Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington, VA

Faded Elegance

Posted Mar 18, 2015
My room was a suite which is probably great for the location in South Beach. A few blocks from the beach, Lincoln Rd, and Ocean drive, so the location is pretty good. No parking though, so you'll need to pay to park in the lot across the street. The staff were great and the room was very clean, but everything was just a bit worn out. Extra points for a fridge, microwave and kitchen with sink and decent counter space. For a bit less it would have been a steal, but then again I was there during Spring Break and it was the best deal in town.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis

Booked there, but mgmt took us elsewhere

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Nothing. Didn't even stay there. They sent us to a sister hotel, Kaskkades, then ultimately to Gale. Once at Gale, very pleased.
Cons: Customer service! Suite to shoebox; one hotel to another; shoving a rollaway where it won't fit, learning the manager said, "just pamper them"...awful
Location: Location is awesome. Close to beach, restaurants, bars, shops, Big Bus tour stop.
Very eager to stay at this hip hotel in Miami with my good friend in town from Hong Kong. I booked a suite w/bdrm & a living room. I requested a rollaway, but knowing it wasn't guaranteed, the living room couch was ok. I called 1 day before to say I'd arrive around midnight and I didn't want the late arrival to jeopardize our booking or the rollaway request. "Not a problem, see you tomorrow!" they said. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a loud, "oh yes, hi, you're the ones who booked through Expedia! Right this way." The desk agent/manager ushered us back out the door in which we came and said, as we were walking to an unknown location rolling our suitcases, "We're going to our brand new sister property. Great room. Ever heard of TVs in the bathroom mirror? It has it. And a private jacuzzi." Clearly selling the room... After a 5 minute walk down the block, we arrived to a shoebox-sized room (less than 100 sq ft) with one with one king bed. No suite, no rollaway. In fact, impossible for rollaway to fit because even the room's hallway was too narrow, which they admitted. And the shower wall was see-through to the bedroom, obviously not suitable for two friends traveling together (noted in the booking, ie need for rollaway). When we insisted on a different or addtl room, they brought the roll-away anyway and said, "we know you're not happy, so my manager said to pamper you." W/a bed that doesn't fit in room? Mgr punted us to mgmt at the sister hotel and said nothing more to us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close Enough

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Hotel was close enough to get back and forth from the Hot Spots on South Beach!! Provides free shuttle service great and convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Major issues with toilet plumbing that needed multiple efforts to resolve. VERY noisy first floor room next to kitchen was disruptive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Göteborg

Inte prisvärt.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Hotellets läge var bra men annars inget.
Cons: De bör stänga ner och renovera samt skaffa ett frukosterbjudande värt namnet om man nu ska ha det alls. Sängarna hade passerat sitt bäst-före datum.
Location: Läget är bra och det är nära till stranden.
Vi checkade in sent och fick ett rum där det ordagrant rann vatten från taket i vardagsrummet, något de påstod aldrig hade hänt tidigare trots att det var fullt med gula fläckar i taket. Vi bodde två nätter och bytte rum till natt två då vi var för trötta för att göra det natt ett. Trots läckan fick vi inget refund utan istället bjöd de på frukost. En frukost som inte kan anses vara något annat än en hälsorisk att konsumera, den var inte ätbar och serverades på papptallrikar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by lisafrom new York

will always stay here when in town!

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great as always!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Bait and Switch

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: The staff were excellent. The beach access was incredible. This cancelled all other negatives at the roof pool at Sanctuary.
Cons: The common areas were rough. The bell hop was absent. Focus more on the hotel. Nicer attitudes for the maid staff. Not a smile in the place.
Location: Miami is historically brilliant for night life as well as day life. Explore the great history. We went to Ocean Drive and soaked in the sights.
Great looking hotel from the outside. They have a nice looking bar and restaurant. This is really where they spend their effort. The hotel is an after thought. They hire staff on the cheap. With the exception of all three concierges, the rest of the staff was a little less up for the challenge. The pool on the Sanctuary roof deck was meager, looked like a baby's wading pool. The night we checked in they had to send us to another property across the street that did not have the space that we wanted in our room. All of the amenities were hidden in something but no one showed us these things so we went without. The room at the Gale was gorgeous but it was a closet. The staff here were excellent. Its hard to say that it was a bad hotel but it was just not my style. It was not worth the money. The pool at the Gale is awesome! Too bad we couldn't put the pool at the Sanctuary. The staff here were awesome. Despite not having one bell hop to move our luggage between four of their hotels speaks volumes. I really didn't want to lug my luggage across avenues after a hellish flight. They did well otherwise. The hotel concierge, Maria, was superb and even bought us a drink the next night. If they were not so nice than I would have pressed them to reimburse me for the meager room the first night. Hats off to them for accommodating us through a difficult scenario. The hotel needs work. The upstairs roof pool still had new years eve celebration stuff around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by marvinfrom Dupont, WA

Awesome place with great location!

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Extremely comfortable stay. From being allowed to check in early without any fees to the vibe the zen themed hotel gives off, I'm definitely coming back next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Milano

Soluzione intelligente.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: La convenzione Piscina / Spiaggia.
Soluzione intelligente di un albergo vicino ad una delle vie principali e dello shopping di Miami. Convenzione con la spiaggia e la piscina di ottimo Hotel il Shelborne. La camera al piano terreno non era molto luminosa e il letto alla francese un po' piccolo comunque nel complesso gradevole. Ho lamentato un disguido nel pagare il conto fee dell'Albergo per cassa ho scoperto che mi era stato addebitato anche sulla carta di credito. Quindi attenzione a questo aspetto in USA tutto viene addebitato per default sulla carta di credito. Lo consiglio.