Ratings based on 615 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Good night everybody. Was good. Nice hotel character. But more price than on expedia stayed. Funny penguines in the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
What else would you expect to find in South Beach’s Penguin but charming little penguins and hopefully a wonderful time? We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our hotel’s unique character. Thank you for the great review! We hope your travels bring you back our way for another memorable visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Great location. Place is dated. Waiters sucked. Cleaning ladies were nice that's about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, We love our Ocean Dr. location, and it’s great to hear you loved it too. We’re very sorry you didn’t enjoy our recent renovations. We put heavy emphasis on guest service, and we sincerely apologize that you did not feel the benefit of our efforts. We hope to see you again when you next visit our fun area; we’d love the opportunity to impress you with our ongoing improvements.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
You get what you pay for. This was a good hotel at a good price. I do recommend if you are on a budget but still want something decent. If you want Ritz Carlton then you should go pay for Ritz Carlton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected more!

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: upkeep
Location: beach
I am far from picky and i am well aware of what to expect from a south beach hotel .... i have also stayed at the president hotel which is owned by the same company and i would recommend staying at the president ! but i can not say the same for the penguin.... for one our A/C did not work half of our stay we had leak in our bathroom sink and the bathroom although it looks updated you can tell it wasn't updated properly ! the bedsheets had what seemed like blood stains and there was hair in my bathroom when we 1st arrived
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, We’re very sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to the A/C unit not working properly. We also apologize that our cleanliness did not live up to your expectations, and your feedback is greatly appreciated. We’re striving to always improve, and your comments are invaluable to our reaching that goal. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can win you over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from Q

Perfect location/great waitstaff/affordable drinks

Posted Jun 18, 2014
From the moment we pulled into valet parking the customer service was on point. The room/location/ service was perfect. No complaints. I thank the hotel for a great south beach ocean drive experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hi Mel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It sounds like you were taken great care of from the moment you arrive until you left. We couldn’t agree more that our location is perfect. We welcome you back anytime, and we hope to see you return for another great South Beach experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Check in and out was quick. We were welcomed with 2 welcome drinks. Breakfast was complimentary we were offered beach towels and they volunteered to hold our luggage after check out. Great! Will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
We’re glad that check in and check out was smooth and fast. We’re happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and beach towels. We can’t wait to see you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Great location, I loved the room decor. The room was a bit small it only fits two comfortably. It did have a futon sofa that was nice. The staff was friendly. I would definitely stay there again because the location was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
We’re happy to hear that you loved the room décor, and that you found the location to be exceptional. We’re very sorry to hear that room was a bit smaller than you were hoping for, but also happy that you found the sofa to be nice. We’re glad you found our staff to be friendly; we take great pride in our team. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mel from Orlando

Great location with even greater staff

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Service & location
Cons: couch in room needs cleaning
Location: wonderful location close to everything
Let me start by saying I am a super picky person who reads reviews on every place she stays at. In this case it was me & my fiance traveling to relax & celebrate his 38 birthday. I was still a bit shaken about the reviews I had read but had decided to give this place a chance myself since I have stayed at many South beach locations and had not yet been impressed by any. Carmen was at the front desk, I expressed my concern about the reviews & right away she called housekeeping to show us different rooms to choose from. Even the standard was nice especially room 108. Regardless Carmen seen how much I couldnt decide on which to chose so she upgraded us to an ocean front suite. We loved it! Florencia at the front desk was also very helpful and answered all my questions about the area. Even the housekeeping staff was super friendly and did a great job with our room. Yes there is a resort fee but I dont believe people realize they have that every where. In Orlando they charge 30 dollars per night so 19 dollars is not much. I would like to thank the entire staff including the waiters outside who were very friendly. Also their bar area is brand new and when you walk in the hall way all you smell is the brand new carpet. Hallways have the color blue since its supposed to have the feel of being in the north pole (PENGUIN HOTEL). lol I had read people complaining about it and I guess they just didnt figure it out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hi Mel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It sounds like you were very pleased with our staff’s excellent service. We couldn’t agree more that the location is perfect; close to everything! We’ll be sure and let Carmen and Florencia know how happy you were with their service. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your fiancé’s 38th birthday with us, we hope to see you both soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

decent hotel to stay

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: reasonable cost, location close to the beach
Cons: Cleanliness and providing adequate toilet supplies.
It is a fair and reasonable hotel to stay near the beach. We stayed for 2 days. Rooms were clean but lacked mirror with lack of supplies. There were only two towels and toiletries were not replenished/supplied when room service cleaned the room. There are repairs going on in the next room. You can hear loud noises and drilling going on. You can hear everything in the next room :( The breakfast at the president hotel which is complimentary was not good and there is not a place to sit and tables were not clean with food still laying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you found the hotel’s cost reasonable, and that you enjoyed our close location to the beach. We’re sorry to hear that the cleanliness did not meet your expectations and that you did not feel you received adequate toiletries. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise coming from the room next to you. We are also very sorry that you did not enjoy the complimentary breakfast. We’ll take all your comments into careful consideration as we strive to always improve. We hope to see you again soon; we’re confident we can win you over.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location was great

Posted Jun 8, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful . The valet service can be slow . Rooms and bathroom in need of repair
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Our location always keeps us smiling; we’re thrilled you loved it too. Thank you for your praise of our staff. We’re sorry you felt valet was a bit slow. We’ll take your comments regarding out rooms and bathrooms into careful consideration, thank you. We hope to see you again when you next return to South Beach.