Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Splendora,Texas

Awesome Staff

Posted May 11, 2015
The staff was awesome,very helpful!! Couldn't have asked for anything more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco, ca

Nice place to stay

Posted May 9, 2015
It was amazing I had an issue with the phone and they send a tech right away...the room was clean and the employees were very friendly and resourceful. It was nice and quiet so when we got back from south beach we could get rest and relax
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Ukraine

Recommended!

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Being close to the beach. Pools. Gym. Fast Free WiFi Internet works even at the beach!!!
Cons: Hotel is old. Windows are very old, do not block any noise. Just 2 elevators for such a big hotel. Gym is pure. Free weight are not there:-(.
Location: Ocean. The rest you need a ride. Valet parking is fast but 26+tax.
Nice hotel right on the ocean. Has 2 pools, 2 dzaqussies. Very close to the ocean with a private beach. The rooms are spacey!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Huge suites, nice beach

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Rooms, pool, beach.
Cons: Nice room but could use a little touchup on paint, and the coffee maker had a flaw that made it unusable.
Location: It's a $15-$20 cab ride to the Lincoln Ave. area. But if you want a beach, it's right there with rental chairs, umbrellas, as well as jetskis.
A pleasant hotel with all the services of the major ones in the area but at an affordable price, especially if you have two or more persons sharing a room. Two bedrooms, two baths, a full kitchen, dining area, living room and a patio that had a view of the ocean. Nice pools with a waterfall cascading into one, and a great beach. There is a Shula's Steakhouse on property, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Nice hotel for a family vacation

Posted May 4, 2015
Friendly staff Suites are spacious and very clean Nice ocean view Great experience overall Will visit again
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom vernon bc

Beautiful pool, outdated grungy rooms

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Hotel is very old and dated. Rooms are not clean and comfortable. This hotel does not look like the pictures provided whatsoever. The pool is beautiful. Poolside service very expensive $13 + 18% usd for piña colada. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, Florida

Third time is not a charm!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Valet/bellmen were awesome!
Cons: The manager needs to read a book or two on people skills, customer service, or just go back to the school were she obtained her hospitality skills.
Location: Was 5 min away from strip via cab.
The first two times I stayed at this hotel it was the best!! Good service and a beautiful view. My friends still had a wonderful time for our bachelorette weekend. Knowing how great this hotel could be made me highly disappointed with some of the service and the room given to us. I was given the wrong information about credit card holds and payment methods over the phone a day prior to checking in. I called the hotel directly and asked to be on top of things. When I checked in, I was told something different and the hotel manager did not own up to the fact that her staff member gave me the wrong information. She was rude and did not care about the inconvenience. All the guest with me were traveling in from different places and this was vital to our trip. For the inconvenience we were "upgraded" to a room with a crappy bay view and it was not what I expected since I had such great experiences to compare it to. Also, the "upgraded" room had a running toilet that made it hard to sleep at night and scuffed up floors. The showers were not nice and there were roaches crawling out as soon as we checked into the room.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second time there. Loved it. Great location.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Everything - rooms straight out of HGTV. Extremely inviting.
Location: Great location on the beach. Family thoroughly enjoyed it.
Awesome. Look forward to next year. Great hotel, great furnishings, great view, great service, what more can I say.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Pricey

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: It was on the beach
Cons: Common areas i.e. lobby, restaurant need upgrading. The hotel had a musty smell
Location: Grocery shopping was a 20 minute walk from the hotel or a short taxi ride. The beach was really nice to talk long walks on.
We had 2 nights at this hotel it was way overpriced for what you get. The grounds were under construction (tiki bar). All day we heard drilling and construction noise. Only one restaurant available at the hotel/condos. The hotel lobby and common areas were very old and are in need of an upgrade with the pool areas. The condo/2 bedroom room we had was liveable. The master bed and bath had been upgraded but the the second bedroom and bathroom were not upgraded. The carpet was in need of replacing throughout the condo. The kitchen cupboards were falling apart and was not well equipped (i.e. no kettle, limited cutlery and dishes, no dish towels to dry dishes). The closest grocery store (Publics) is about a 20 minute walk (which we did) or a 5 minute taxi ride.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Zurich, IL

Nice Beach...that's it.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Size of the room worked well. Beach was nice and they offered guests umbrellas and chairs.
Cons: The whole hotel! Lobby furniture looks tired and worn out and not welcoming. Beds need to be more comfortable.
Location: Walk on the beach! Amazing buildings all around but there aren't any shops or restaurants nearby.
We had a nice time at The Alexander because we enjoyed the sun and the beach. The hotel is very outdated and the pool needs more TLC than the construction it is going through right now. The new snack bar and cabanas will be a nice addition (when they are finished) but the pools need to be updated - rust spots removed; stone edging repaired; cleaner, nicer towels please! Our Junior Suite was a great size but the furniture, kitchen and bathrooms need updating and redecorating. The beds and pillows were not comfortable. The front desk staff was not that friendly and inviting. The grounds crew, valet, and housekeeping crew were very hard working. The wait staff at the "snack bar" weren't helpful and seemed overwhelmed with simple menu requests. I'd be embarrassed to recommend this hotel to any friends. I'd recommend the area and Miami beach but not this specific hotel.