Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 nights

Posted Mar 18, 2014
It was amazing. We loved it. There was a misunderstanding but they resolved it and made sure we didn't leave till we were satisfied.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gail from Vancouver

Nice hotel, great location but bad service

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Loved the rooms, door staff, outdoor bar, and access to the beach
Cons: The food portions at the pool, the amount of staff at the pool, the sun chairs at the beach look out dated.
Location: great location near everything, shopping, great restaurants and clubs.
Hotel was very nice, my room was cool and had some neat features. The staff did not match the price you pay for their services. there was only one waitress at the pool and close to 50 guests trying to get service. everyone was complaining as it took 1 - 2 hours to get a drink or food and then you would get bombarded with kitchen staff bringing out food that is not yours asking if u ordered it. I found the food at both restaurants and at the pool where way under proportioned and left me still hungry especially for the price. Hyde is a cool spot on Thursday nights. The bar out side is great for after dinner drinks any day of the week and is one of the only bars I could find a bloody creaser.
3 out of 5
by JGB from London UK

OK but overpriced

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Location & size
Cons: Service needs to be improved.
Location: Clearly, there is the beach but I was in Miami attending a conference so didn't have much opportunity to explore.
Overall experience was OK. That said, given the SLS reputation, it is only fair to list below a couple of my frustrations: The room: 1) Nice but very small. 2) The water pressure in the shower was just not good and took a very long time to get warm 3) No desk - if you are looking to work in your room, it is not ideal Condition of the hotel: 1) The lift system is poor and often waited over 5 minutes for list to arrive on the ground floor Food & Beverage Service: 1) One word - Slow! 2) On a couple of occassions I waited more than 20 minutes to get served (after repeatedly requesting someone to take an order) and eneded up going to the bar myself. I could see that the wait staff were not busy, they were enjoying a conversation amongst themselves. I have two able legs so this wasn't a huge deal but......they included a service charge to my bill. This is ok when the drinks are being brought to you but not when you have to go to the bar yourself. I questioned this charge and they said it was "standard" and it had to be paid. This frustrated me. I stayed at the SLS in LA and the experience was much better. I would think again before staying at the South Beach SLS.
Comment from
Jan 5, 2014 by
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with the community. I am sorry that your experience was less than exceptional. I will ensure to share your experinece with my team and utilize your experience for training and quality control purposes, and I know that your experience will be turned around on your next visit to South Beach! Best, SLS GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami fl

Fabulous hotel!!!

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Had a great time! Hotel is beautiful!!! Room was so pretty. Service was great!! Pool party at Hyde was awesome!!! Drinks are expensive! Staff was accomodating and very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami fl

Fabulous hotel!!!

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Had a great time! Hotel is beautiful!!! Room was so pretty. Service was great!! Pool party at Hyde was awesome!!! Drinks are expensive! Staff was accomodating and very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: location, friendly staff, cleanliness
Cons: the hallways are way too dark- i was really not comfortable walking alone in them. The elevators are very, very slow.
The hotel is well located and has nice amenities. The room is small and fun but there is a huge settee in the room that really serves no purpose and limits the already small space.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Kimball

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by maria a.s. pinto from rio de Janeiro

perfect location and sensational decor

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
too short. It will now become my hotel for future visits to Miami and I will recommend it to friernds. Thank you.Maria Amelia Silva Pinto
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ty from Boston

Superb Hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2013
I've stayed at quite a few hotels in Miami over the years and none of them has ever impressed me like the SLS. It's a chic boutique hotel that has everything you can possibly imagine. My girlfriend and I were just there for the third time since August and it keeps getting better with every stay. From the moment you pull up the hotel valet is friendly and very attentive. The front desk reception and warmth really stands apart from any other hotel. Especially Leo, Megan, Nic and the other front desk members. They remember your name and take the time to make you feel very welcome. The pool is great, especially on weekends if you like a lively atmosphere you'll really like Hyde. If you like to relax the front pool is nice as well. The bar and restaurants are great as well. I will stay at this hotel every time I go back to Miami and highly recommend it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

bait and switch

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was assigned a different room than I had prepaid for. The hotels.com people were great at making it right! They worked hard with the hotel and with me. They gave me several alternatives and really made the whole thing ok for me. ...but the hotel staff were terrible. They sold my prepaid 3 day oceanfront room to someone else so they stuck me in a street-view room with an entry from the stairwell for the weekend nights because they were sold out.