L from CA

Friendly Staff

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Courteous staff and quiet location
Cons: in-room amenities
Location: Short walk to the beach, a little farther walk for restaurants and night life.
Decent enough hotel, but no mini-fridge as advertised and no iron/ironing board in the room. The staff was great and the location was good for beach going. Close enough to the mania that is south beach, but just far enough away to be quiet at night. The price was low relative to the area and the daily fee covered the beach amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Quiet and close to buses and beach. Many nice restaurants close by.
Cons: The pool was not open. I believe they were renovating but it would have been nice to have access to the pool.
Location: Very close to the beach and the boardwalk. A short bus ride to the deco district , Lincoln mall and Espanola Way.
Great room with huge rooftop terrace and a view of the ocean.