Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin

Relax in Miami

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Having my own bed to come in and out whenever I want. I like that they offer beach towels and the happy hour from 6-8pm everyday.
Cons: One of the restrooms on the second floor (in one of the bedrooms) throws water everywhere when you flush the toilet and the water floods the bathroom.
Location: There's a beautiful beach, but not to go swimming. Sunrises are paradise. The shore is covered in sea weeds though.
People who stay at Freehand Miami are just passing through. I generally meet people there from countries all over the world. They are nice, but they also don't invade your space. People keep to themselves if you don't want to be bothered but they're also friendly if you engage them in conversation. Its fun to watch a major sporting event together in the lobby. The staff are cordial. I don't have any complaint of them from my last stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Very nice hostel close to the beach

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Very good facilities and rooms are comfortable and clean. Plus there is an awesome outside area with pool where you can chill and drink good cocktails. Staff is very easy going and helpful too. I recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bonita Springs

Pleasant

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Evening staff, pool, proximity to the beach.
Cons: HOW COULD YOU NOT OFFER COFFEE? Isn't there a law against this in South Florida? Parking is a DISASTER. Sometimes you have to park very far.
Location: The lemonades at the Latin restaurant across the street are incredibly refreshing. <3
Very relaxing week able to enjoy incredible sunrises. The breakfast is really only good on the weekends. The rest of the days, it only includes bananas and cereal. I like the evening staff very much. They are very respectful and accomodating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Full of noisy people

Posted Jun 19, 2014
So noisy , people talk all the time , no respect for sleeping people .So noisy , people talk all the time , no respect for sleeping people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joel from Lake Como, Italy

The highlight of Miami!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Nice atmosphere and very accommodating staff. Would be great for traveling with friends, family or alone(lots of interesting people and books around).
Cons: Better insulated windows as the hotel is targeted a bit more towards a younger crowd which can get a bit loud at night
Location: There is a wonderful Cuban market a block away which has Cuban take-away at an incredible price and the food is great. Miami Beach is 2 blocks away.
So, my wife, our two kids (3 and 5) and myself decided to have a one day layover in Miami after our vacation and I found a great deal for the 'King Suite' at Freehand Miami... It was fabulous! We were tired when we got in, so we put the kids to bed and I went and got us some drinks at the bar to bring back to the room... I didn't want to go back to the room because the atmosphere was so nice and layed back, but my wife was waiting for the drinks, so I did. The living room easily slept 2 and the bedroom had a WONDERFUL bed... hadn't slept that well in a very long time. The kids slept great (there were big flatscreens in both of our rooms) and in the morning we went and had a great (free) breakfast, went swimming in the pool and played ping pong. We didn't care for Miami much, but the Freehand was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy going and clean hostel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
This hostel had a wide variety of guests and I never saw or heard anyone complaining. Clean towels everyday, checked room, assitance whenever it was needed. Good base for any trip to Miami.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessica from palm Beach fl

Unique hotel walking distance to south beach

Posted Jun 10, 2014
We stayed for one night to attend the Memorial Day parade in south beach on Monday. Hotel looks old from the outside, parking is very difficult, but once we arrived we felt better. We checked in to a room on the 3rd floor and was advised by the staff that the parking lot we were in was part of the hotel.. We went up to the 3rd floor to find that the room was hot and the window was open... We tried to close it but the handle was broken. I went downstairs to the reception desk and expressed my concern of the window, the girl at the front desk was very nice and helpful, she said she could move us to another room, no issues, however there would be a, $200 deposit. I was not happy about that, but whatever. The girl ended up moving us from room 301 to a guest house... When we opened the first house door we almost dropped our bags from happiness. It was an actual house! A living room, bedroom , 2tvs walk in bathroom... Absolutely gorgeous. Right next to the pool, which had a tiki bar and music.. It was just awesome. We didn't even go out Sunday night, we stayed by the pool and relaxed. It is definitely a hotel catering to people in their 20s and 30s. We checked out Monday morning.. They let us stay until 1130 which was nice, however, when we went out to the car I had an $18 ticket on my car for parking in that lot. Also took me over a week to get my deposit back when I was originally told that it would take 2 business days. Besides that, I would definitely reccomend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isabel from Orlando, FL

Had a nice time

Posted Jun 5, 2014
I'm glad they've kept it affordable. Its very well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2014
Totally worth it, it's a bit of a walk/ride from South Beach, but it's pleasant to walk along the beach. Differentiates itself from other hostels b/c it's cleaner and isn't loud during the nights like those near south beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mirawen from Athens, GA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 13, 2014
The hotel is 5 mins walk to the beach. There is a nice pool in the backyard with a bar. There are lockers in the room to keep your belongings safe, as long as you bring a lock with you. Beds are twin size but comfortable. Nice for young people to live and have fun. It can be noisy sometimes if some other guests are staying up late in the bar and went back to their room, you would hear their talking and walking in your room. I stayed here with my parents for two nights, we reserved the entire room of four beds so that we family of three can enjoy some privacy. Assistants at the front desk are all very nice. Over all pleasant stay.