Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Have never seen such nice staff.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location; staff; cleanliness; rates.
Cons: See #1 above. Also, rugs are worn out in hallway areas near guest rooms.
Fabulous staff; hotel needs coffee machine in room. Not having a shelf/counter w/sink in bathroom was problematic, as there is no place to keep toiletries except small draws in closet or near bed. Nonetheless, the location of the hotel itself is great to both the beach and area happenings, the hotel was clean and the breakfasts on the patio off the lobby were wonderful due to both the food as well as the peaceful setting. Dinner not so much; I would not recommend eating dinner here. Very limited menu with "meh" food. No wonder the restaurant was empty at dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stylish old hotel recently renovated.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Location. Restaurant and terrace. Drink at the bar. Very helpful staff.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: National is close to everything -- close to art-deco section with lots of restaurants and music, close to Lincoln street mall, on the beach, museums..
National was closed for some time for renovation. It has been a really good job, as in the hotel one feels like in the 30s or 40s. The staff is really trying hard to make you happy, especially those in the restaurant. Fantastic breakfast on beautiful terrace. Also nice to have a drink in the evening at the bar. Location is on the beach close to everything of interest. There are two pools and on the beach service. Really nice and comfortable. Not so nice -- Rooms are a bit small, except in the cabana along the pool. Air conditioning is rather loud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

View of beach and close to beach

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Location is great
Cons: The prices for food and the menu, but it was close to a number of restaurants that were lots cheaper for food.
Location: Great beach location, close to the boardwalk.
Little outdated but was comfortable for us close to the beach we got an upgrade to a beach view room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Classy

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel made you feel like you were in a 1940s classic movie. It was very elegant. The staff was very generous and respectful.
Cons: The heating system. I turned the thermostat to 90 degrees and the room was still cold. It was very cold at night.
Location: The location was prefect.
The hotel room was extremely clean and neat. I enjoyed the location. I enjoyed the scenery of the hotel's front and back view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay at the National!!!

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, mature clientele and beach accommodations
Cons: Rooms are small but comfortable
Location: Shopping, easy access to the boardwalk and beach, close to nightlife and safe for females traveling alone.
I went with my girlfriends to SoBe for my 40th Bday. We decided on the National and the location could not have been more perfect. Close enough to all the restaurants and a short walk to Lincoln Mall. Check-in was a breeze. The hotel staff was warm and accommodating. Very clean and comfortable beds. I had only one complaint...it turned really cold on Saturday night and the heat was not working properly in any of our rooms. Since it was warm during the day it was bearable but still surprising. Would I stay again...definitely. I would just check at the front desk about the heat situation if my stay is in the fall or winter to make sure this was an isolated event.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Great Hotel on South Beach

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Such a cool vintage hotel. Beautifully done. Wonderful service. Everyone extremely friendly and helpful. Quiet hotel which we loved yet walking distance to the mayhem!! We loved it and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Historic Hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Cons: Coffee maker in room.
Location: Walking distance to restaurants on Ocean Drive and Lincoln Ave shopping.
Great hotel. Friendliest staff around. Walking distance to restaurants on Ocean Drive and Lincoln Ave shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2014
We came for a honeymoon and we get a nice room good location very recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The hotel was wonderful. I would highly recommend-
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Best hotel in south beach

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Class, great staff, beautiful renovation and not too crazy with music