Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom florida

floors were filthy and dust covered everything

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Ocean front room setup was nice. The room was very dirty and our feet were black if we didn't wear shoes. The deadbolt was broken and had to wait for maintenance to file the door jam. Restaurant servers in the front of hotel harassed you to eat and drink everytime you needed to go in or out!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom München

Eher für Nachtschwärmer und Partygänger geeignet

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Das Personal
Cons: Schallschutz!
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich direkt am Ocean-Drive - welcher leider (aus meiner Sicht) in den letzten 20 Jahren zum amerikanischen Ballermann mutiert ist.
Unser Zimmer mit "ocean few" war hell und groß. Alles ist etwas krumm und schief renoviert, (wohl der Art-Deco Substanz geschuldet) - aber das hat ja auch Charme. Das Frühstück ist leider nichts, was man erwähnen dürfte. Toast, lauwarmes Rührei mit Speck, Wassermelone, O-Saft und Kaffee aus der Kanne - Tag für Tag - und an der Partybar im Restaurant vom Vorabend - nicht wirklich einladend präsentiert. Und - wer Erholung durch Ruhe sucht ist hier sicherlich an der ganz falschen Adresse. Am Wochenende war vor 2:30 Uhr und unter der Woche bis ca. 1:00 Uhr an Schlaf nicht zu denken (auch nicht mit Ohr-Stöpseln). Man hat den Eindruck, das Restaurant im Hotel setzt - wie fast alle am Ocean-Drive - auf "je lauter der Alleinunterhalter - desto besser und hipper die Location".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warren, RI

First Class Hotel and Staff

Posted Dec 23, 2014
The hotel is in a great location, staff is amazing and very helpful, rooms are spacious and very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Noisy hotel without coffee maker

Posted Dec 23, 2014
The hotel was under renovation. The bathroom was really nice. But at night you hear the loud music from the hotel patio. The shape of the room is very unusual as well. Advertised as 3.5 stars and no coffee maker !
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

South Beach Miami....never again

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
On arrival we were told there was a problem with the rooms and that we had been moved to a 5 star hotel with ocean view rooms with balconys. We were also told that parking was included in the room fee. It turned out that it wasnt a 5 star, there were no balconys, and the ocean view wasnt. The bar charged $9 for a local beer, and at night gangs of youths hung around at the entrance 'asking' for cash. At check out, when I questioned the $39 per night parking fee and the $22 per night service charge(?) another guest revealed that they had been sent to the Breakwater from Hotel Ocean. Both have the same owners The ratings given are for the Breakwater as we only got as far as the reception at Ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jamesfrom ohio

AWESOME STAY

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want peace and quiet don't stay here! The reviews made me question staying but we took the risk. Our room was right by the dj and we had room 200 ocean view. I loved it yes stay out on the town until 1 then you can go back to the room and it is quieter or close to it.. But hey don't stay here if you plan on going to bed at 9 and hello you are in south beach why go to be early... and make sure to walk down to the corner... great drag queen show...loved it :) thanks to all the staff can't wait to see the remodel when done next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Muito bom.

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quarto amplo, confortável, banheiro novo. A primeira impressão e de um.hotel velho. Quartos reformados e confortaveis.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In renovation... dead rat

Posted Nov 6, 2014
The hotel is under renovation. The first day we checked in the room smelt funny. Found out that night there was a dead rat in our room. They moved us to a smaller room. Next 3 nights we got a larger suite. No discount and no apology.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spain

Great location

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: The location was perfect. Right on top of Ocean Drive with its bars and resturants and only Two minutes from the beach.
Cons: The choice of biscuits and drinks in the lobby. Coffee machine would have been a great option. more choice for breakfast.
Location: location, in the heart of Ocean Drive. Bars, clubs, shops and the beach. The best place to eat was 11th Street Diner. Bar/club Mango's everytime.
On arrival the hotel wasn't exactly outstanding.It Was hard to see from the street and we wasn't sure where to go. Not clear where the main entrance was. Having said that, once we was in our room, it was large, clean and had a super soft comfy bed. Plenty of hot water and towels. The room was at the back of the hotel so we didn't hear any street noise from the busy 'ocean drive'. The staff were very helpfull and looked after us from beginning to end. Breakfast wasn't very exciting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice clean hotel across the road from the beacj

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: The rooms are big and beds are comfy. Bathrooms are also very big with a jacuzzi bath and shower. Very clean and well lit.
Cons: The breakfast could definitely be improved. They have a better menu for paying customers which is a shame since we've paid to stay. I'd eat elsewhere
Location: Everything is local here however it's a noisy place to stay as they have live performers every night till about 12/1am
From the outside you may think you've gotten a raw deal but once inside the rooms are fab and the ocean views are pretty awesome. It's a very small hotel with a tiny reception area and one lift. Staff are pleasant and accomodating. Breakfast isn't great but ok to grab a coffee and some cereal. Wifi isn't that great either, only worked in the reception area but not in the rooms.