Ratings based on 2,348 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away!!!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The facilities are nice, but I guess they have been like that for decades. Renovation definitely helped, but guest service is pathetic.
Cons: They need a real management to run the business as a hotel. There is no customer service in place, shortage of personnel. No one seems to care.
Location: Good location with a lot of restaurants and clubs nearby, unfortunately.
Possibly one of the worst experiences me and my family have ever had in a so-called "5-star" hotel. Seriously, this hotel does not even get one star due to the horrendous service they provide to their guests. It is really a joke! They are supposedly a "VIP access hotel" for Expedia Gold members... However, if this is how they treat their VIP guests, I don't even want to know how they treat "non-VIP" guests. Expedia really, you should not have this hotel in your list of VIP hotels. They are a disgrace to your program.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington, VA

For the people who want to throw money away.....

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Not very much. The LG TV was nice and the shower was great but I had to fix my own toilet twice.
Cons: Everything (except the great young staff) at this hotel could stand an attitude adjustment.
Location: Eat at The Tavern in the Hotel Croydon and at Casa Claridge, both right down the street.
I booked this hotel through Expedia and chose one of the more expensive Miami Beach packages because I wanted something special for my wife. When we got there, we found it to be very loud (it is a conference hotel....and they cater to the conference in preference to their guests), very expensive (over and above the fees listed n Expedia, which we expected, it turns out that everything costs way too much....$13 for a fistful of cashews, $8 for a few small Twix bars, $6 for a small bottle of water as in-room snacks; $32 for a tube of sunscreen). The rooms cost over $500/night and for it you get one ply toilet paper, no coffee pot, and only one semi-comfortable chair in a room designed for a couple. When we asked for a coffee pot, we were told to order room service.......that's $15/pot plus expected tip. The pools were great but we were taken aback by a $20/day towel fee which we didn't expect or recall from the Expedia site. The restaurants were all VERY expensive and we found better food in a better atmosphere with nicer service a couple blocks down on the same street. The entire stay I felt like the primary purpose of this hotel was to get my money and not treat me as a valued guest. It wasn't the staff.....they were great.....it was the hotel policies and pricing structure. As for the pools, they were nice (if you don't rent a cabana at $300/day) but they close at 5PM so that the hotel can rent it to outside organizations. Forget hanging by the pool at evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pittsburgh

wonderful vacation

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Great service.wonderful restaurants.. No need to leave hotel. Beautiful pool area. Only negative is the beach area. Very small and congested.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Nice hotel with no soul!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
The hotel was very nice. The staff seemed a little overwhelmed with the amount of rooms they had to handle. They were quick to compensate us when they did anything wrong. The facilities were great but the hotel was too large to make our stay feel 'special.'
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again..

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Prior to a cruise my husband and I spent two nights.. Empty sofa beds all around pool area with reserved cards .. Not one lounge available that was either taken or had towels on them .. Husband and I headed to beach .. There was plenty of seating .. Multible high beds along oceans edge where we decided to lounge .. After a couple of hours a gentleman approached me and asked if I would like a bed and being confused I explained I was confused .. Well to my surprise to use these loungers you have to pay $150.00 .. Being late in the afternoon and looking at a beach full of empty beds I explained I was fine .. $350 for dinner with out alcohol and it was wonderful ..a few hundred an evening .. No problem with that .. But you actually have empty loungers all around pool & beach and charge anywhere from $150 - $250 a day to use them. I understand the 350 a day charge for a cabana with flat screen/sofa ect. But to have a guest pay to use a Lounge chair or bed that has a cushion should be the reason hotel is overly priced .. $25 for a frozen drink by the pool should have that amenity. Did not appreciate my credit card being billed $200 for late check out when we checked out at 8 and was probably just a little mistake .. Not probably but yes, a mistake and $200 is not little to some people .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel !

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Excellent experience , good staff and good location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Very little. The staff tended to be uninterested and rushed.
Cons: Staff members who are more accommodating, the staff at Expedia informing the hotel about client requests.
Location: The hotel is located in a beautiful area, but it seems that it is necessary to drive to South Beach to have more dining and shopping choices.
Although I had requested a quiet room, I was given a room over the pool which had loud music going all day. The request for a quiet room had been made at the time I made the booking with Expedia and was again mentioned when I checked into the hotel. After I complained to the management, I was shown a number of rooms which did not fit my requirements- I also wanted an ocean view and was shown rooms without a full view of the ocean. After looking at several unsatisfactory rooms, I was sent to a larger room which did have an ocean view. This room was satisfactory. I think that because I had booked with Expedia I was given an unsatisfactory room because they knew I had paid for the room and therefore had no further interest in providing a satisfactory room for me. Needless to say, I would not book any rooms with Expedia or stay at the Fountainebleau Resort. I was told Expedia never told the hotel about my request for a quiet room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mooi groot hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Personeel erg behulpzaam, goede service, mooie kamers en direct aan strand. Op loop afstand van diverse eetgelegenheden en ook art deco is te voet te doen
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LA, California

It's so big there's no intimacy

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: It is stylish & there are lots of dining choices. It is the location for many a movie and shoot so that adds to the cool factor.
Cons: A bit more intimacy and loving
Location: It's in a good spot--Cecconi's next door and the art deco district of South Beach within walking distance.
I read the reviews before we booked and I still booked. I didn't regret booking this hotel but I didn't love this hotel. It's just too big that it lacks intimacy and enough room for personal space. Also, I booked this because there were some Expedia bonuses but they didn't really happen. I thought I'd get treated like a VIP and I simply wasn't. If you're after a scene and you don't mind being right next to someone (I mean like on a plane seat right next to someone) by the pool then you're fine. It is expensive pool side etc but I think they all are so don't judge based on this alone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I wouldn't stay here again

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The pool was nice
Cons: the service and the rooms need upgrading
Location: Nothing
When you enter the hotel, it appears beautiful and grand...then you get to your room. Did they run out of money by the time they got to the rooms when they were building the hotel? Small, cramped, dingy. The bathroom looked like it was built in the 80's with it's rusty dirty lighting and rusty faucet. I'm not sure what angle the pictures on Expedia were taken at but the room that I had was considerably smaller than what was pictured. Service in the hotel was the worst that I've ever experienced in any hotel that I've ever stayed in. I've never had to call housekeeping at 4:00 before to see if they're planning to clean my room. Then call again after they supposedly cleaned it to ask for towels and clean glasses. Then there was the valet. It took nearly an hour every time we needed to retrieve our car. The hotel isn't within walking distance of ANYTHING so you have to drive everywhere. A large portion of our time was spent waiting for our car. Once we even called ahead for our car, went downstairs and waited 20 minutes. Finally we asked how much longer it would be and they didn't have a record of our call. Unbelievably bad service. The rooms are much nicer and less expensive at any Weston or W Hotel and the service is better at absolutely any other hotel