Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great Location, Great Services, Great Amenities

Posted Nov 25, 2014
I had a wonderful experience at the National Hotel. I went there for the weekend to propose to my fiancee and the team there made sure we had the best stay ever. The concierge (Natalya), the chef (Pierre), the front desk (Fefe and Yasser) and the waiter (Max), all helped me to make it a very special moment for my fiancee and I. The location of the hotel is right on the best spotes of South Beach ( 1 block from Lincon Rd, 5 blocks to Ocean Drive, walking distance to all best restaurants and clubs...). The hotel has all the perfect amenities for a weekend in Miami (gorgeous infinity pool, hot pool, direct and private access to the beach...). I stayed in a standard rooms that was great. But next time I will definetly try the Cabanas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: great location...clean
Cons: lighting
Location: close to everything...beach too.
Room was nice but dark, not from lack of sun but from bad fixtures...they are nice but do not light well
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There's a difference between historic and Run Down

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: great location. Oceanfront, close to Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road - can walk anywhere in South Beach.
First I will start by saying the location of this South Beach hotel is probably the only thing that I liked about my stay here. There is a difference between historic and rundown and this hotel is the latter. I travel all the time- have been to Miami several times and was completely disappointed all around with this stay. Let me start by saying they have the WORST wifi of any hotel I have ever stayed in. I was looking forward to swimming in the pool- but would not even put my foot in the water- there was so much green algae growing I cannot even believe they let people get in it. The room had a musky moldy scent - and it must be all of the rooms because when I switched rooms, the second one had that same smell. This hotel would get a 2.5 star rating if it didn't have the "historic" National name to it. Room service was ok - not a wide variety. Like the rest of South Beach- parking is expensive - I can say the service with Valet was always good. The chairs on the beach were nice - but I was offended when asked if I wanted to spend an extra $15 for an umbrella - when my resort charge should already cover that. The service at the front desk is awful. The staff is incredibly condescending and rude- I have never experienced something like this. It was as if the entire staff could completely care less about customer service. They were so rude is was jaw dropping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Have never seen such nice staff.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location; staff; cleanliness; rates.
Cons: See #1 above. Also, rugs are worn out in hallway areas near guest rooms.
Fabulous staff; hotel needs coffee machine in room. Not having a shelf/counter w/sink in bathroom was problematic, as there is no place to keep toiletries except small draws in closet or near bed. Nonetheless, the location of the hotel itself is great to both the beach and area happenings, the hotel was clean and the breakfasts on the patio off the lobby were wonderful due to both the food as well as the peaceful setting. Dinner not so much; I would not recommend eating dinner here. Very limited menu with "meh" food. No wonder the restaurant was empty at dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stylish old hotel recently renovated.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Location. Restaurant and terrace. Drink at the bar. Very helpful staff.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: National is close to everything -- close to art-deco section with lots of restaurants and music, close to Lincoln street mall, on the beach, museums..
National was closed for some time for renovation. It has been a really good job, as in the hotel one feels like in the 30s or 40s. The staff is really trying hard to make you happy, especially those in the restaurant. Fantastic breakfast on beautiful terrace. Also nice to have a drink in the evening at the bar. Location is on the beach close to everything of interest. There are two pools and on the beach service. Really nice and comfortable. Not so nice -- Rooms are a bit small, except in the cabana along the pool. Air conditioning is rather loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Great stay at a landmark hotel.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
First class hotel with impeccable service. Some of the quirkiness has been preserved, making this hotel a unique experience. Many of the furnishings of this hotel were hand selected by the owners (wife) and reflect that personal touch. An added bonus it the location just a few steps from Lincoln Road. My wife and I loved this place an will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC, NY

It was nice..but ....

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Location was great - walking distance to Lincoln Road and Ocean drive. Stores and resturants. Great in house rest and access to pools and beach
Cons: Just need to improve the experience for upscale customers
Location: The hotel is in walking distance to Lincoln Road and Ocean drive. Stores and resturants
Location was great - walking distance to Lincoln Road and Ocean drive. Stores and resturants. Great in house rest and access to pools and beach BUT but it lacked little things. I did not have an automated check-out system. The room did not have an amenities booklet. I called and asked for room service and I found out there was a spa after the fact. Staff was nice, room was cute. Just need to improve the experience for upscale customers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

View of beach and close to beach

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Location is great
Cons: The prices for food and the menu, but it was close to a number of restaurants that were lots cheaper for food.
Location: Great beach location, close to the boardwalk.
Little outdated but was comfortable for us close to the beach we got an upgrade to a beach view room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Classy

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel made you feel like you were in a 1940s classic movie. It was very elegant. The staff was very generous and respectful.
Cons: The heating system. I turned the thermostat to 90 degrees and the room was still cold. It was very cold at night.
Location: The location was prefect.
The hotel room was extremely clean and neat. I enjoyed the location. I enjoyed the scenery of the hotel's front and back view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay at the National!!!

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, mature clientele and beach accommodations
Cons: Rooms are small but comfortable
Location: Shopping, easy access to the boardwalk and beach, close to nightlife and safe for females traveling alone.
I went with my girlfriends to SoBe for my 40th Bday. We decided on the National and the location could not have been more perfect. Close enough to all the restaurants and a short walk to Lincoln Mall. Check-in was a breeze. The hotel staff was warm and accommodating. Very clean and comfortable beds. I had only one complaint...it turned really cold on Saturday night and the heat was not working properly in any of our rooms. Since it was warm during the day it was bearable but still surprising. Would I stay again...definitely. I would just check at the front desk about the heat situation if my stay is in the fall or winter to make sure this was an isolated event.