Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Was very nice stay, I really enjoyed

Posted Aug 16, 2014
My experience was good! Hotel stuff was friendly and helpful! Room was clean and service was good!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Carleton on Business

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Great location, friendly staff, rooms are run down with old mismatched furniture. My room was in the back of the hottel overlooking a service alley. I don't spend much time in the hotel when traveling so this view was fine...I kindof expected no view on account of the rate I got. Only 2 complaints: It was noisy! All night long were delivery truck beep, beep, beeps...truck engines starting and revving, men yelling at each other, rolling dock/garage doors opening and closing, slamming doors,...and as soon as the sun broke, workers started power washing the back of the hotel (loud gas engine and swish swish swish). Shower was hot, but was like getting sprayed with 3 water guns.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
No breakfast as specified, which the hotel was kind enough to refund the ridiculous resort fee back to my credit card. Bathroom too small, had to remove the towel rack to brush my teeth. The shades on the windows wouldnt close properly so I had to watch the various men dumpster diving all night outside my window which kept me up all night. I definitely wouldn't recommend this place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Ok I guess

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location was prime for the price. Also the lobby is well decorated and clean.
Cons: Bathroom needs an upgrade and the cable reception was horrible
Location: It was centrally located in the heart of the night life scene in South Beach!
There was nothing spectacular about the Carlton. No gym, you pay a fee for internet daily. The bathroom needed an upgrade. Overall OK for the price but nothing to write home about
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was in nice location

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: New lights and fix airconditioner
The lighting in our room was extremely poor, no way could you do any reading or work of any king. The air conditioner leaked on the carpet
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Carpets need to be changed

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Carpets smell like beer and old shoes. Closets are falling apart. Paid for my parking 25.00 a night no valet. Some one even parked in my spot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north florida

Bring your own towels

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: It was near the convention center
Cons: The service and cleanliness
Location: It's on south beach
Book a room for 4 and paid an extra 20 each extra person. We were only allowed two towels and no extra blankets. Really really basic extra charges for everything
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Not what I expected pictures look different than hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great Location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Great location
Cons: Fix or replace broken systems in room.
Location: Breaches, Shopping, Restaurants, Clubs
AC leaked water in the closet. Refrigerator in room did not work. Had problems with towels and such do to broken dryer. Great location for everything !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Hotel Stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: It was a nice lobby and bar and pool area.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated and have some type of drawer to put your personal belongings.
Location: It was located very close to South Beach, restaurants, and stores. Everything was in walking distance.
The hotel overall is nice but the rooms are not what we expected. The rooms did not have any drawers to put your personal belongings. The shower curtain fell and was cheaply installed. The carpeting is old and the rooms were not very clean. They have not updated the rooms with newer airconditioning units. Our airconditioning unit was dripping water onto the floor and the room was overheated. The maintenance technician worked on the air conditioning unit; however, it stopped working again. The water was cleaned up with a wet vac and towels left on top. The unit started dripping water leaking all over the carpet. The room smelled like mildew and we had to be moved into another room because it had gotten so hot. We were then overwhelmed with an odor in the new room they placed us in. I'm not a very particular person but the room seem like a strong germacide was sprayed to hide another odor. I felt I should have received a discount for all the trouble we had to go thru during my vacation.