Ratings based on 1,165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Andrea from new york

Not good!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
It's great that it's right by the beach, but the hotel is old, dingy, and just all around gross. The room was tiny, musty, and you can hear EVERYTHING from the surrounding rooms. First thing we did when we got there was search for bed bugs. A/C didn't work well. Towels were stained and gross. And front desk girl (no lobby) was rude. Absolutely disgusting! Never again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lindsy

Great location in south beach!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Right next door to wet willies, beach access just across ocean dr, walking distance to espanola way and multiple clubs! Staff was super friendly. The only complaint is that our floor became sandy and it wasn't mopped or swept the floor. But definitely recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Woodside, New York

The best affordable hotel in South Beach

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Everything, seriously! The location, the cleanliness, room service,
Location: It's close to everything, bars, clubs, lounges. Perfect affordable place to stay in South Beach.
My best experience in an affordable hotel EVER!!! The staff is professional and very down-to-earth, giving you that home away from home feeling! It was my first experience vacationing and staying by myself in a hotel, and, thank God, this hotel was so great!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from Pennsylvania

Affordable hotel in convenient location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Location & Price
Cons: Reduce noise level.
Location: Very close to the beach and restaurants.
Choose Starlite for the price and location and was not disappointed. Although noise was an issue, other than that I was pleased with my stay.
1 out of 5
by Kenya from New York, NY

NEVER AGAIN!! (Stayed from April 10 - 13)

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing at all!!!!
Cons: The staffs attitude, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the smell of the rooms, and that's just to begin with.
Location: The location is the only good this about this hotel. It is literally in the mix of everything with the beach directly across the street.
In room 405, the walls are extremely thin, the shades wouldn't close, we could here water running through the walls everytime someone in the room above us took a shower. With the AC off, the room got really humid and smelled strongly of mildew. I found a bedbug about 4:30AM when I came in one morning. The lady at the front desk claimed there were no open rooms, no rollaway beds, and maintenance would be there at 8AM. They came to the room at 11AM with no real intention of resolving the issue. The man just wanted to babble on about there should have been more than one bedbug and the woman said nothing at all. Once he looked at the tissue, he begin speaking in Spanish to the lady and claimed he was going to take the tissue to the front desk. He didn't want me to follow him nor did he want to give me the tissue back. We got to the front desk and he starts speaking Spanish once again so I asked him to speak in English and he became very irate. But once he showed that tissue to the lady at the front desk, she immediately begin switching my room to 305. Neither would admit it was a bed bug even when I asked and the man begin arguing with me in the lobby. Later on, I realized I left my charger in the first room, so I asked if they could go in the room and get it for me, they refused and claimed I had to wait until the next morning (8AM) for maintenance. Too bad I dont have space to talk about room 305. This hotel is a disaster. I would never stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel at a reasonable rate

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Housekeeping needs some improvement
Location: Lots to do....beach, party, eat, shopping. It's all very close by within walking distance.
Checked in pretty late the young lady in the front was very nice. Told us the names of a few restaurants close by where we can grab something to eat. We were checked into our room in less than 5 mins. She was very attentive and informative. The room was pretty good for the price we paid. I actually was a little skeptical, but honestly I was pleasantly surprised. Will be staying there again in the future.
1 out of 5
by Chloe from Toronto, Canada

Hotel itself was TERRIBLE. Friendly reception

Posted Apr 8, 2014
The good: Receptionist was friendly. Gave us info and tips to get around. The bed was fine, sheets were clean, bed side tables were clean, flat screen tv was good. The bad: 1. The washroom! It looked like it was built 50yrs ago. It was so old abd worn out i didnt even want to step in the shower. The wall tiles still had tones of water marks on it, it looked like it was not reallt cleaned cause the water marks was not just a few drops. It was the whole wall! I took a tissue and wiped a streak and the water marks came off. So the wall tiles in the shower was not cleaned! 2. LOUD music from 11pm to 6AM the nxt morning! And I am under 30 years old and could bot stand it. Unbelievable! We thought the music would die down by around 2am but it kept going! We could hear people cough and laugh in the hallway.
1 out of 5
by Kevin, 30 from canada

Horrific, petrifying, abhorrent, putrid, vile...

Posted Apr 8, 2014
If you like pine scented cleaner, you'll love this place. I can only hope you are fortunate enough to read this review. Just click back on your browser and forget you ever saw this. Rm. 111 is a real treat btw.
1 out of 5
by koki from Atlanta ga

Terrible

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Near to the beach and convenience for restaurant and shops.
Cons: Hospitality
Location: beach and shopping
Room wasn't ready until 3:30 pm. but we were told that the checking time will be at 2 pm. The rest room has strong Oder (bad). nosey. the tv was not clear.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

college atmosphere for young teens close to beach

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: nothing much
Cons: upgraded more on outside and inside. Cost too much compared to value and quality
Location: Shopping and beach that's all
Did not expect a college dorm room feel. Older but a few updates with tile and blinds