Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Nice Hotel awesome views great time.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Beach,views, pools and price for a weeks stay.
Cons: Room service cleaning.
Location: Miami beach is full of things to do and explore, just go out and walk the city.
Recomend this resort to anyone traveling and looking for a place to stay a week a weekend or a couple of weeks. Everything was perfect. Five stars. Only complaint we had was the cleaning of the room. I stayed there a week and the cleaning lady only clean twice, and fresh towels I had to call for them, but other than that lazy lady everything was perfect. A five star for me..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chgo, Il

Rooms are great. Direct access to ocean.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Not happy w/fees. Better policy would be 2 charge rooms by what they used not what's offered.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but not too clean.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Had us waiting forever to get our room, only kept telling me "we will call you when it is ready maybe one more hour"!then the outdated fridge wasn't working. Roaches were running around in the kitchen. Only thing going for it is its location.Very old looking rooms, especially for a "deluxe suite". 1 shower wasn't working and this was not in there condos, this was in the hotel part.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traveler

Nice Room, Disappointing Service

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The bellmen, concierge, bartenders, and towel keepers were very eager to assist and helpful. These staff members provided the best customer service during our stay. We had a very nice room (however not all rooms are of the same quality). Nice atmosphere. Convenient (but expensive) store in the lobby. Cons: The front desk staff however, was not as eager to please. Perhaps the other staff members provided better service because they are tipped positions, but this should not be the case. Our first night there, we informed the desk staff that there was a very loud drilling noise outside of our room which woke us up early. All they said was that we could switch rooms. No sincere apology was offered, no form of compensation or upgrade to a better suite for the inconvenience, nothing. The operators were also very unpleasant. EVERY time I called down to ask for something they seemed like they did not want to help. One time they forgot, and I had to call again over 30 minutes later. Also, the desk agent late at night (maybe night audit?) was VERY unprofessional, unpleasant, and inefficient. Side Note: the management actually reads the comment cards sent to the room and contacted us regarding our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gm from Toronto

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Accommodations spacious. Comfortable beds. View from room was great.
Location: From SOFI to North MB lots of restaurants and access to the beach. Convention Centre and shopping also nearby.
We had a great stay. From this location we could travel from Key West to Cape Canaveral.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff! Definitely coming back!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Location: Utilized the Publix supermarket on the 6800 block. Publix has a liquor store attached as well. The liquor is WAAAY cheaper than everywhere else!!!!!
The staff made you feel like you were at home and they were very helpful throughout our stay. The Junior suites could use some renovations. However, our deluxe suite was on point!!! I like that the hotel is located in a "quiet" area versus a "noisy" area of South Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Beshay from Edmonton

Spacious family friendly suites

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: The hotel is on the beach, you still need to pay for the umbrella and the beach-side chairs. Bus stop just in front of the hotel.
Cons: If you are so picky, the suite condition is NOT outstanding. The renovated suites are usually over-priced.
Location: 10-minute bus to South Beach, 20-minute bus to Jungle Island, 10-minutes taxi to Publix
The suites are very spacious, perfect for a family. Upon check-in, Linda at the reception gave us the access to three suites, we chose the one in the 16th floor. You may need a 10-minute taxi or bus to the heart of the South Beach.
3 out of 5
by Jessika from Florida

Location is excellent, right next to the beach but

Posted May 6, 2014
Valet service was a disaster, dirty kitchen utensils, room was alright but expected way more for the price. Looked very cheap for the price. Location is good and excellent pool area. Service at Shula's was very disappointing as well. Took VERY long for everything: bringing out food, getting the check, etc. and they even forgot to bring us some of the food we had ordered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marion from windsor, ontario, canada

Nice clean suites next to beach

Posted May 4, 2014
Our family of four stayed for a week. The suite was large, well equipped and very clean. All of the hotel was very professional, helpful and attentive. The fitness center needs updating. Overall the hotel looks dated, but this did not matter to us since the rooms were very clean and housekeeping came to clean/check the room twice a day. When we return to Miami, and if there are more than 3 people in our party, we plan on returning to the Alexander. It is located 3 miles from the convention center and Lincoln Rd area of South Beach, but this was easily walkable for us since we enjoy long brisk walks. Having a car rental is helpful if staying at the Alexander and parking in the adjacent public parking lot only costs up to $10 per day and is lower than the valet parking fees, but payment in the parking lot must be made prior to 9 am each day and can therefore cause some inconvenience.
2 out of 5
by Denise from Miami Florida

What you see is not what you get

Posted Apr 28, 2014
We checked in late on Thursday and when we were given our room it was, dirty, old and definitely not modern and renovated, as the pictures shown. The clerk at the desk, was not very helpful, just basically gave us 3 rooms to check and see if we were happy with any of them. We finally stayed in one of the rooms and was told to speak to the manager in the morning. The manager did give us additional rooms, which were renovated the next day, but overall the condition of the hotel is not very good. In addition they charge you a resort fee and yet you have to purchase, beach chairs separately, when you go to the beach. I've stayed at several hotels on the beach and usually this is part of the resort fee.