Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gord from London, Ontario

Fantastic place

Posted Apr 11, 2014
This one is unique. The decorating is beyond anything I've ever seen in a hotel....and I've stayed in plenty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great! Stay here!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The style. The comfort. The staff.
Cons: The "resort fee" could be included in the Expedia price.
Location: Very walkable to attractions (2 mins to beach; 3 mins to heart of Ocean Drive; 20 mins to the really upscale areas; 30 mins to Lincoln Road area)
--The nicest hotel staff we've ever met. So attentive and helpful. --The rooms are nicely appointed; the bed was so comfortable. --The room was not spacious, but that's what we expected, and it met our needs at the right price point. --The location is great -- 2 minutes to the beach, just past the obnoxiousness of the main stretch of Ocean Drive. --The room didn't have much of a view, but again, if that's what you're looking for, you're going to pay for it. --This was a delightful, stylish, super clean and fresh hotel that made 4 days in South Beach wonderful. --Great for couples; might not be optimal for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pamela from detroit

Fabulous Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: décor, location, cleanliness, quiet, craft bar drinks
Cons: an outside pool
Location: directly across from beach, Miami bike shop rent from them, The big pink and bellini have excellent food
I had an a very nice 4 night stay at this hotel. The décor was modern and quite chic!! Loved the décor actually. The hotel is located directly across from the beach. The hotel has an attendant which will relinquish chairs and umbrellas down a short path from the lobby. The room though small,( it is an old art deco hotel don't expect a huge room) was perfect for me. It was quiet and clean. I was never disturbed by any of the other travelers in the 65 rooms. I found the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast is quite European, equipped with pastries, toast, yogurt, fresh fruit, orange juice and coffee. There is complimentary citrus infused cold water at the lobby bar around the clock...a very nice amenity in the Miami heat!! The hotel is located slightly south of the hustle and bustle of the main drag which I liked. There are plenty of restaurants within a couple of blocks from the hotel. The porch and outdoor lounge area behind the lobby are perfect for a little break, drink or breakfast. The bar in the lobby has a menu of craft cocktails that I highly recommend! I found the Piccadilly circus to be quite refreshing... I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Mar 31, 2014
My wife and I stayed at the Lord Balfour for three nights. The room was clean and the staff was very nice. The room was small and so was the bathroom, but cozy. The walls and floors are thin, you could hear the people walking in the room above, not the greatest at 6:30 in the morning. The continental breakfast was nothing fancy but it did the trick. The valet parking was a bit slow 25-30 min to get your car, but it was nice that you didn't have to find parking on your own. I would go back if I was in the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The front (porch) is great to sit down any time in the day and people watch while enjoying the weather and a cocktail
Cons: Because I have allergies, I was worried that the airfreshner smell, although nice (it smelled like men's cologne) would carry in the room.It did not.
Nice boutique hotel in an excellent location, close to beach and great restaurants. Rooms are on the smaller side, very small bathrooms. We did hear voices through the walls, it wasn't an issue at night.Excellent value for the price.Would stay again and recommend to friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Houston

Cute hotel in quieter area of south beach

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The look is unique - loved the beach for the hotel
Cons: Rooms need to be cleaned better - all the wood in the room was covered in fingerprints
Location: Great beach and nice restaurants nearby. It's in south beach, but not in the crazy loud part.
New, cute boutique hotel in a quieter part of south beach. Rooms and bathrooms are pretty small (bathrooms are tiny) and walls are pretty thin. We were lucky and our neighbors were quiet, but I imagine things can get pretty noisy with the wrong neighbors. Some really nice restaurants and bars (non touristy) just a block south of hotel. Not sure if I would stay again, but our experience was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Henk from Ottawa CA

Nice hotel, close to the beach and restaurants.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Good atmosphere, nice breakfast. Close to the beach, the restaurants and the clubs. Quiet during the night.
Cons: Prices at the bar are rather high. It would be nice to drink something in the patio for a reasonable price.
We had a lovely stay! We are planning to come back next year to get a break from the Canadian winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sonali from New York

Great hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Stylish hotel with an Art Deco exterior and modern interior. It is a short walking distance from the main drag of hotels and restaurants on Ocean Drive, which made it much quieter than the others in the neighbourhood. Across the road was a short path to the beach where the hotel had its own section of umbrellas and deck chairs and a beach attendant. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our king room was very stylish and clean but smaller than expected. The breakfast was continental style with a very limited selection of bread, pastries, yogurt and fruit. Be aware that they charge a resort fee in addition to the room rate paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DR. from New Orleans

Friendly staff, lovely ambience

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Staff is dedicated to your comfort and happiness; lovely ambiance; free towels, beach chairs and umbrellas.
Cons: There is little closet space for full length clothing, and while this is not a problem for vacationers, mine was a business trip.
Location: The beach is close, and the clean water and golden sand are relaxing and refreshing. Lots of shops and restaurants to walk to as well.
I was in Miami on business and wanted to spend the little in between time that I had on the beach. The hotel is very close to the beach, very convenient to shops and restaurants, and the area is safe and fun to walk around. Rooms are a bit small and the bathroom's a little cramped. The space in the closet for hanging full length items like dresses or slacks is very limited, but everything is very clean, classy and comfortable. There is an elegance about the hotel, although it is kid friendly and casual at the same time. The staff are happy to work there, love dealing with their guests, and will do anything they can to make your stay wonderful. Honestly, they treated me like a princess. A delicious breakfast and free towels, beach chairs and umbrellas make it even more special. I will definitely stay there again when I am next in Miami, and I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice hotel!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Staff was VERY helpful and friendly! For some reason thought this hotel was on the beach, but very close so didn't bother us too much just a little surprised when we arrived. Great location, just close enough to the hopping section of Ocean Drive but not in the heart of the craziness!! Room was quite small, difficult to get our bags in the room and around the beds. Beach chairs was a nice bonus!