Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynden, WA

Close to the action and the beach

Posted Sep 25, 2014
The hotel staff were all helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the complimentary glass of sangria while they checked us in. Room was exactly as pictured. Bedding was very comfortable. This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to all the nightlife and the beach. However you need to understand that because it is so close to everything, you will hear music from the street late into the night. Picked up towels at the front desk to go swimming at the beach in the morning - which is right across the street. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location Friendly Staff

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Wet Willies, Restaurants, Bars,Beach etc.
Great Experience! Happy Hour with Ocean Rooftop Pool is amazing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Mold Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Across from the beach. Decent decor.
Cons: New Carpeting. Any security at the courtyard entrance that was dimly lit right out on the street. Fix gate so it closes.
Location: Beach, Lots of shopping and places to eat.
I am not the complaining type nor is my wife but the room we stayed in had a really awful mold smell. (and we were on the 2nd floor) We did not complain until we left because we where only in town for 2 nights and we were out most of the time. The first night we dropped our stuff off and dint get back until 1:30 am. The room also had a fresh layer of paint or stain on the wood which was oil based and still sticky to the touch at every door. The room we were in was separate from the front desk and we had to walk out on the street through a outdoor restaurant where the staff would bug you to eat each time we walked by. The courtyards to our building had poor security with a gate and a keypad lock that we had to enter a code. Most of the time it was open as well as the entrance to the rooms because the elevator was broken so they had to leave the locked stair open because it was not part of the room card key. When we were leaving the women at the desk did not seem to care too much (in between her texts) about the condition. We were only let them know for the next guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

South Beach visit

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location for sure
Ok... so I get it... you're staying in South Beach because you want to be close to the beach and all the action. If that's your goal this is a good choice. BUT, you can't have all that and get a great deal of rest either. Being right next to the Clevelander with the DJ thumping it out until all hours... well let's just say you won't rest easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upper Marlboro, MD

Would stay here again

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Location is great right in the middle of Ocean Drive. Hotel is nice. Everything was clean. I'd describe it as borderline upscale. Our room didn't have much of a view, but still enjoyed that it had a balcony. Roof top parties with free happy hour was fun, just wished the DJ played a larger variety of music. Seemed like everything was techno. The free Sangria in the lobby was awesome! But for some reason we couldn't control the AC in our room. Room was comfortable for the most part, but did get a little too hot then a little too cold at times. We assumed the hotel had the temp settings on a schedule. And the resort fees seemed a little excessive (charged per person per night). But I saw other hotels that charged higher. And go the nearest Walgreens and liquor stores. They have all the same snacks and drinks that are in the mini bar and much more but for much less.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Birthday Celebration in Miami

Posted Aug 5, 2014
My overall experience of the Congress Hotel was great besides the $200 they had to take off my card off accidental fees & $12.50/day resort fee that I knew nothing about, everything was ok. We had a pool on the roof of the hotel w/ free drinks for happy hour my entire stay, I loved it in Miami
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Our stay was pretty good. The only issue we had were the poor cooking appliances provided when we arrived. We picked the hotel to save on dining out every night so we really wanted good cookware. Once we called and asked the hotel did supply replacements. The hotel is definitely in the middle of all the action. You really do not have to go far for happy hours, clubbing, the beach. Everything is steps away.Complimentary happy hour for the hotel guests daily and complimentary sangria waiting at the front desk was also a plus. The rooftop pool is quite small. However, the party scene and the dj and view is well worth it. Afterall, there's a beautiful beach across the street, who cares about the pool?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Check in was a breeze, just don't forget about the $12.50 per person/per day resort fee. Went to our room, it was just as pictured (very nice and clean). However the best part of this hotel is the rooftop pool and the view from there. The hotel often hosts parties so its not the place to go if your looking for a relaxing stay but perfect for everyone else. My sister and I love this hotel and we have stayed here before and will prob stay here the next time we visit. We are 25 yrs old and this was the perfect place. Great crowd at the pool and great location for the strip...Wet Willies, Fat Tuesdays, Clevelander, Mangos and much more are all short walks from here about 3-4 blocks away at the most.No cab needed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Birthday Vacay!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: It was directly across from the beach. The hotel provides you with beach towels.
I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Miami for his birthday. We both had been plenty of times, but had never stayed on Ocean Drive. As I researched hotels, Congress was the best priced and seemed to have everything we were looking for. When we arrived, we were greated with Sangria's and friendly staff. Our room was in the building across from the main building and one of the bell guys walked us to our room and helped us get settled. I always read reviews before I go anywhere but sometimes they still dont give you the full picture of what the hotel is. I will tell you when we walked into the room we were highly surprised and pleased. It actually looked how it looked on the hotel's website! Nice and clean and spacious. No matter where I'm staying I always need a clean room! Not a place to just lay my head kind of room. When you check in they give you tickets for free happy for guest each day you stay from 4pm - 5pm. This was the best deal ever. And it's on the rooftop with a pool, lounge chairs, bar stools and tables. Everyday was a good time at this happy hour! Eventhough the hotel sits right next to the Clevelander and they party all night, the balcony door is very sound proof. Unless you open your door, you cannot really hear anything that is going on outside. If you want a good time and a clean place to stay on Ocean Drive I would recommend this place. Everytime I go back, I will be staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Ocean Drive location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
This hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is between 10th and 11th and Ocean and across the street from the beach. I enjoyed the large spacious rooms and views of the strip and beach. Everything on Ocean drive is in walking distance, and this hotel offers amazing room service.