Ratings based on 593 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tiffanyfrom Alabama

I would stay again...perfect location

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would definitely stay at the Clay Hotel again. I went for a one-week vacation with a friend and we're both in our early 30s. The hotel was under construction during my stay so there were things that were understandably out of order. So, the room where we stayed was actually around the corner...and down the street...from the lobby which just took me by surprise because I thought that it would be upstairs but I got used to that. The staff was great. The first room was teenie tiny--I mean, like a walk in closet with a full sized (not queen) bed and that's it because there was no space for anything else; we asked and they moved us to another room with no problem and that was much, much better! The hotel's location was ABSOLUTELY perfect--beach, outdoor mall, restaurants, night life, etc. was all in walking distance. You can take the bus from the airport to a block away from the hotel for $2.65 instead of paying cab fare. I enjoyed my stay and as I mentioned would definitely stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Hotel....good location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Everything
Room is what you would expect for a two star nothing fancy at all. However our room do did not lock and on reporting this we were told just not to worry out things would be fine oh and no we couldn't move rooms. On top of this the entrance to the corridor our room was on had duct tape over the lock so did not lock either this was especially poor as the steps led straight onto the street....in effect anyone could have wondered in. Additionally we missed breakfast as the front desk informed us of the wrong times and last of the disappointments there is no hot water and you can hear everything that happens in the hotel corridor (which is pretty dingy). No lift and no bag help. The only positives are the location and the bed was pretty comfortable....in conclusion never again!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Olivia Garciafrom Gainesville, FL

Completely dissatisfied

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is fine for what it is, however there was a water pipe break when I stayed there. It was an obstacle course to get to my room. Thankfully my luggage was fine, there was a full refund issued (not including valet service) but yet I was downgraded to an incredibly small room where there was no hot water in the morning. The room I paid for had a Keurig, but this room had a hot pot and instant coffee. Continental breakfast consisted of bread/tiny pastries and I was told that it started at 7 AM. It really started at 7:30 AM. This made me late to my business meeting and was a horrible way to start my day given the night before fiasco of getting a downgraded room. When asked if I could get comped a night so I can actually experience what this hotel has to offer, I was given a list of blackout periods, and no weekends. I used this hotel because I travel to Miami often for business, but I only travel on-weekends. Let's just say that customer service is not a highlight of this hotel. It's a cute boutique property, but doesn't seem to have its act together. Spend your money elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel near the beach and night action.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The hotel was in a great location for it's price. It's not the greatest hotel but it is clean and the staff was very friendly. This hotel is perfect if your only there to sleep and you don't need luxury in your rooms. All of the excitement from day to night is walking distance from the hotel and there are tons of restaurants with great Happy hours around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Martyfrom Maui

Very good, simple, hotel in a great location.

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Clay staff was reasonably pleasant and helpful. At my request, they accommodated us a in a simple (little clothes/suitcase storage space) quiet, comfortable room in their Clay Villas section. Their breakfast buffet had no fruit or protein, but the coffee, juice and carbs were filling. while touristy, the location is very convenient to the beach, restaurants and shopping at Lincoln street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Veronicafrom Argentina

Great Mini break weekend

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great location and a nice concept of an open hotel in one of the best places of South Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robertfrom Mississippi

Great little hotel - NOT a resort, a good hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pros: Clean Very short walk to the beach Great location Affordable Friendly staff Valet parking was very easy with little wait Cons: No elevator - we went in July and stayed on the 3rd floor. We were covered in sweat by the time we finished carrying our stuff into the room. Also, the stair well is outside, so it makes the hike up the stairs HOT! Breakfast was not good and had cold coffee everyday we were there. Also, they only served decaf coffee but claimed it was regular coffee. Other comments: Room size was sufficient unless you plan on staying in your room a lot. We brought our 2 road bikes and still had plenty of space. Bathroom was clean but only big enough for one person and no vent but you can open the window. 21 channels of cable. Air conditioner worked great (we were there in July.) Location is very safe!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, location was awesome because you are right in the middle of everything. The temperature of the water in the shower doesn't get steaming hot how I like it. But otherwise, I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by denisefrom portland, or

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a cute hotel very close to shops, restaurants and the beach. The staff was very helpful and carried all my heavy luggage as there are not any elevators. Only complaint would be the noise level at night, but that is to be expected with a location in the middle of everything. Would definetly stay here again.