Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not what we thought it would be

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Big disappointment. The hotel is not like the description. The rooms do not resemble their pictures. I have never stayed in a more humid, muggy hotel room. The AC is a small wall mounted unit that did not put a dent in the heat or humidity. The staff was ok and amenities otherwise reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Nice place--great location!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Location is right in the thick of things which is nice. Front desk staff was great, very helpful and nice. No complaints with the room, spacious and very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, On.

Great getaway in South Beach

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Hotel was very good, and the staff were all very friendly. Free breakfast and happy hour was a welcome addition as were the free beach chairs. Location is perfect for going to the beach or the many restaurants and clubs in the area. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Pelican.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Only good thing about this hotel is the proximity To the beach. The room was barely cleaned, some of the staff was rude and unhelpful. And the room view was terrible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wales

Great for the beach and Ocean Drive

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Staff Beach facilities Location
Location: Right in the middle of Ocean Drive with the beach acroos the road.
An excellent hotel and the staff were particularly brilliant. Genuinely friendly and they seemed happy and proud of where they worked. Room was a little strange although they are all themed differently, ours wasn't particularly comfortable, it was like sleeping in a garage. I also don't like windows from the room into the bathroom - awkward when you are not staying with your partner. It was very clean though and the bed was comfy with quality bedding. I sneaked a look into some of the other rooms and they looked a little more of a cosy theme. The facilities for the beach were excellent. The beach is across the road and you are given free towels and sunbeds. Happy hour in the hotel and free breakfast was very welcome. The location for Ocean Drive was perfect - right in the middle of all the action. The best part was how good the staff were- it felt like it was their hotel rather than them working for someone and I really enjoyed talking to them. Thank you very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orangevale, CA

Loved the them rooms!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The staff and the room themes
Cons: Drink prices
Location: Close to everything. By the beach, across from the workout beach too. Easy to walk to all hotels, restaurants , shopping and bars
Fantastic staff, eager to help with anything, and to make everything as easy as possible. Two free drinks and breakfast included each day was also a great addition that we were not expecting. Food was excellent too. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a close to the action hotel, with unusual themed decor in all rooms, and only a hope skip and a jump from the beach, the shopping, the restaurants etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel and great service .

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Location: Great location on Ocean drive
We had an amazing time in Miami , topped off by this hotel and it's customer service . Would recommend hotel to everyone and would definitely stay here again . Location was perfect - directly on Ocean Drive. Perfect stay ....:-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Nice hotel and perks. Very good location. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Amazing stay

Posted Sep 23, 2014
I'm not a fan to write reviews but Pelican hotel was a great stay , direct to z ocean , very friendly staff special Carlos at the front desk, he made our stay very comfortable. clean room, excellent wifi ,free breakfast , 2 drinks free per day ... Will definitely come back and will recommended to my friend ..
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Europe

Hotel of contrasts

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: location, staff, restaurant, design
Cons: bathrooms, coridors
Location: directly on Ocean Drive, restaurant, bars and shops all over the place!
Hard to give a "overall" rating for this hotel since some aspects are impressive, others are really disappointing. Let me explain first the good parts: The hotel has a great location on Ocean Drive in the heart of South Beach. Design of the hotel is also impressive, each room has its own design, and the elevator design is really "delicious"! Restaurant is great (congrats to the cook(s))! You can eat here for breakfast (free!), lunch or dinner and you'll always like the Italian flavor. Staff is great, always ready to help. WiFi is available and free of charge. The above qualities seem enough for a 5 star rating especially coming at a quite convenient prize. But... But there are some "one star" details that makes hotel rating confusing. So: Walking to the room is a nightmare. The "design" of the floor levels seem close to a prison. In the rooms the ergonomics is at 1950's level. And this is annoying especially for the bathroom. Tough to find place for your bath stuff, tough to adjust water temperature, tough to reach anything you need. Even more, walls are thin and very noise "permissive", view from windows may be towards neighboring buildings (horrible), WiFi throughput is low, rooms are small (again difficult to find places to put your things)... So... overall rating 3/5 stars, average between 5 star and 1 star aspects. Would I stay here again? Maybe, but I would first look elsewhere even to more expensive hotels. Recommend it? Please read carefully the "one star" details