Ratings based on 1,231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ny

Meh

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Cheap and close to beach, bars, restaurants. Everything else-meh. I'm sure there's other hotels with pools that don't resemble a bathtub and elevators that can fit more than 3 people. If you are on a budget and will spend your time here only sleeping then go for it!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Close to the beach but not 4 stars!

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Close to the beach and the room was big enough.
Cons: Restaurant, this place really need another restaurant.
Location: Absolutely not eating In the restaurant downstairs!!!
I wouldn't be so bad if not for 2 major issues. I planned these vacations for a long time and chose this hotel primarily because it has good reviews and included the breakfast and airport shuttle. My greatest disappointment is the breakfast. It was literally horrible. Cheapest juice, a poor Bagel and tasteless coffee. after second breakfast in this place I said enough and I decided to go to other places. I ended up paying for my breakfast but at least I got the breakfast. second issue: One day before leaving I ask for the shuttle, I had flight at 10 AM, I was told that they can only provide the shuttle starting 9 am and if I need it earlier I have to pay it myself. So I ended up again to pay for what supposed to be included. In brief, for hotel that included breakfast and shuttle I had to pay for breakfast and for the shuttle.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Trinidad and Tobago

Convenient but disappointing

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Its location
Cons: The rooms (carpets, bathrooms, bedding)
Pros: Location, Wifi, Free Happy Hour, shuttle service when you can get it Cons: Rooms are not fully updated, Sheets were dirty, Shuttle service stops at 4pm
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Within walking distance which is good but the room could use a lot more cleaning, the outdoor balcony was dirty and left my feet filthy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Very basic hotel not worth the stay. Will not stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

looks better in the pictures

Posted Mar 21, 2015
My room looked very similar to a hostel, a mental ward, or a hospital room; no color or decor or anything soothing at all. It was small, a shower only, and the blanket that was provided had a big tear in it. The air-conditioner worked though. For the most part, when I called for my car to the front desk, the valet brought it to the front except one morning and it made me late for an appointment. Arbor recommend calling at least 15 minutes ahead of the time that you want to leave. The supposed breakfast that you get is one cup of coffee and either a bagel or two pieces of toast. Also I decided to eat dinner one night in that same restaurant and accepted the recommendation from the server for the pasta with fresh tuna and shrimp. Being from New Orleans, I know my seafood. The shrimp was the small shrimp that you get in the frozen section of your local grocery store and the tuna was, without a doubt, chicken of the sea out of the can. I left the entire plate there and just walked off. I was so aggravated and told the front desk but not at any point did they offer to refund the dinner. I will never go to this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2015
A very nice boutique hotel right in the heart of South beach. Good staff, clean hotel, nice pool and bar. Very happy I chose The Clinton
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Good location but didn't provide what was promised

Posted Mar 19, 2015
My sister and I were excited to visit South Beach for our first time on Spring Break! After waiting over 1 hour at the airport for the hotel shuttle (and calling the hotel multiple times asking for assistance since we had been waiting at the correct location), we got a $32 cab. Arrived at the hotel, and surprise, they are able to check us in early! The room was average, size was ok, but it just looked dirty. There were dark hairs on the bed and some small bugs in the shower. Not to mention, water leaked out of the shower door so our bathroom had a puddle in it the entire time. Also the hairdryer provided didn't work and there were no screens on the windows. We tried to shake all this off and just went to the beach and had a nice day. That evening is when we discovered that the free happy hour drinks are only cheap vodka and gin with juice (my bad, I should have read better). And to add to that, the next morning, we discovered that the breakfast provided was juice, coffee, and a croissant/toast. That was the breaking point, really. Also, when we tried to order food at the hotel cafe, they were out of many of the food items and the food they presented us was terrible (cesear salad with mayo for dressing and sliced pickles included, not good). The pool area wasn't too bad, but also not very clean. I won't be going back, unfortunately.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

They can do better

Posted Mar 18, 2015
The restaurant bar tender had no clue what she was doing. The shower head...WTH... Do better! The water from the shower was always leaking on the bathroom floor. Need a better bathroom design go prevent that. Need faster n more efficient valet service. Took 20+ min for car
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Do not expect much

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: The bartender. The old chef. One or two of the receptionists. The lobby looks nice. There was a free shuttle service to and from the airport.
Cons: Training some of the staff on basic hotel service industry etiquette, if there is. They just seem to hate their jobs and I felt bad for them at times.
Location: The location is great. Close enough to the beach, the "happenings". There were parties when I was there. There were lots of people on the streets.
On the day of my arrival, the bed sheets and towels appear new and clean. The table were dusty, the remote control had dried up gunk (fingerprint smudges, I don't know if they were of dried food, but to be honest I don't want to know) on it; the toilet bowl and seat had areas of spots of red and smudges as well. I don't know what they were but good thing I had a pair of gloves and four individually packaged cleaning wipes, so I started wiping down the tables, the sink, the toilet seat and rim of the bowl, light switches, remote control, door knobs (balcony and main door), the curtain handles, closet side handles, shower door handles, fawcet/handle, shower control. I just told myself, that's what you get for a 3.5 star hotel. Something's different about the balcon door. If you turn the lock to lock, the handle inside could still be turned and the door opens up, but could not be opened from the outside. I did not know this at first and on the first night, I was a bit afraid to sleep because I was thinking the door was broken. The following day I told the receptionist. The first maintenance guy (older one) showed me how to close and open the door. I wondered if he understood my dilemma. I repeated to him the situation, and he basically did the same thing. H didn't seem to to get it so I just said "thank you". So I waited a few hours, thinking maybe there would be a different staff/maintenance guy. Thank goodness, there was another maintenance guy.