Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Noel

Great budget hotel in a great location. Nice pool.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location.
Location: Middle of South Beach. Beach is just a block away.
Good budget hotel. Some traditional hotel rooms and some hostel rooms. Geared towards budget travelers but clean with a nice pool and community cooking facilities. Nice chance to mingle with "Rick Steve's" type travelers from around the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by LadyD from Wisconsin

Very Nice!

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was extremely helpful, and the guests very welcoming. We met people from all over the world, and in this community-type environment, truly enjoyed our stay. We got tips from guests who have been coming there for 5 years. We had rented a car and found this to be quite unnecessary since the hotel is located downtown. We took the bus everywhere. I'm glad I had read the reviews on this before booking so I knew what to expect. My friends and I all decided if we were to come back to Miami, we would stay at the Tropics again!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not even cups in the bathroom to brush teeth

Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
They don't even put plastic cups in the bathroom so you can brush your teeth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location. Across the street from $400 a nicht resorts. Good value. A budget hotel and nothing fancy but serves the purpose. Community kitchen was hostel style. Pool was very clean. Rooms nothing great but clean. Staff a bit odd but friendly. For the price and location I'd stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what was expected

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Was not aware that it was a hotel and hostel. Room and hallways were below expectations. Would not stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alex from Brooklyn, NY

Great Location, Lousy Service

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I knew this was a basic hotel when I booked, so I wasn't expecting anything fancy. However, I was expecting the AC and wifi to work as advertised. They did not. The wifi did not connect to the internet for the entire week we were there and the AC basically did not work, so the room was sweltering. When I told the front desk about the problems I was having, they said there was nothing they could do. When I pressed, they became irritated and acted as if I was being unreasonable. It's too bad. Otherwise, this is a great, basic hotel in a fantastic location. The room was nice sized and overlooked the large, very nice pool. If they had even offered me a modest discount for my troubles I would have left a positive review, but that was out of the question. Very disappointed.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Parts of this hotel is a hostel. These rooms were not but there were no hotel amenities We booked a couple of rooms for staff for a tradeshow due to its proximity. The staff did however try to be accommodating when problems were shared but there isn't much they could offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Julian from Sebring, fl

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Parking garage on 16st during the week it's $8 between 6am-7pm otherwise it's hourly. Depending on the season this can be a very crazy corner or just a regular corner. The hotel itself is an old wood hotel which still maintains the old Miami beach days of the pink color, and shiny blacks and late 80s 90s pictures. Depending on who you are this hotel is good for a beach person, chill kinda place, if your high maintenance go a cross the street. You can hear everything outside of your room that's going on in the hallway, but it's usually room service or housekeeping. And don't try to check out late, you only get like an hour more if they say it's ok.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Barry from Kalamazoo

Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel old...clean, but in need of lots of maint and updating. Painting, bath update & new Tv and table chairs necessary. Would be worthr addtl /nite, if updated and kept very clean. No frills ok. Service ok. Location good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014