Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Vincent from Pittsburgh, PA

Not a family friendly place

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Although this hotel is close to the beach and centrally located in the nightlife of south beach, it's website is horribly misleading. From the pictures on their site it looks beautiful, clean, and spacious. Whereas in reality it's old, not well kept, and cramped. The hotel staff that did speak English was decent and moderately accommodating, but they had to do their best with very limited capabilities of the hotel itself. For example, I was sent across the street to another hotel to get my own ice! I found that incredibly insensitive for the hotel staff to send me in my pj's across one of the busiest streets in Florida to get ice. My biggest complaints however were, the extremely loud (horrible nonstop techno) music and the crowd of people that it attracted. There was nothing worse than bringing my girlfriend to an expensive hotel for vacation and be greeted by what looked like druggies and music so loud that it took upwards of 30 minutes to check in.
Comment from
Jan 29, 2014
Hello there Vincent, Thank you so much for taking your time to share your honest feedback with us! We are located in the heart of South Beach just blocks away from all the action. I am sorry that you did not find the photo's online to be the same as when you got here. Our team works hard to make sure that everything is well taken care of and clean. We are in the middle of one of the biggest music conferences- Winter Music Conference. It clearly states so on our website as well. During this conference it is typically louder and way busier then usual.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from Florida

Nice hotel for the price, staff less than friendly

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Area was nice, quick walk to night life and beautiful beach
Cons: Hotel staff could be more attentive and friendly at the front desk
Location: Many shoppes and cool bars very close to hotel. Very close to beach as well
Construction going on all up and down Collins street, did not cause too much of an issue though parking a couple blocks away in this area is expected no matter where you stay. Only about a 5 minutes walk from garage to hotel. Arrived for check in, there was something wrong with the front desk computers and there was one person in front of us. The front desk attendent was very unattentive and did not even acknowledge our presence or say anything about the computer being down for around 15 minutes. I understand glitches and computer problems happen but good customer service could have made up for it and made it a little better. A simple greeting or "I apologize for the wait, I will be right with you" would have been just fine. Room was small but clean which was just fine because people don't go to Miami to sit in the room anyway. Bed was comfortable!
Comment from
Jan 13, 2014
Hello there Jason, We would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! Unfortunately the City of Miami Beach is preforming construction on the road at the moment. They are working to improve the roadways. This project should be done before we know it. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you! We did have an issue with the system, but our IT department has resolved this and everything is back to normal. We did the best that we could to work under those circumstances! We strive on providing outstanding customer service so it pains us to read that is not what you were given! I will make sure to pass on your feedback to the General Manager so that he is aware!
3 out of 5
by Gary from Birmingham, Al

Great location at a reasonable rate.

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Location and rates
Cons: Towel service. Coffee availability, ice availability and key system all need improvement.
Location: It is near some very cool beaches, clubs and restaurants. No question. Great area.
Great location with reasonable rates. Room keys did not work consistently. No coffee available on premises. Had to go across the street for ice. Also had to walk two blocks in rain for airport shuttle and we were not advised in advance. Hotel bar was pretty good. Liked that. It is a mixed review overall. They could add a few little things and improve the experience considerably.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The price you book is not what you actually pay!

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Cons: Disclose the full amount clearly at booking.
Factor in a $15/day fee beside the resort fee. (for Internet, shuttle and happy hour free drinks). But still a good value IMHO.
3 out of 5
by Dean from Palm Beach

South Beach, at construction central

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Location in South Beach. Bamboo outside of window.
Cons: Better lighting in rooms. More that one Front Desk agent, and someone faster with less of a slacker attitude. Elevator. it's all stairs.
Location: Beach less that two blocks away. Lots of restaurants on Collins and Ocean, Washington. Lots of shops.
Ok property. I apparently got a better rate on Expedia that others that checked in. Worth about $95-100/nt. I used to live in South a beach two blocks away. Great central location. Suggest parking at the Miami Beach Municipal parking garage a block and a half away at 7th betWeen Collins and Washington. The most annoying part of this hotel. The front desk guy must have ADD, so it took over 30 minutes to get checked in. Ridiculously slow. Lots of paperwork, passport/ ID copies, etc. Having worked in this job for over 4 years, I saw a lot of ways to do it much faster. The rooms have horrible low lighting. Probably for mood. But, hard to read, get clothed. There is major street construction for over a mile up and down Collins Ave and in front of the hotel. Sidewalk is closed. Lots of dirt in street. For just a little attention, this could be a much nicer property. But, like most South Beach businesses, they cater to tourists that will never be back, so they have no incentive to try for repeat business. I did like the short one block to the beach and the News Cafe restaurant. The patio in front is nice but, seats only a couple people on each side.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Was a one night stay very nice was in room 216. Very secluded and in the cut. There was people moving in the hall and they were speaking in front of my door in spanish for 20 min forcing me to just get up. Very clean and modern feel
3 out of 5
by F from Sao Paulo, Brazil

Good location, and that's it.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Facade of the building.
Cons: Cleaniness, bathroom and furniture.
Location: News Café, Big Pink, Joe's Stone Crab, Lincoln Rd
If you are looking for a hotel that's well located and it isn't too expensive, this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Experience at Hotel Shelley

Posted Feb 3, 2014
The experience at this hotel was okay. Great location and I was right by the beach but they were doing construction which was an inconvenience slightly. Overall the rooms and the service was okay. Would come again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

this hotel is ok

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: The AC work very well I had my room COOOOOLD
Cons: the door locks wouldn't open I had to get my key scanned again and the fact that they have no elevator you have to walk the steps every time.
Location: you got the beach everything in walking distance very close to everything.
The hotel is near everything I was told to go too. the rooms had enought space and was clean. The bed was soft and I did get a nice sleep ater a night of drinking. The happy hour is kind of weak to me the cups where small and full of ice no premium drinks for happy hour and no DJ just a
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bayla

Great location

Posted Jan 27, 2014
The room was tiny but very clean and tasteful in a fantastic location. Free drinks were nice but I wish they didn't use plastic cups. When I was trying to call them no one answered the phone, but when I was there I was well-treated. Yes, I'd recommend. Reasonably priced. Great architecture.