Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerome from New Jersey

Great location, decent hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
I had a good stay at South Beach Plaza Villas. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They help with your bags and open the hotel lobby door everytime you enter. The hotel itself isn't necessarily modern but it was good enough. I stayed in the Villa which is to the left of the main hotel. The way the rooms are situated there, your room is sort of "outside" meaning once you leave your room, you enter the villa/courtyard and then enter the main lobby. If you're staying at the Beach Plaza side, your room is in the main hotel on the corner (same entrance for both buildings though; 1401 Collins Ave). The room was okay. Not real big but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. No fridge or microwave, that was a let down. The A/C worked well but it wouldn't turn completely off. Had to unplug it (or turn thermostat up or down). Also, as another reviewer mentioned, do not get a room right on Collins Ave., it gets quite loud until about 3/4am. The location is great though. Two blocks from the beach, a few minutes from Lincoln Rd. mall and there's plenty of restaurants close by as well. The continental breakfast was a joke. Only bagels, muffins, bananas, oatmeal and nasty coffee. The in-hotel bar was decent. Had nice drinks for avg prices. The best things this hotel has going for it are the location, the villa courtyard where you can sit down and eat/talk, and the friendly staff. I would stay here again but would probably spend maybe $100-200 more for more amentites at another hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by celeste from rhode island

Close to everything in miami.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
The staff is very professional. The room was really small for a king sized villa but it had everything you needed to stay in a room.
2 out of 5
by Bert

Convenient but a bit funky

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff.
Cons: It need a major overhaul.
Location: In the heart of SoBe - Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, the Beaches.
The hotel has definitely seen better days. Signs of wear everywhere - rusty trashcans, no stopper in the tub, worn carpets in the public areas. However, it's in a great location and the staff is very nice and helpful. The room itself was clean. If you're in Miami and on a budget and don't really mind a little funkiness, I'd recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with excellent customer service

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Although the bed was not so comfy Everything else about this hotel was awesome! Great friendly service, nice patio area and access to all of the shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from New York

6 day stay

Posted Mar 7, 2014
This is a good hotel for the area with a nice staff especially the doorman Rodney who always genuinely seemed happy to help us. While it is a little off the beaten path you can easily get to the beach a block away or walk down the strip. The rooms are nice and spacious with a small walk in closet and large stand up shower. The continental breakfast is what you would expect: orange juice, bagels, bananas, yogurt coffee, etc. The down side is there are only two toasters and a line quickly forms so they need to get a couple more toasters. The cleaning staff could be a bit unpredictable one day they didn't arrive until 5pm to clean our room right when we we're getting back from the beach while the next day coming early in the morning soon after breakfast. Needless to say the room went uncleaned on two separate occasions. Wasn't a huge problem we just asked for new towels and they we're happy to exchange them but I could see some people having a problem. Overall a good affordable place to stay I would recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible. Keep Away

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
We booked a king bedroom and got a room with two beds. When we contacted the guest services desk they said that they cannot help us and simply ignored our reservation. They claimed that the cannot cancel our reservation as it was made through a "small" 3rd party (Expedia). The room and bathroom was not clean and smelled awful. The shower tap water flow was very low and taking a shower was hardly impossible. The staff was very unpleasant and simply did not care about us. Breakfast was poor and the Wi-fi service did not work. Our recommendation: avoid it unless you can't
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Mariam from Maryland

The location is the seller.

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: I think the rooms could look less old if they remodeled a little.
Location: Everything.
Its all about location with this hotel. Yes, it was noisy, so if you have an issue with that, stay away from anything towards the back since there was a dumpster that worked at all hours. We stayed in a Villa it was old looking. If you don't plan on spending that much time in the room, its perfect for changing a leaving.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mature Couple from Ontario, Canada

Old and tired AC

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Great location and helpful staff.
Cons: As I wrote above the AC in our room did not work.
Location: On Collins Ave. in South Beack so very close to the beach, shopping and good restaurants.
Great location on South Beach but our room faced Collins Street which is under construction and very noisy. The biggest problem was the fact that the AC would not work. The maintenance staff were unable to fix it so they did provide a portable unit. This worked for part of the night but then it filled with water and shut off. Thanks to the evening staff who tried but when equipment is old and tired this is kind of thing will happen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by south beach grl

Horrible gradualating to nice employee saves day!

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Booked with Expedia. Did some research read somewhere "villa" type of room was quieter part of hotel. Arrived at right address but there was a locked gate and it did not have a sign redirecting to next door building. Checked into "villa". A villa is a creepy apartment type of room separated from rest of complex hidden in the courtyard where people sit and smoke. Next day after sleeping in the putrid room with pubic hair towels, the super star employee sebastian who was not there the previous day we checked in, gave us free upgrade to a suite inside the property not outside the property. So the rating I'd give is 1 star on first night and 3 star days after. 1.5 block from beach. Hotel\motel is conservative family style. Not in the heart of party people but not too far either incase you want that. Close to local bus that takes you downtown. The photos added is the upgraded room not the creepy villa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by south beach grl

Horrible gradualating to nice employee saves day!

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Booked with Expedia. Did some research read somewhere "villa" type of room was quieter part of hotel. Arrived at right address but there was a locked gate and it did not have a sign redirecting to next door building. Checked into "villa". A villa is a creepy apartment type of room separated from rest of complex hidden in the courtyard where people sit and smoke. Next day after sleeping in the putrid room with pubic hair towels, the super star employee sebastian who was not there the previous day we checked in, gave us free upgrade to a suite inside the property not outside the property. So the rating I'd give is 1 star on first night and 3 star days after. 1.5 block from beach. Hotel\motel is conservative family style. Not in the heart of party people but not too far either incase you want that. Close to local bus that takes you downtown. The photos added is the upgraded room not the creepy villa