Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Good hotel, close to beach.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Impressive location. Not a party hotel at all, which was good. Not impressed with cleaners in room (left dirty glasses all week and didn't restock tea/coffee) Beach package not accurate as advertised, had to pay for umbrellas and never once got offered magazine, iPad etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Clean and comfortable Room!!!

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Our room was clean and everyday the cleaning staff would clean. Staff was always friendly. And the pool was open 24 hours which was amazing.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Location was right on the beach and in the middle of all the attractions. Food, liquor and shopping stores was everywhere.
I'm always skeptical about hotel rooms being dirty. I went to this hotel for my honeymoon and our room was so white and clean!! The staff is so friendly and the beach is right behind the hotel. We had some ocean view but our balcony was on the side of the hotel and it was too small so we couldn't sit outside. Otherwise everything was great and we would recommend this hotel to anyone! You can also hop in a cab right in front the hotel anytime of the day which was convenient. Great service on the beach also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Friendly staffs. Awesome stay. Everything is close by. I love it. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bdy. new york, NY

Great hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Firts of all, the service was excellent, Easy access to the beach and great location, near to many night clubs, restaurants and stores
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great but few balconies

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Great staycation. South beach art deco made modern.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay stay if you temper expectations

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Cons: The hotel needs to follow through on its advertised services and amenities, clean rooms appropriately, and have an greater overall service mentality.
The James Royal Palm is located on a great stretch of South Beach, and Lincoln Road shopping and Ocean Drive are both just steps away. If you are looking for trendy over luxury and just want to get away, The James will be just fine. I'll probably stay at Shore Club or SLS next time. We stayed 5 nights here expecting a little bit more, though: from its high star rating to the very prominently advertised services and amenities on its website and social media, the James Royal Palm didn't fully deliver. When "complimentary triple-distilled water, refreshed twice daily" is a specifically listed item, I expect it in the room twice a day. Some days didn't see it refreshed once, let alone twice. The room was clean very late everyday as well; when you leave the room at 10am and head to the beach, it seems reasonable to want to return to a cleaned and refreshed room -- new towels included -- at about 2-3pm. This only happened one day. Otherwise, we would pass the housekeeping crew in the hall and need to tell them to clean our room. The beach set-up is wonderful, but when you pay $21 in resort fees $19 for an umbrella, attention from staff is expected. We -- as a gay couple -- watched straight couples and families receive an undoubtedly higher standard of service. Room tip: we reserved an Ocean Front King room.... they are in the tower closest to the beach and the room itself, with its unobstructed ocean view and balcony, made up for some of the gaps in service we experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

beautiful resort right on the beach

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: staff, cleanliness, design, views, 2 pools, spa
Cons: pillows - no support, guest room bathrooms - it'd be nice if they were actual doors
Location: within walking distance to ocean drive and lincoln road mall. good selection of restaurants, gift shops, and general stores.
comfortable stay. would book here again. right on the beach with attentive and happy staff. beautiful resort with a lot of amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near sobe

Posted Aug 30, 2014
The hotel is great! The staff were really welcoming when we first got there. Check in time was suppose to be at 3pm but they checked for rooms for us and let us in early for what was available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VIRGINIA

Posted Aug 26, 2014
EXCELLENT LOCATION! ROOM WAS VERY NICE. THEY EVEN UPGRADED ME TO A SUITE FOR FREE UPON CHECK IN! I WILL STAY HERE AGAIN!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Nice hotel close to the beach and attractions

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Friendly and courteous staff
Cons: Room condition could be improved, but nothing that affected our overall satisfaction
Location: Close to Ocean Drive and beautiful art deco hotels, restaurants & clubs. Near Espanola Way (great restaurants) and the Lincoln St outdoor mall.
Ideal location close to the lummus park, the art deco centre, museums and shopping. Very nice pool and excellent beach access. Staff is very friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel.