Ratings based on 622 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in walking distance to everything

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Nice, clean, close to everything, great drink and appetizer deals, adorable room and comfortable beds. The ONLY thing is those walls are so thin. I had to buy earplugs between the yelling family and then the drunk 20 year olds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2014
Thank you for your great praise of our cleanliness, drinks, comfy beds and décor! We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise from other guests. We hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ponte Vedra Beach

the photos were better than the reality

Posted Jul 1, 2014
expect to be charged extra from the moment that you walk through the door whether it's the $19 a day mandatory resort fee $30 a day parking all which is in addition to the price with you paid to check into the room for your $19 resort fee you're forced to pay for breakfast whether you want it or not beach towels which can be purchased at any corner store (look out) Romans were missing furniture the excuse of being they felt that it would obscure the decor there was no decor honestly I feel like overpaid for what I got would not recommend this as a place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2014
Hello, We’re very sorry to hear you were disappointed in your recent stay. For future reference, our resort fee can be found directly under the nightly rate on all online travel agents and includes; 2 bottled waters each day, breakfast for 2, Wi-Fi, welcome drinks, a discount at The Purple Penguin Café, in room safe and local phone calls. We’ll take your thoughts regarding the cost of parking into careful consideration as we strive to always improve, thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not great but good

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Staffs and location
Cons: Breakfast
It was a good stay overall as I stayed for about a day..The staffs were good and co-operative.The breakfast wasnt that great
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
Hello, Thank you for your praise of our fantastic hotel team and fun location. We’re sorry that our breakfast failed to impress; we’ll take your comments into careful consideration as we strive to always improve. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
2 out of 5
by wade from NY

Bad experience.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
I booked a two queen bed room at expedia, when I check in the reception told me that they don't have that kind of room, I have to pay $25 to add a very small bed. That's ridicules! The customer need to get what they reserved.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2014
We're very sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay with us. We apologize that we are unable to guarantee room types when booked through an online agency since we do not have access to their systems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Staff was great , bartender was very nice and helpful, the room was not too big but very clean and neat. Overall, great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2014
Hello, Thank you for telling us about your great stay with us. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our cleanliness and that our team took excellent care of you. We hope to see you again in the future for more beach time fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Hotel was in a perfect location. Room was clean but bathroom was small. Enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2014
Our location is one of our most praised qualities; we’re thrilled you loved it too! We’re very happy to hear that our cleanliness met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize that the room was a bit small for your liking. We hope to see you again for some more beach time fun!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Good to be in the middle.

Posted May 30, 2014
It was a simple and not carpeted. Breakfast without protein
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our hotel. We will take your comment regarding our breakfast into careful consideration. We hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adriaan from Virginia

Cheap and Clean

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The reception staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons: Friendliness of breakfast staff and make more clear that and how to order your breakfast...maybe have the staff ask if you would like to order some.
Location: Location on Collins is good... close to the beach and a relatively short walk (or $6 cab ride) to shopping and restaurants on Lincoln.
The staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean. The only challenge if you stay with more than 1 person in the room is the limited space in the bathroom. Breakfast is limited but if that's not your main focus and you are only looking for a clean place to sleep then this hotel is definitely a good alternative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2014
Adriaan, Thank you for your praise of our cleanliness and great hotel staff. We apologize that not all of our breakfast staff offered you excellent service. Our location is one of our favorite qualities, and it sounds like you enjoyed it too! We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Good choice for South Beach on the cheap

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: The overall look of the room, concierge friendly and helpful, impeccable cleaning, price is on the cheap side and a 5 minutes walk from the beach.
Cons: Breakfast food (bad continental breakfast food), free internet connection (unrelaliable), fixtures (both windows broke), hallways (dark and sad)
Location: Not "right on the beach" but close enough. Cousin Penguin Hotel is facing the beach on Ocean Drive.
We chose this hotel among other similar low priced offers because we liked the room pictures. When we got there, the lobby was a first "mmm" moment: communal wooden tables and chairs for the breakfast area that looked a sad. Ditto for the concierge area, bad painted wall, the back of the concierge looks more like the back of a warehouse (it is), dark and messy. The second "mmm" moment was when the concierge (Andrew, very friendly and professional) informed us our room wouldn't have been ready till 3pm (it was 10am). No big deal, we came for the beach, so got changed in the restrooms and headed to the beach. When back from the beach at 5pm we found another concierge, Martha who went the extra mile for us. She found we had been given a 2 bed room and found a "suite" and upgraded us a no price. So we got a very large and sunny room with an extra room for dresses and fridge, the look was even better than the pictures we saw. Now our nice stay at the President was beginning! And it was a very good stay, with impeccable cleaning and a shower that I will miss. Final note on breakfast: you can find better danish and muffin almost anywhere in the world. Don't bother.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2014
We’re thrilled that our cleanliness and concierge service impressed! Our location is one of our favorite qualities, and it’s great to hear that it worked perfectly for you. We are sorry for any inconveniences you encountered due to our check in time. Thankfully, it sounds like Martha offered you excellent service and took great care of you. We will take all your comments, including your thoughts on our breakfast, lobby and concierge area, into careful consideration. We’re continually striving to improve, and your review is invaluable in that process. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sultan from New york

It was close to the beach

Posted May 16, 2014
Being close to the beach made my holiday easier. Also the patio of the hotel was perfect ; the music, the prices of the drinks esp at happy hours...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2014
Sultan, It’s great to hear that our close to the beach location helped make your beach vacation a success. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.