Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by PAT from Houston

Not thrilled!

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This condo was very dirty! The decor was 1980's Miami Vice inspired and the cabinets have not been wiped down since then! There was very visible crud all over the cabinets and many were chipped or did not open. There was sand on the floors. One of the pools was being refurbished so we woke up each morning to the sound of saws, etc... This condo was also quite far from any place to eat dinner ($20 cab ride each way to Lincoln Road). On the good side, it was right on the beach and the view from the 2 bedroom on the 16th floor was amazing. Having said that, we will not return. Spend a bit more and stay closer to South Beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Robin from Philadelpia

Way overpriced

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed two nights with our kids. Upon entering we discovered valet parking is the only option (which we were later charged an additional $30/day for). Staff was friendly and helpful. Decor was lavish and a little gaudy. Once we arrived at out floor I could see that the carpets were stained and torn, doors and walls old and knicked. Our suite smelled of smoke. It was larger than I expected and there was a balcony overlooking the ocean....apart from that everything was negative. Very dusty, moldy, unkept. Furniture was very old and musty. The air conditioning was freezing and although we turned it down, only seemed to blow at one temp. The doors and windows were so worn and tarnished that they did not fully close or lock. The breakfast Buffett (not included) was very basic and all "hot" items were cold. $60 for two adults and one child. This hotel is priced for location not quality. Not worth the money!!
2 out of 5
by Mary from rehoboth beach DE

Close to beach but poor quality.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: It was on the beach
Cons: Update the two bedroom apartment and reflect the true status of the apartments.
Location: Location was fine
The staff was fine, large pool was closed for repairs, beach access was good but very expensive since our room needed updating and our clothing smelled of mold upon our return. The photos showed stainless steel and granite counters. The kitchen was old and had limited supplies, for example no spatula to fry eggs. Would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cruz from San Diego. CA

Nice place to enjoy tour vacatios

Posted Mar 2, 2014
It was ok. One of the pool was in remodelation, however the other one, was great. At the beginning we had a problem with a bed, but they toke care about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

wonderful experience

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: The private beach.
We had such a wonderful time at the Alexander, the premise was clean, well maintained and staffed. The access to the beach was easy with a clean beach, lifeguards on duty. One pool is still under renovation but who wants a pool when the beach and ocean are so near! We loved sitting on the balcony with our coffee or cocktail, the palm trees swaying and the turquoise blue ocean behind them. We were in a junior suite and were well pleased with the space and comfort. The kitchen was sparsely furnished with pots and pans but with a little innovation all was manageable. We requested, one time, an item from room service and it was delivered with a smile in minutes. I would most definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by John from NY

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel has Shula's restaurant on its premises, which made dining a convenience. The building could use updating particularly the hallways and lobby areas. Beach access was great but the beach chairs provided were in terrible condition and need to be replaced. Hotel is a bit over priced ($350/night in Feb) for a tired old building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for business or pleasure

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and nice suites
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Shula's in the hotel and walking distance to other restaurants & hotels. Beautiful beach
Staff exceptionally friendly. Reserved two bedroom / two bath suite. Very clean and great amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

fair hotel.... not what was expected for price

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: location was fine
Cons: much
Fair staff -- room was unfinished/just renovated....open vents without grills, no completely furnished....big hole where dishwasher goes....TERRIBLE elevator service ........super slow -- be prepared to wait 5-10 minutes
3 out of 5
by J from NL

A little too pricey for what should be a 3 star.

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Room was big and fairly clean.
Cons: Im sure if the pool is done it will be nice.
Location: Not as close to south beach as advertised.
Place was nice, big & clean. Beach was disappointing, and When we booked they failed to mention that the pool was undergoing major Renovation, probably should have adjusted their prices while their pool was shut down. Restaurant was great tho. Some staff were nice, others were snobby.