Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Fairfax, Virginia

Excellent hotel for a South Beach getaway

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The room, location, patio, breakfast and staff
Location: Awesome location! The Art Deco District is beautiful - beaches, restaurants, shops and more all around.
I couldn't be happier with my stay at Hotel Ocean. Reviews are pretty mixed so I booked hoping for the best. So glad I did! We took a cab to the hotel and were met right out front by the bellman who offered to help us with our bags and show us the way to the entrance. It's towards the back behind the lovely fountain in the patio. We got there a little early and thought we might have to leave our bags and go kill some time before check-in but nope! Our room, which faced the beach, was ready for us! I was not expecting such a lovely view :) The room was absolutely perfect - very spacious and clean. The bed was also very comfortable. The location is amazing! The beach is literally across the street. You are right on Ocean Drive in the middle of all its glory. There are countless restaurants and shops all around. The Versace mansion, Collins Ave and Washington Ave are right at your fingertips. The continental breakfast was also really good! Several delicious hot and cold options. Loved the fresh fruit and crispy bacon! The staff was also very friendly and helpful. The lady working the front desk was very sweet - helped us book a great tour of the Everglades. Do expect to hear loud music pretty much all day until late at night. It's Ocean Drive and it's South Beach after all! I stayed for four days and it never really bothered me. I would be so tired at the end of the day that it never kept me up. Overall great experience here. I would definitely stay here again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Florida

Great Room... Great location

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: The room & bathroom were just excellent. Bed very comfy.
Cons: Bellman desperately needed. And, more than ONE luggage cart.
Location: This is right on Ocean Dr. ...toward the north end. Slightly quieter location. Beach directly across street. Stores & restaurants within close walk.
Wonderful stay. Desk staff very pleasant. Restaurant attached to hotel good value. They have valet & wi-fi too. No pool here but you have access to a sister hotel for pool use. I will stay again. If they had a Bellman & more than one luggage cart I'd of given them an overall 5 rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Franck from New York NY

Enjoyable stay

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Privacy
Cons: Needs a fresher look more 2010 less1990
Location: Best location, everything is around
Excellent location for South Beach with a very professional and amiable manager as well as reception desk clerks. All in all an excellent five days stay in a spacious, sunny room.
2 out of 5
by james from south beach miami

Bring your camping gear!

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Room was nice but bring everything ! There was a bar with no glass wear , barely any towels bare minimum . Sink was not functioning..... Could not get a fork or a glass. Ocean view was bogus! Was definitely not worth 500.00!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by diane from delaware

Great location

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Clean and great location.
Location: The hotel was across the street from the beach. You can walk to shopping and restaurants,the best location.
Hotel was in a perfect location if you want to be in south beach. You can walk to all the restaurants and nite time entertainment. Hotel ocean had great entertainment every night we were there . Great free breakfast and very helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by Jen from Vancouver

Gross Bathroom

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: I liked that the hotel was in the Art Deco area and had Art Deco features on the exterior. Also, it was close to the beach.
Cons: The rooms need to be renovated. The older rooms that have yet to be renovated should be at a HIGHLY discounted rate. It was disgusting.
Location: There are restaurants all up and down the street. The hosts/hostess of these restaurants can be quite aggressive in trying to get your business.
The pictures on Expedia seemed to show a different room than the one I stayed in. I noticed that the hotel was being renovated and it seems likely that I got one of the old rooms and still paid full price for it. The bathroom shower/tub was disgusting. The tub itself was supposed to be white but it was old and dingy. Every crevice of the shower/tub had mildew in it. I had to shower with my flip flops on. The towel hook was dirty and I had to clean it before hanging my towel on it. The furniture in the room was mismatched as if it were furniture from a yard sale that was just thrown together.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Justin from Winnipeg

Decent

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel location was very good however it seemed overpriced given the amount of other hotels in the area. Hotel showed its age but it seemed to be consistent with the area. It was decent overall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Indianapolis

3 nights on Ocean Drive

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Location is great. Breakfast was good. The oldness of the place was good in some ways and not so good in others. Liked the free wifi, bikes, cookies.
Cons: Rooms and bathrooms need updated but the price was great. Better communication on room location and noise levels of rooms and more info on parking.
Location: Great location. Fun to just walk around & look at people - lots of variety of people from all over the world - good place to have fun & drink
The hotel is located in the heart of South Beach. Lots of lively live entertainment at almost every hotel. Live entertainment until midnight week days and 2am on Friday and Saturday night. Hotel Ocean is sort of hard to find but shares a courtyard with a restaurant/bar on the first floor. The music from the band - which was a good band made it difficult to sleep depending on your room location. I had to change rooms so I could sleep. Not many rooms had views of the ocean. The staff was nice and friendly. The price of the room was very attractive. You go to South Beach to see the sights, the people, eat outside, go to the ocean, shop, ride bikes, and spend as little time in the room as possible - so the room is just a place to sleep and take a shower. We enjoyed walking around South Beach, looking at all the great Art Deco hotels, eating and drinking and sitting outside at bars and restaurants, people watching, etc. The South Beach area is not cheap but if you take advantage of the 2 for 1 happy hours you can eat and drink pretty inexpensively. Everyone was very nice and friendly and would like to go back some day. A pretty positive experience overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

South Beach Miami

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Location and view of the ocean
Cons: See above
When we arrived we were given a standard room instead of the Ocean View, King size bed I booked. When I complained about this, the hotel staff did move us to the correct room. Housekeeping was very slow in cleaning the rooms (showing up late in the day when we needed the room). Our room did have small balcony, which was essentailly useless. The Free breakast was good, it was promised starting at 7:00 a.m. every day, in reality the whole breakfast doesn't get put out till more like 8:00 a.m. Also, the hotel staff promised to give us a day plan for things to see in the local area, it was never delivered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by S&L from Las Vegas

Amazing Staff

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had an unexpected layover in Miami on our way to Costa Rica and Ocean Beach made it so much better. So wonderfully located in the center of the Art Deco District. Staff was so great about helping us with all the essentials (borrowing an Ipod charger, tooth brush/paste, etc) Thank you to the wonderful staff and rooms are great and the view of the view!