Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Super friendly staff and great experience all arou

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: drinks could be cheaper
Location: The beach and loungers were great. We cabbed it to South Beach etc. - easy to get as they drive by the hotel all the time and staff flag down for you
Stayed for a little getaway. Room was super clean. Bed very comfortable. Every staff member greeted me and were super pleasant and helpful. I have travelled far and wide I this has been the most friendly and cleanest hotel I have stayed at. I loved the decor, the grounds in general and the food. I can't honestly say there was anything bad. I would stay again and highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice hotel, great location. TERRIBLE SERVICE!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
This is a great hotel, the location is perfect and the facilities are nice. The only issue is the service - you will wait quite some time for a very expensive beverage or even for breakfast at the SeaGrape.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Manager tried to pass a room as ocean view and wasn't. After confronting he said they were in the process of changing room titles. Restaurant awful food and service. They don't have to treat you well because of 20% tip automatically charged. This hotel is an embarrassment to the Thomson hotel name.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Had a wonderful stay ...Staff was amazing. Location was quite. And late night room service did the trick
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, failed in the details

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Pool, beach.
Cons: Service! Everyone was very polite but oh my goodness there was so much lacking!
Location: Beach beach beach. Long walk to restaurants or Lincoln Rd, etc.
So bummed- we wanted to love this place. The location (on the beach, with 2 beautiful pools) was great, but there were so many misses it just added up to a not-so-great stay. For example, there is no top sheet on their beds, so anyone who doesn't want to sleep under a heavy comforter has no other option. I even requested a top sheet, it being 80 degrees out, and they failed to delivery until the 3rd request. They didn't make up the bed, I was supposed to do it myself (which is fine but just not what you expect considering the stars and $$$) and then they took it away the next day so the following night, surprise, it was gone. SO SO weird. Then the glasses weren't cleaned the whole time we stayed there and the rug was dirty (somebody chose yellow rugs, too bad). Then there was the restaurant- cokes at the pool are $8 :( And the service- my husband waited for 40min at lunch (they were not busy, they did know he was there) and then when I ordered chicken with sweet corn from the menu for my child, it came with french fries and I said "Oh! I thought it came with corn!" and the waiter said, "No, it doesn't." (it did). And just threw the fries out instead of offering something else, for about $1M for a plate of chicken fingers (which were delicious). I could go on and on like this but will stop there, point made. Great pools and beach, but these very sweet and polite people (which they were) need a manager to train them on the details.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Due to a corporate event, I was denied access to the restaurant and told that I could order room service from the menu. However, I should have been warned of this when making reservations. Also, at the pool, I was never offered a menu or a drink menu although servers were in the area quite often. The employees with whom I dealt were very friendly and the hotel was very clean. I would probably not book this hotel again, however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Great hotel and location. Staff and retro 69s feel was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit

Ocean Front Grand Balcony

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The room makes your stay - ad I stayed in a great room. Really great décor, very clean, nice and quiet, and I had two balcony's.
Cons: Get some pickles for the burgers!
Location: Nice to be on the boardwalk, adds something extra. Also, close enough to South Beach and just far enough.
If you're looking for ocean front, and you can spring for the Ocean Front Grand Balcony room, you'll definitely love your stay. The hotel is clean, quiet, but with plenty going on. The rooms are nice and the staff is always ready to open a door as you're walking by, or press the elevator button if they're happening through at the same time as you. Great pools and out door "chilling," as well as nice beach access, which takes you a few steps onto the beautiful boardwalk. The staff here really cares about the guests and everyone was really friendly and super attentive. An example of what a hotel should strive to be! Thank you to Craig, if he happens to read this - this guy really cares about the guest experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Perfect location for Miami beach stay

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Staff were excellent. Bar and restaurant good quality and lively
Cons: Pool side music - Very loud. Needs to appropriate level for the situation
Location: Perfectly located. Right next to the board walk and beach and a pleasant stroll into South beach
We were in the hotel for 5 nights having had a disaster on a previous booking. The staff were welcoming friendly and efficient. The atmosphere was upbeat . Rooms were laid out well and spotless. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed Bag

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The rooms were lovely and although the lobby is miniscule, there were many lovely seating areas both inside and out.
Cons: In general, the staff needs to be better trained in customer service, especially the person who was on duty as the pool manager.
Location: Hotel is not surrounded by shops and restaurants - Lincoln Road is about a mile south, and Bal Harbour Shops about 2 miles north.
Although the property has gotten a beautiful renovation, our opinion of the hotel was ruined by several pool staff members who were rude or seemed more impressed with themselves than in caring about guests- A big exception was the woman at the front desk who upgraded us at check-in and seemed genuinely concerned to learn at check-out of our unpleasant experience with other employees. A friend had eaten at the restaurant a few days before we arrived and the service was so bad her group had their whole meal comped - so we did not try Seagrape at all Even with an Expedia discount our bill for 2 nights (just the room) was over $900 - so needless to say we will not return.