Ratings based on 1,111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Mildew

Posted Sep 9, 2014
In short, the room was so overpowering by the mildew the next morning we were both sneezing and sniffling. Even opening the door did not come close to helping.. Also, if you are looking for a romantic evening, spend it in the bathroom. The lighting is perfect! For doing makeup or seeing yourself....out of the question...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Coconut Grove

Nice stay

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Enjoyed my stay but was not happy with paying $30 to use a Japanese soaking tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami via NC

Proximity was close to everything we wanted to do.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Everything we wanted to do was close by. We didn't have to drive far. Plenty of food bars and shopping in walking distance. The hotel has food and drinks also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Major Disappointment

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: almost nothing
Cons: Service needs to be friendlier and faster. Elevators need to be upgraded and air conditioned. Huidity from corridors seeps into the room.
Location: Not what it is cracked up to be
We were not greeted in a welcoming manner. Corridors and elevators were not air conditioned and uncomfortably hot and humid. Room service and delivery of luggage were unacceptably slow. The room, though air condtioned, smelled musty. The bath tub was not completely cleaned. We did not stay for the second night. I want a refund for the second night as we checked out after one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful & Charming Hotel, needs details

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Location: In the heart of Coconut Grove next to CocoWalk and fine dining in charming restaurants and sidewalk tables. Perfect location.
What an exquisite looking hotel. Just charming. They just need to concentrate on the details like mold on grout and around the soap dish in the bathtub and stains on the fabric of the chair and patio lounger. We overlooked those details though and thoroughly enjoyed the patio soaking tub, the rooftop pool and fireplace and the interior courtyard décor was amazing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Location in Coconut Grove - new part of town for me, interesting Air con worked price
Cons: Showers - critical Internet speed - critical Attitude of guy outside and the difficulty of securing cabs - critical
Location: Nice small shoppíng mall opposite with loads of options for dining
The experience started well with a nice greeting from lady on reception. However, the poor quality of the room (internet connection terrible and shower just about had strong enough running water for a shower) really put a downer on it. The nail in the coffin was having to wait 20 minutes for a cab the following morning, even though I had given them an hour´s notice that I needed a cab. The chap outside seemed uninterested in my plight to get a cab. I won´t be staying again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Needs a Rehab

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The main restaurant and the spa. they carry vegan, holistic amazing lines at the Spa and for that alone I will return to it.
Cons: Update and modernize the entire hotel.
Location: I was there for work. Starbucks was nice bc it was open before room service.
The hotel has many beautiful aspects but all need to be brought up to this decade. The atrium is pretty but not practical in such weather. That the elevators are tremendously hot and really slow. This alone is a deal breaker for a return trip to the hotel. The rooms were not clean and the bottom of my feet confirmed it. The ceiling in the rooms too low and the hallways too narrow. Not a repeat experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Quirky Hotel in Coconut Grove

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location.
The Mayfair is unique. Much more geared to pleasure travel, not the business traveler. Lighting is dim in the rooms. There were no electrical outlets in the bathroom. Japanese soaking tub on balcony was an interesting highlight; Unfortunately, I couldn't get the sliding glass door open in order to use it. Good neighborhood for walking around, eating, drinking, etc. Highly recommend the Jaguar, a Latam restaurant serving the best ceviche around!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

It was Ok

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The only thing was the location.
Cons: The elevator was about to brake down, plus the rooms need better improvement.
Location: The location was great.
For a four star hotel I was waiting for more upto date rooms and better quality of rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but a little dated

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The Mayfair was probably a very impressive hotel in its hayday. It is still very nice, but needing some upgrades to the facilities. We would stay again, other reviews almost scared us away but we are glad they didn't.