Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Europe

Hotel of contrasts

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: location, staff, restaurant, design
Cons: bathrooms, coridors
Location: directly on Ocean Drive, restaurant, bars and shops all over the place!
Hard to give a "overall" rating for this hotel since some aspects are impressive, others are really disappointing. Let me explain first the good parts: The hotel has a great location on Ocean Drive in the heart of South Beach. Design of the hotel is also impressive, each room has its own design, and the elevator design is really "delicious"! Restaurant is great (congrats to the cook(s))! You can eat here for breakfast (free!), lunch or dinner and you'll always like the Italian flavor. Staff is great, always ready to help. WiFi is available and free of charge. The above qualities seem enough for a 5 star rating especially coming at a quite convenient prize. But... But there are some "one star" details that makes hotel rating confusing. So: Walking to the room is a nightmare. The "design" of the floor levels seem close to a prison. In the rooms the ergonomics is at 1950's level. And this is annoying especially for the bathroom. Tough to find place for your bath stuff, tough to adjust water temperature, tough to reach anything you need. Even more, walls are thin and very noise "permissive", view from windows may be towards neighboring buildings (horrible), WiFi throughput is low, rooms are small (again difficult to find places to put your things)... So... overall rating 3/5 stars, average between 5 star and 1 star aspects. Would I stay here again? Maybe, but I would first look elsewhere even to more expensive hotels. Recommend it? Please read carefully the "one star" details
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta, GA

Amazing location and hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Really nice manager, location could not be better, free drinks , free chairs at beach, free breakfast. Absolutely we will come back !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel in a perfect location!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: location, food options and cleanliness
Location: Walking distance to all major shopping and activities.Miles of restaurants and bars right on the strip of Ocean Drive. Directly across from the beach
We stayed at the Pelican for a long weekend and we would absolutely stay here again. The hotel is located in the heart of south beach, across the street from the beach, surrounded by great restaurants and bars. Within walking distance to almost everything you could want to see including Lincoln Ave, Collins and Washington Ave. The room was very clean and great for my husband and I. We loved the style and art deco look to the hotel and rooms. At first I was worried that the noise from the all nighters outside would make it difficult to sleep at night but we could not hear a single thing coming from outside. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding and the lunch/dinner selections were really wonderful. I have food allergies and the hotel was able to provide options for me. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Complimentary beach chairs for hotel guests was also a plus! Would definitely recommend this hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel and very homely

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The staff was very welcoming and fun. They also show concern if they think u was a little unhappy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Fun hotel, across from beach

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, fun vibe. Great location.
Cons: Can't think of anything - great stay.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, bars, tours, rental equipment (jet ski, parasailing, etc) - great location.
We had a great experience at this hotel. It's a fun hotel vibe with modern renovations and festive rooms - everyone is different. They have a bar and restaurant on the first floor and the location is great. Right on Ocean drive and across from the beach. Directly across is an outside fitness area where hotties work out too, so lots of eye candy! Shopping is REALLY close - one street over, and plenty to do. Great place (especially for adults).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Flamboyant!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Hotel is right on ocean drive and has a few nice perks. Ie.. 2 drinks each day during happy hour, lounge chairs for beach and free breakfast excluding drinks. Although why doesn't Pelican give you coffee or tea with the meal? 2 coffees every morning was $7. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. Staff could be a bit friendlier but overall I liked it and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newburgh, IN

Wonderful Stay in South Beach

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Clean and trendy rooms. Wonderful Staff. Great Restaurant.
Location: South Beach Miami in the center of everything. Near the Beach, near Collins Ave. shopping.
We loved this hotel. I have stayed in the South Beach area many times and this was my best experience. The staff is great. The rooms are really cool. The hotel restaurant is awesome and serves a free breakfast as well as free happy hour cocktails. There isn't a pool but it's right at the Beach. A experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darmstadt, Germany

Very nice Stays for an couple of days

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: This Hotel is in the center of South-Beach Nightlife. The anterior give an view in every corner.
Location: - Thriller Speedboat Tout at Bayside - Miami Beach at all ;-) - .... you will find out :-)
Direct at the Ocean Dr. south beach is this very nice Hotel in Art-Deco style. The rooms are small but clean and tall enough for the stay at overnight. The A/C is medium loud and the anterior partly really nostalgic. At all, an beautiful stay in the center of Nightlife. ;-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good hotel and great staff

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Great location, right by the beach; friendly and helpful staff; good food; good drinks; themed rooms are fun
Cons: The bed was a bit uncomfortable and there was a day where the water heater wasn't working.
Location: The hotel is across the street from the beach. There are many restaurants and bars along Ocean Drive. Wet Willie's was a half-block away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Very nice

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Very nice, clean hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Clean rooms even though small Good food, same price range as the rest of South Beach strip Parking is high but convienent, same as rest of strip.