Ratings based on 1,044 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville, FL

Decent hotel, very reasonably priced.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Overall a good hotel if you want a cheap place right on south beach. The facility itself is a little dingy, especially the reception area. For the money, not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time in Miami - would recommend Essex Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Great area, just off Ocean Drive. The staff were all really helpful.
Fantastic trip to Miami. We would definitely recommend the Essex Hotel, the staff are excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: place
Cons: ok
Location: beach
I will back this hotel on Aug/2015 , good place , maybe the conditioner is noisy , other is very good, it's better to stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Worth, Tx

AMAZING

Posted Aug 5, 2014
I stay at this hotel and this hotel only!! Very very clean, super staff, friendly staff!! Amazing Lemonade!! Lol!!! Rooms are clean, spacious! The best hotel for the price when you stay on South Beach!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We had a great time! The hotel was in a great area and away from most of the noise of Ocean Drive, yet close enough to join the party when needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Excellent location!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Besides from the water temperature in the shower my overall experience was GREAT! I would definitely come back and tell a friend. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manhattan, Ny

Always and for ever amazing

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Its my all time fav to stay in the essex house when ever im in miami wonderful staff amazing hospitality
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, very standard hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Hotel is in a great location-walking distance to the beach and Oceans Drive. The entrance to the hotel is great-nice and clean, seems modern and the staff are extremely friendly. But the rooms in itself are very basic (judging by the room I stayed in with a friend): -television signal is very poor -no waste basket in the room (only in the bathroom) -no tea/coffee/kettle facilities -no safe in the room to store passports and other valuables -very limited closet space, had to keep all clothes in suitcase as there wasnt much space to put them anywhere else -the water for the shower/sink was cold on several occasions resulting in cold showers (not the greatest first thing in the morning) even when the taps/showers were left running for 10-15 mins it was still cold. -the power for the water from the shower was very poor -no ventilation in the room or bathroom. Unable to open the windows for fresh air Staying in this hotel felt more like staying in a hostel than a hotel. I felt a little mislead by other reviews. All thought the stay was ok, I would not stay here again unless the rooms are fully renovated and refurbished.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Hotel staff very informative and helpful ...... excellent customer service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great location to EVERYTHING!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The staff was excellent and so friendly. This is a great location for Ocean Drive and the beach. The hotel was very clean, but the elevator was really old and noisy. The hotel was connected to the Clevander and that was really nice. Great atmosphere!