Ratings based on 929 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great location on busy Ocean Drive

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Perfect location. Good price, breakfast included, fridge in room and bottled water and clean towels daily. Great pizza Hotel smells lovely
Cons: Photos on website are not representative of how it actually is, hotel does need some attention.
Location: Right on Ocean Drive in the Art Deco area, lots of restaurants nearby, although the Penguin serves good food. Walk along the promenade it's lovely.
Recently stayed for 3 nights during a holiday to Orlando. Researched what was available on the Internet and found The Penguin, which seemed to be in an ideal spot and was good value for money, compared to other hotels. Loved the penguin theme it is so original. On arrival we were met by a lovely receptionist who upgraded us to a room with a sea view when she found out my husband and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary - this was much appreciated . All staff were lovely and helpful. Breakfast was good, although I thought it would be buffet style but you choose from a list and then the waiter brought it. Coffee was excellent and the free drink was much appreciated. valet parking is available but they did suggest a nearby car park for less. Can be quite noisy during the night but as it's on Ocean Drive then it shouldn't be such a surprise. Hotel seemed popular and the bar was always busy, had a nice veranda to sit out on and watch the world go by. Free beach towels were provided. Thank you Penguin we had a lovely stay and would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for the location

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Valet service is a pain, but was par for the area. Great location and the staff was helpful. Shower got water all over the floor and the outside noise woke us up several times. Super easy access to the beach and night life and shops.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but...

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Hotel needs to invest in new towels and fabric softener! Towels are dingy and hard. For the price of their rooms, they can afford it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Put us in a storage closet across from the kitchen... Then proceeded to say we "damaged" a room that wasn't even clean in the first place. The "damage" was makeup we wiped on their towels and we got charged for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great price

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Hotel is decent but needs some love, staff was friendly, location was great, free breakfast was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Beach, bus tour.
Great location, breakfast disappointing, glad we didn't stop at sister hotel as it is not worth walking for. Room clean and shower nice and powerful, staff helpful. Hop on/off bus tour got one for free at reception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Reasonable Rates and close to the beach and restau

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Location: The location of this hotel to the boardwalk to get to the beach was perfect!
Pleasant Experience, friendly staff. Room was nice, clean and roomy. The bar and restaurant staff was also very nice and food was very good! Loved sitting on the porch every morning enjoying the free continental breakfast....which was very good with adequate choices! .....including very good coffee and juice. We also enjoyed lunch their which was excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2015 by Alex, Hotel Management
Greetings from The Penguin, I'm glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience at the Penguin! We really appreciate the opportunity given to serve you and we hope to see you back really soon. Thanks again, The Penguin Staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Could use some renovation , Hotel staff pretty friendly and yes you have to pay for parking, 25 dollars every time you need your car plus tips or another option you have a parking lot 2 blocks away and you still have to pay 25 a day. overall i would stay again yes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom peoria

right across street from beach

Posted Feb 22, 2015
this is an old hotel. The rooms are small and the real estate is expensive. It is a pretty good value for a perfect location. It is clean and the staff is very good. If you want swanky and expensive, the Betsy is three doors down and three time the price. If you want location and convenience at a reasonable price, stay at the Penguin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Excellent location close to the beach

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Excellent location close to the beach, good quality breakfast and drinks included. For an amazing treat, book room 401 with a rooftop patio where you can lounge shielded from wind while overlooking the ocean. Recommend this deco charmer with modern conveniences!