Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location AND Accommodating Hotel!!!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Cons: Something that could be improved is the housekeeping service with the replacing of towels and washcloths in the room but just call the front desk!
Hotel Astor is a really great hotel!!! The staff is wonderful and very accommodating! When ever you call the front desk they jump right on what ever you need! They upgraded our room to one with three beds because our superior double room wasn't ready which was awesome! The door men and Valet personnel are really helpful in waving a cab down for you! HAHA So no worries on that! The hotel bar drinks and food is really good!! and the hotel has a night club named Downstairs! The hotel is very close to the beach two blocks over, so easy to walk to everything and all the major attractions near the beach! I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who's visiting Miami!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Manager rude and arrogant

Posted Apr 7, 2014
I was told I could check in early. But when I got there no room was available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Philadelphia

Comfortable and accessible hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Central location and outstanding staff - courteous, friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean.
Cons: Our room was over the Club downstairs - maybe a little better sound insulation on the ceiling below.
Location: Wolfsonian Museum, Jewish Museum, Lincoln Road shopping, beach, affordable restaurants. Pinnochio Italian café was a favorite!
Hotel Astor has great central location, 2 blocks from the beach, on the main drag, and across from the wonderful Wolfsonian Museum. Lots of affordable restaurants close by, and within walking distance of everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from DC

Funky hotel close to all the action

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Location, decor, staff.
Cons: Hot water
Location: SoBe restaurants, clubs, shopping, museums, etc.
We had a flight cancel due to the snowy weather in the northeast, so we had a bonus vacation day in south FL. Having never been to SoBe, we headed east and checked out Expedia for a nearby hotels 3 stars or higher and <$200. Hotel Astor came up in our search, we read lots of positive reviews and hit the Buy Now button. We are glad we did because Hotel Astor perfectly met our needs. It is 2 blocks off the beach at 10th St, so you can walk to everything. The modest $15 resort fee gave us access to beach chairs and towels which we used that afternoon. We returned from the beach and enjoyed happy hour Mojitos in the small lobby bar (a new bar/club is slated to open downstairs in a few weeks). We asked for a quiet room off Washington Ave which they accommodated. The room had a comfortable King bed, big closet/armoire, mini fridge, desk, etc. The bathroom was functional, if not fancy, and there was plenty of water pressure. The hot water was not very hot, but warm enough. Chris at the front desk (there at check-in at 4PM and check-out at 8:30AM - go get some rest) was very helpful and proud to represent Hotel Astor. He gave us a quick tour and shared some of the history dating from 1936 while we were waiting for our car to be brought by the parking valet ($32 in/out for 24 hours).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

great location

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: location and history of the hotel and area.
Cons: Have a pool installed.Expand the menu to include more food with Cuban influences.
Location: Epanola Way was great to see and loved the shops and restaurants in this area.
My friend and I had a wonderful time at this hotel. Staff were very friendly , polite and informative about the area. Got great tips about places to eat and shop. glad we stayed here. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Alex from B

Not worth the $$$!!!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
The staff was the best part of this stay. Hotel needs to be upgraded. The flooring in hall is coming up. The AC in room sounded like a freight train and curtains had holes in them. The fridge kept making a knocking sound and the stereo/radio is extremely out of date. The in room phone didn't seem to be working and room was also next to a trash chute. Do yourself a favor and stay out of room 117 if you can. The lobby, tiny bar and patio area which are all common areas were clean and well kept. I expected a lot more $450 a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brent from Montreal, QC

Charming property 3 blocks from the beach.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing I didn't like.
Cons: Update some of the furniture in the room. I understand they are going for authenticity (which is great) but the desk could use a coat of paint.
Location: Eat, drink, shop, suntan, play on the beach... you name it, it's handy.
Overall very nice experience. Comfortable rooms, EXCELLENT bath and shower, close to everything and very nice, professional staff at all levels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jasmine from New York

Not a bad hotel for the price.

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor
I enjoyed it, we didn't have hot water, a few issues like that but the staff handled it. We also had a huge crack in our mirror as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel near all the action

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Location: Near all the action of Ocean Dr., the beach, and the best part of the Deco District.
The Astor is a sweet little hotel. Clean, quaint, and accessible to all the Southbeach action. It was great to be near the drive but not on it. We were able to park our car very inexpensively and conveniently on the street and walk to everything- literally! The staff was very courteous and helpful. We had a reservation glitch (my fault) and they were very helpful in sorting it out. I hear they are doing some major upgrades soon (many were underway) go now before the buzz hits and prices will definitely go up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from Hg

Two Nights @ Astor

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Shuttle service as advertised on website is misleading. I was waiting for over an hr for the shuttle and no show for the shuttle. I called the hotel directly and was informed they discontinued the service. I think they should inform the guest about the changes or remove the false ad from the web. Hotel staff was friendly. Room is ok. The bathroom water kept flowing non stop and can't turn it off. Over all experience is ok.