Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Close to the beach , need some upgrade,

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Is too old need upgrade.
Cons: Every think need improved, from the main door to the last room including the pool.go
Location: Good location
I just expend one day it was good for a weekend in the beach .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Homosassa Fl

good location on the beach

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The lobby
Cons: everything needs to be up-graded
Location: good location
room was fair needs a lot of work .some kind of flying insects in the bathroom a lot of them . could not charge my cell phone in the room all the outlets were so old the plug would not in stay in .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Clean hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Love the Thunderbird and staff. Always being cleaned and worked on. Best bartenders in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Going....Going......

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Excellent location on Sunny Isles Beach. Unfortunately, the trend is for these once beautiful motels to allow themselves to get run down waiting for the "right price". To eventually give way to a new high rise condo. It appears this hotel has seen better days. Rooms are outdated and cleanliness an issue. The kitchen had an odor of gas coming from the stove. The A/C was hit and miss in that your manual settings seemed to have little to do with eventual airflow. Maintenance and housekeeping staff seemed distant and aloof, requests for additional towels were met with annoyance. The front desk is either rigid or accommodating depending on the luck of the draw. Don't expect any help from the valet and self parking is a mission. Otherwise, the onsite restaurant and bars were fairly good and prices reasonable. Don't expect to get a chair on the beach for free--you gotta pay for that. We were here in the off season, so maybe things are different in the winter. In sum, very reasonably priced room on the beach and located across the street from PUBLIX supermarket if you want to watch the budget. Enjoy
1 out of 5
by juan from colombia

ugly hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: everything...it is very very very old and in bad conditions. The employees are not friendly. They do not have customer service attitude.
Location: aventura, highways, restaurants, malls, supermarkets
The buildiong is very old, ugly and in bad conditions. Lack of painting and better lobby, better cleaniness. The bathroom terrible, the pool zone totally awful. The employees are not friendly, specially the valet parking (no the Colombian guy) Lack of customer service attitude. I tried to change the hotel...without thinking in how much money i would lose.....I felt very upset...I apologize my family. Bad experience for holydays
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good value but needs renovating

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a great location and had no complaints. The hotel itself needs a remodel but that's probably why it's such a good rate.
1 out of 5
by Jean from Miami

It was a nightmare.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
The only thing good about the place is being on the beach. The staff acted as if you owe them a tip every time they do their job. Valet parking is not really valet. A valet even told me that " if you have your key why don't you go get your car". The rooms are motel standard. The air conditioning can't be controlled in the rooms, at least not in the ones I had. The towels are dirty and still show stains (yellowish) when I was about to use them. I had to use my own. After 24 hours I had to leave the rooms(2) that I booked for 2 weeks. They never refunded the valet fees at $190 each although the front desk pretended to have done so. Thank god there was a Hampton near by where I stayed for the remainder of the trip.
2 out of 5
by VF from San Francisco

Close to the beach

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Too old and outdated
Cons: Repair and update this facility
Location: Supermarket
I expected more from this hotel including repaired Jacuzzi etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mauricio from Orlando

Not too bad

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I pulled up tontine hotel first and asked at the front desk if any rooms available was told yes and the best rate they had was $135/night then I went out to my car and booked it thru hotels.com and got a $89/night rate. My only bad experience when I visited was check in, front desk guy was as rude as it can be, we had an issue with cigarette smell called the front desk and again the same guy told us what can we expect for the price we paid???!!!location was great although it seems a bit outdated
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Peggy D from North Dakota

Good Location

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
this hotel is right on the beach & there is a bus stop right out the front door for service to other areas along the shore. We stayed 2 nights but did not use the pool (too crowded & no towels available). Lots of good places to eat within walking distance. We tried the El Tropica for excellend Cuban cuisine!