Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from English Lake District

Characterful hotel in the midst of Miami Beach

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The staff were really helpful, gave us an easy cheap way to make a UK phone call. There is a beautiful common room, can be used for eating or reading
Location: This is the spot to be for evening eating, drinking and entertainment. Short walk to beach and super art deco buildings.
Welcomed and checked in easily, no lifts but reception staff carried cases upstairs to room. Decent size comfortable well appointed room, air-con a bit noisey. Check out very easy, luggage room available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kirk from Chicago IL

Great room overlooking Espanola Way

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Well, I was a bit hesitant when they told me they did not have a room with two double beds but were giving me two separate rooms with a single queen in each. Also that the room would be about two blocks west off of Washington Ave. But it worked out great! The rooms that I had were recently remodeled, beautiful, and clean. Very comfortable and quiet, though being on Miami Beach and overlooking Espanola Way is not exactly "quiet" , and that really wasn't expected. But Room 551 had a great feel, large shower (no tub), and a small porch with double French doors. Loved this room, though I'm sure I would not have been half as satisfied with the room switch had I not had that particular room.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rami from Sacramento,ca

Great Location on Espanola way

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Good Experience overall. Rooms might need to be a little bit more clean some carpet stains, but overall good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Houston, TX

Only reason to recommend is because of location.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
The hotel could use some rennovation in the hallways. The rooms are a bit small but it is cheaper than most hotels in Miami Beach. Location is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay.

Posted Mar 22, 2014
As they are working on the hotel, the hallways are a bit shabby. But when got to our room it was completely renovated , fresh paint, carpet, and a small but nice bathroom. We loved Washington Ave. The staff were friendly and the food was great ! The only suggestion I would make is that after we checked in it was quite a walk down the street to our room. Would have been nice to have a luggage cart. Would stay there again tho :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overprice for quality

Posted Mar 18, 2014
House keeping never had clean towels. Sometimes took until 1pm to bring fresh ones. Building is dirty and hot. Staff is friendly. Room looked nothing like pictures online.
3 out of 5
by Polly from Lancashire, UK

Clay Hotel - March 2014 - review

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The individual character of the place. The first floor lounge was a joy.
Cons: Staffs' attitude.
Location: Hispaniola Way is picturesque, lively and a great place to dine. Close to the Art Deco district and the beautiful beach.
Overall, a good experience - hotel was more "down mexico way" than "art deco" but quite quaint and unusual.(well, we hadn't wanted a high rise modern hotel!) The staff were a bit on the surly side but our man found us a quiet room - no noise from the street restaurants but consequently our only view from the window was the air-con units on the roof. Notwithstanding, the room was clean if basic - had a kettle (+ tea & coffee sachets), a fridge and a microwave - and a jolly decent size safe. The bed was comfortable, the bed linen clean and the bathroom clean although we couldn't get the shower to wok properly. The entrance hall of the hotel was characterful and the lounge on the first floor a delight - cool with big comfy sofas and chairs. The area (Hispanola Way) was great - lively with good restaurants and very picturesque. We enjoyed it but not sure I would recommend it to a friend - perhaps I would pointing out the pluses and minuses!
2 out of 5
by syd from DC

Cost too much for the place to look like that

Posted Mar 16, 2014
1 Block from beach, but place seemed outdated. room service was really slow in the mornings
3 out of 5
by Donald from Augusta GA

Close to restaurants and the beach

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Architecture and closeness to restaurants/beach
Cons: Finish the construction and and make the room doors so that they don't slam when closed, this can keep you up if your not partying til 2:00 AM.
Location: Loved all the Restaurants and the Beach
Upon arrival we were greeted promptly and were given our room keys. When we went up to our room I noticed a smell in the Hallway, I didn't think anything about that because it looked like construction was going on,(wood floor missing along the baseboards), but the smell lingered on into the room. Come to find out it was thru out the second floor. The room was adequate, nothing fancy. Then again we were there for the local food and the beach just a few blocks away not a room with a view. I do like the architecture of the building and Espanolia Way with all the shops and restuarants. All and all we had a great weekend and would come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by laurie from florida

great location

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Cons: a chair in the room even though our room was basic an alternate seat would have been nice
our stay was brief (one night) the room was very basic but adorable and suited our needs ambiance was cool the location was awesome food available on site price was great kept a card with the intention of using it to book another visit would recommend for short stay only because the room we CHOSE was not meant much for lounging if there are other room choices longer stays would be lovely