Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Old hotel needs to be updated excellent location but great staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

Good location, good price

Posted Jul 29, 2014
I was able to check in a hr early which was nice! The staff was very attentive and relaxed! I was able to ask for additional amenities in my room w/o struggle or hesitation. My boyfriend and I rarely spent time in the room so we weren't to concerned with appearance, although, room looked a little weary. Overall, we would go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, Florida

Great place to crash!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location and the staff
Location: There are 4 dozen places to eat and drink within a block or two.
First, I have to say some of the reviews I read on here where they said the staff was less than wonderful, try being nice! It worked for us! My wife and I enjoyed the attitude of everyone working there. Second, if you are coming from some white bread mid western area and expect it to be the ritz, at these prices, you are wrong. This is Art Deco South Florida architecture. We are from Hollywood, so we are used to Art Deco tile color in the bathroom. As to the view out of your window??? All I can say is why aren't you on the beach, (A block away), or at one of the SEVERAL cafes/restaurants within a stones throw? If you want to sit in an expensive room and look out the window at something other than an alley, go somewhere else. Granted, the rooms were dated, but they were clean, and the staff was the bestest! We will be going again for a quick staycation. Thanks to Winston and the rest of the staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Caribbean friendliness

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: EXCELLENT location convenient for walking almost anywhere, or just take the 25 cent city bus. They lend you beach towels and toys. No kids was nice
Cons: bathroom fixtures might be updated, and providing drinking water would be nice.
Location: very convenient to restaurants, bars, beach and shopping (Lincoln Road pedestrian mall).
Friendly & helpful staff. They lend you beach towels and provide a good breakfast (bagels, waffles, cereal, bananas, juice, danishes) until noon, which is highly appreciated for us night owls. Be sure NOT to accept room #4 as there are workers congregating below the window starting at 7:30am. After we insisted on changing, the staff acquiesced and the rest of our stay was quiet and peaceful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Too expensive for what they offer.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Old hotel, old furniture but clean. NO wify in the room. For me that was terrible. They have wify but not available from my room. No parking space nearby. But the continental breakfast was ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, new york

Fine for the price

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Went in off season so it was really inexpensive. You get what you pay for, nothing more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kissimmee, fl

Very convenient and walking distance to the beach

Posted Jun 18, 2014
I had a good experience at the Island House. The pictures you see on expedia are very honest. The hotel was very peaceful and the staff were friendly. I would suggest you bring your own soap and wash towels and such but everything was good. It makes you feel like you're in a real apartment. It also has free breakfast!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leigh's Husband from Cumming Georgia

Small hotel in the South Beach area.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Excellent location. Close to beach and restaurants. Nice staff, but only one was fluent in English. Hotel needs renovation. Parked in the recommended government parking lot and vehicle was broken into.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel - Staff. Hotel Close to everything

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location - on Collins close to everything. Staff was very professional. AC in rooms COLD. Rooms very clean. We slept great at night.
Location: On Collins in between Ocean and Washington Ave. Within walking distance to everything. Perfect location.
Our experience at Island House was great. We heard a lot of negative comments about this hotel. NOT TRUE. Room was clean. Staff was professional. Breakfast every morning. Close to everything. Quiet rooms at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Beach Miami, Florida

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted May 19, 2014
Convinient location, close to the beach and the South Beach nightlife scene.