Ratings based on 582 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Grandpa from New Orleans

comfortable hotel; always a pleasure to return to

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
My son and his family have lived in South Beach for ten years. I stay at the Clay when I visit them. The hotel has always been one of the best things about the visit. My children are moving to another state and I'm sorry to think that this was my last stay. Perhaps that was one reason that I especially appreciated the Clay this time. My one suggestion is that I wish you had one comfortable chair in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from London

Excellent Location

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Reception staff were fantastic, room was spotless. Can't fault this hotel
Reception staff were fantastic, room was spotless. Can't fault this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very cool feel. Not a typical chain hotel. You felt like you lived in the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Klaudya from milwaukee, wi

walking distance from everything(budget room rvw)

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: walking distance from everything.
Cons: the size of the budget room, but i guess it is called a budget room for a reason.
Location: minutes away (6-10 min walking distance) from collins ave and ocean drive. spanola way was also a beautiful street.
I rented the budget room for the price, everything down there is so expensive. When I got there I was shocked at how EXTREMELY small. it was literally just the double bed and the bathroom. No room to move in whatsoever. Our room was very clean though, and our bathroom was nicely decorated. If you're planning on renting this room make sure it's just for you and 1 more person, that's all. Any more and you won't fit. The hotel over all was clean, and literally we walked everywhere. It was super close to EVERYTHING, even the nightclubs which was a plus that we didn't have to pay for taxi. The hotel doesn't offer shuttle, so we booked a shuttle service to and from the airport for $21.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Great location. Staff was very friendly. Room setup was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Betty from Chicago, IL

Decent Hotel, Great Location!

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Provide an ice maker.
Location: Near everything! Great dining (on Espanola Way), Beach and nightlife are walking distance.
Room was small but clean. Beds are smaller than most hotels but it wasn't a big deal. This hotel is ideal for someone coming to Miami to party, and be walking distance from the beach. This is not a luxury hotel but it is pleasant and clean. I would recommend it to anyone looking to save money on their stay and be close to everything. **Note they did not have an ice maker which is pretty standard at most hotels.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by D from W Palm Beach, FL

Clay

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms opened to a cute courtyard but everything is old, worn and not as clean as one usually finds in a hotel. I had to change my dates, had a confirmation stating that I could do so but the man at the desk was simply atrocious. He did not want to work with me; more rude than I have ever been treated by any hotel. The two other gentlemen at the desk kept making eye contact with me, letting me know they understood. He simply was awful and should be fired. And I don't say that lightly. The location is excellent - 2 blocks from South Beach and one block from Little Havana. Needs a lot of refurbishing but it most likely won't happen since the building is so old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2014
Staff is extremely nice. Hotel is nice. Lobby doesn't have air, but rooms do. Walking distance to the strip/ocean drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Clay Hotel

Posted May 26, 2014
Staff was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean and in decent conditions. The beds were a little uncomfortable however, the location of the hotel was perfect; walking distance to the strip and beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tom

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com