Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique place

Posted Jul 22, 2014
I enjoyed the eclectic style of this place. Very unique. Rooms were dive, but very spacious. I chose this place because of price, uniqueness and convenience to the beach. I would come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Gaudy paint and weird decor doesn't equal 'funky'

Posted Jul 1, 2014
In short, spend some more money and stay elsewhere is my recommendation. My stay was three nights. Yes the price was cheap compared to other hotels, but this was a case of getting exactly what you pay for, or less. Slapping yet another coat of bright paint on the wall and decorating with odds and ends from the antique mall does not replace maintenance and upkeep of the property. The first room I was given was at the end of a long hall and had a huge 2.5 feet by 2.5 feet return vent for the building air-conditioning right inside the room door. This basically sucked all the cool air from the hallway and every bit of cool air out of the room. I could feel it pooling the hot air in around the old windows in bathroom. After four plus hours with no lowing of the temperature I went and they were willing to change my room after some back and forth as to not understanding the problem. The day I left they were in that room with the vent cover opened, so who knows. Otherwise the hotel is very old furniture, baths, paint, everything. The lobby smelt like industrial bathroom cleanser, so I just walked through quick each time. I was on the second floor so used the stairs, as I was warned about the very slow elevator, so if you get on the upper floor you may have a slow ride.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The staff were amazing! Great people! Also the free parking!
Cons: Cold shower... The bathroom was nice though...
Location: Beach is nearby and local shops and restaurants. If you're not in the mood to walk, the taxi fare around the area is not alot.
The hotel was close to everything, and we didn't realize it! lol. We walked out to Lincoln road where all the shops and eateries are, and we were even able to walk to the beach and enjoy ourselves at Fat Tuesdays. The only downfall is that the shower was COLD. If they could fix this, I wouldn't mind staying there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Lois from Wellington from South Beach, Miami

Not the Ritz Carlton but it's Clean

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ok, so it's not the Ritz Carlton. But for $99 a night, it is a very good deal. A lot of little motels in the area are "retro" and built back int the lat 50s but this little motel is very clean. The parking was not free the first night because there was not room for my car, but after that they fit it in. The motel is located 2 streets from the ocean and right next door is Lincoln Road where there is lots of eats and shops. The owner of motel is very kind too. TBH, the bed was pretty firm but there was a fridge and a microwave in the room. I would stay again if I was going to shop or go to beach but did not need to sleep. The one thing you have to do there is go on the Segway tour at Bike and Roll across the steer. Ask for Shauna tour- it was amazing!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Amy from Texas

Beautiful

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We choose the James hotel because of the atmosphere of the building, and the convience of its location. We were not dissapointed! The room fit our family of 2 adults and 3 children well. The owner was VERY nice and helpful. The maintnece was good too. Now, it is an old building, but what the owners have done with it was awesome! All the walls were so exciting!! And of sourse, you couldn't ask for a better location! The pizza bar around the corner was by far our kids favorite thing :) Would def stay there again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrea from Memphis

Convenient Location

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was basic but clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only problem was that in our room the toilet wasn't working. Also, we had no hot water in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Søren from Copenhagen

Very central location.

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
An older basic hotel with a nice atmosphere. The staff was very helpful with all questions asked. Cheap compared to the location. I would go back any time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Laura from Switzerland

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent location in a qiuet street. The the hotel would need some refurbishment but it was clean. The staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mikey Be. from Brooklyn, NY

Awesome place to stay!

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I got an extremely good rate & they were super friendly. The James Hotel is down the block from the Ritz-Carlton which is right on the beach. I love Miami!