Ratings based on 1,290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Suprised

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Before booking this trip I was looking for the perfect hotel that offers a great location within walking distance to the beach and other attractions. I was extremely pleased with choosing this hotel from the staff who was very friendly with pointing me in the right directions of restaurants and night clubs. The clay hotel exceeded my expectations for the price,will happily stay here again on my next return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Decent hotel for the price and location

Posted Jun 29, 2015
This will be the 3rd hotel I've stayed at in south beach. I've stayed at worse, and I've stayed at better. I believe this hotel is definitely worth it for the price and the location. You can get to mostly everything you need. Plus, the side street that it is on makes you feel like Havana nights. The room was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. Id stay here again. If your purpose of visiting South Beach is to actually see the city and relax on the beach, than this hotel is all you need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Clay hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Very convenient location for those partying at SOBE
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vineland, N.J.

Pleasant hotel near lots of attractions

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: location near the things that we wanted to do
Cons: Loud construction outside room
Location: two and a half block walk to beach, lots of restaurants, a very convenient 7/11 store that took care of am coffee and drinks for beach
Stayed at The Clay Hotel May 25th through May 30th for a romantic getaway. I had read all of the reviews of this hotel so I was prepared with the good and the not so good. I believe the hotel was three stories, but had no elevator which was no problem for us. Our room was in a separate building oddly a block and a half further down Espanola Way. We must have reserved a budget room since it was very small. It had the microwave, refrigerator, in room safe that we required for our stay which was one of the reasons that I chose this hotel and at least the airconditoner worked very well. It also had generous drawer space in a dresser unlike the hotel we stayed at last year. Staff was very friendly and the location was about two and a half blocks from the beach close to lots of restaurants and bars on Espanola Way. There was alot of construction being done outside one of our windows which was quite loud during the day. Maid service was very friendly and accommodating with our needing more towels each day. Drinks on our street were ridulously expensive unless you hit a happy hour, and food was a bit more pricey on Espanola Way unless you went a block or two on Washington. Location was good since you could easily walk anywhere you wanted. Overall, I would stay here again, but would just prefer a room that was a bit larger. Be prepared to have 18 percent gratuity added on automatically to all of your drinks and food at restaurants in South Beach. We "did" have a nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vintage hotel, great location

Posted Jun 5, 2015
The Clay is a lovely vintage hotel. No bells and whistles, and a few obstacles due to the age of the building, but a "good enough" place in the midst of Española Way. The staff is very responsive, and the hotel price was a good deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel proche de la plage, de nombreux restaurants.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Situation, propreté.
Cons: Petit déjeuner léger.
Location: Quartier animé, beaucoup de touristes, de restaurants, plage à 5min. Hotel le long d'un piétonnier avec beaucoup d'ambiance, mais de bruit aussi.
Chambre propre, bien équipée, bien située pour la plage, pour sortir. Mais rue bruyante.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

Funky older hotel with great location

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: It has a character that newer, more sterile hotels lack. And a great location.
Cons: The room we stayed in (114) was facing a space between two buildings that was cluttered with hanging wires, boxes, discarded junk, etc.
Stylish older hotel, well kept & clean, with character and a great location close to entertainment, and not too far from the beach (10 minute walk). Staff are very friendly. However, some rooms are much better than others. The one we were in had a crap view of a utility space between two buildings, cluttered with hanging wires, boxes, cast-off junk, etc. But on the other hand, our room was almost certainly a lot quieter than a street-facing room. Which was OK as we were out and about all day; and our room was close to a common room with a nice sitting area and a balcony. Be advised there is no parking ($25/day at a public lot two blocks away) and no elevator - which is OK, but you will need to lug your stuff. On balance, I would recommend the Clay Hotel and stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gutes und günstiges Hotel im Party District! ;)

Posted May 20, 2015
Gutes und günstiges Hotel im Party Distrikt. Die Ohrenschützer werden nur für die Klimaanlage benötigt. Empfehlung: oh México Restaurant im Clay Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Åhus, Sweden

Nice hotel with a good location

Posted May 20, 2015
The hotel is located on Espanola way and has a friendly atmosphere. Helpful staff and near to beach and restaurants. Quite noisy at night due to the restaurants just outside the room we had, but we really enjoyed our stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted May 20, 2015
Older, boutique style hotel located in the heart of South Beach. The rooms are a little awkward and could use some updating, but it was clean and centrally located.