Ratings based on 811 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Grand hotel with exceptional access to the beach.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
As usual my stay was exceptional until the last night. Some fellow travelers became very unruly and I lost a night of sleep. Otherwise, the Royal Palms offers a variety of outstanding services to its customers. Service is
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

Fine.

Posted Jun 25, 2015
We stayed at this property in June 2015. Check in was great. Ricky at the front desk was great and helped with getting rooms close together. Very accommodating and genuine. Room was very mediocre. Small, plain, bathroom didn't look as clean as it should. Missing shampoo all of our stay (4nights), no hair dryer in the room. Overall the room was nothing special. Also We were missing a table in our room. Staff at the pool were awesome. Magda and Alfredo made our stay. If they weren't there our trip would have been very poor. They remembered us every day, brought towels, fruit, etc. They were attentive, personal but always professional. They are the biggest assets to the hotel. We ate at the restaurant for lunch one day- not a good experience. The server there did not write down our order and then proceed to keep coming back to the table to verify our order. Very annoying. In addition my order came out wrong and sandwich was terrible. Our server never checked on us so I ate it- I was starving. When my friend told her how bad my sandwich is she said.. well you ate it all. Hmmm. Not really what you should say. In addition, upon checkout we got charged incorrectly- the sever did not allocate our payments correctly. I told the manager all of this, I thought they would just comp my sandwich bc this is now an hour trying to checkout/find manager/correct bill etc but they didnt. Drink tickets were a nice touch. Other than that, everything was just ok. Not what I expected for Miami.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location with its cons.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Hotel overbooked our room and placed my wife and I in a double bedroom. Hotel appears to be understaffed as checkin lines are long and rooming cleanings are done very late in the day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautifully decorated hotel without a heart.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Beautiful hotel, tough staff. From their $37.00 hamburger ($29+tax+18% gratuity) to the $7.00 cup of coffee in the morning you know they really don't care. The resort fee (this is no resort) of $30.00 entitles you to two chairs on the beach. But their are 4 in our party, I said. They said sorry, share the chairs or you can rent a $150.00 lounge chair with an umbrella. They charge high prices for low quality food and NO service. Check in is at 3pm but you are lucky to get your room by 6 pm. I waited two hours and checked my bags which they promptly lost. They didn't seem to care. After half an hour of nobody cares and I'm too busy, the nice and unattached desk clerk suggested I tip one of the bellman to find my bags.I did and the luggage immediately appeared. Unlike check-in, check-out is on military time. At 10am, the cleaning staff knocks on your room door and then use their master key to ENTER your room as you sleep. "Sorry", she said... "but check out is at 11 and I thought you were gone" Getting a late checkout required an appeal all the way to top management. The staff's mantra, "Sorry we don't..." No exceptions. Tough staff. Friendly but tough and rigid. Personally, I like to feel welcomed. I didn't get that and I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great location

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Third time in 5yrs staying at this hotel and I will probably be back. The location is great. Within walking distance to both Ocean and Lincoln and easy beach access. Hotel breakfast is pricey and not great. Many other choices around - the Betsey would be highly recommened for breakfast. Staff is friendly if a bit slow. Check-in/out took a while and we were lucky there were not a lot of people otherwise it would've taken much longer. Not sure if it was staff or systems related. Bartenders by the pool were great (Ruben & Jack). Beach staff was nice as well (again if a bit slow). For the resort fee, I would say they should include the beach umbrella (additional $19/day). Also, beach lounge chair pillows were quite dirty and towels were very worn/ripped - could use fresh ones. Again, for the $30/pp/day resort fee, I'd expect something slightly better. Starwood (new owner) should make a few improvements/upgrades but overall it was a good experience. Few kinks to work out but location/price can't be beat. Have stayed at Loews next door (pricier) and Fontainebleau (way too far up) and I can say I prefer The Royal Palm for its location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Alejandro, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you were well cared for by our team, especially our pool bartenders! Jack and Ruben will be delighted to hear your comments! I’m disappointed that you weren’t too impressed by our extensive amenities, but will take your comments under consideration as we continually strive to enhance our guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our beach front location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2015
No puede ser un hotel perteneciente a la cadena Starwood Todo para mejorar !!!!!!!!!!!! Lo unico bueno la ubicacion .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Alejandro, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying Independent and for sharing your feedback with us. Our goal is to provide you with the luxurious experience you deserve, and I am disappointed that we fell short during your stay. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations in the future. Sincerely Alejandro
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2015
No puede ser este tipo de Hotel perteneciente a la cadena Starwood. Mala atencion, viejo , pilteta pequena y fea habitacion Personal muy poco amable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Alejandro, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying Independent and for taking the time to write your review. Our goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations, and I am that we fell short in our delivery during your stay. Rest assured that I will be sharing your feedback with our team to ensure we are providing a more seamless guest experience going forward. We hope for a future opportunity to provide you with the luxurious experience you deserve. Alejandro
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Fabulous location, horrible service

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: location, nice pool area and access to beach
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!
Location: Easy block walk to the restaurants on Ocean Drive.
Location is great. Perfect to the beach and restaurants. We were in the West tower which seemed to be the oldest wing. I recommend asking for a different wing. Horrible service. We were there for a week. I had to track down the dry cleaning myself because it was never delivered to my room (had to do this twice!). Our shower had a horrible disgusting backup. I requested maintenance and it was never serviced. My husband left his $500 mouth guard (in it's case) in the drawer by the bed. We called immediately and the person he talked to on the phone was an idiot and couldn't give us any information or even commit to ATTEMPTING to look/ask around for it. Isn't housekeeping smart enough to collect items and attempt to contact guests? I tried room service once. Called to order a dessert. I got a call back 20 minutes later and the person said they were out what I chose. Interestingly, an hour later, I went down to the bar and was able to order exactly what I had requested via room service. So, either room service was so lazy to deliver, or flat out lied. The night before the day we checked out, we went to the front desk (around midnight) to request late check-out the next day. We were told we'd have to call and request this in the morning around 7am. Huh? The whole point of late check-out for us was to sleep in!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by Alejandro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent visit, and for taking the time to write your review. I am terribly sorry for the level of service your received - we make great efforts to always exceed our Guests' expectations and I am disappointed that we fell short during your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with the team and working to ensure we create a more seamless guest experience. I trust that you will allow us the opportunity in the future to provide you with the luxurious experience you deserve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice crews and great view

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Every crew has a nice smile. I asked a guy in the front desk that I want to have this room by showing the picture and he gave me the exactly same room with a great view of South Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Close to the beach, great staff

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: The lanai rooms
Location: Go to the beach and frequent the bar and restaurant!
We had a wonderful time during our stay. The lanai rooms are not very luxurious, and the smell from the cleaning materials was pretty bad. Other than that, we loved the proximity to the beach!. The bar and beach staff were amazing and check-in was efficient.