Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location to the convention center

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: close to the convention center
Cons: Internet in the rooms
no wireless in the room and far from beach but room rate is good. nice location to the shops and foods
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Crystal from New York

Good Location for dining

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I booked this hotel I was never informed that it was part hotel/part hostel. The location is great, the staff is nice and friendly. Although housekeeping came in everyday, the tub look like it was never cleaned, we cleaned it ourselves. The washcloth were paper thin. If we wanted to use the iron and ironing board we had to go to housekeeping and use it there before 9 pm. Would I stay here again, NO! would I recommend it, NO!!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by alex from california

false edvertising

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
we switched to this hotel from haddon thinking it would be better. it wasn't. they claimed to have free wi-fi both in lobby and rooms. the rooms never got reception . when i complained they said ';just come downstairs for internet use" . but the 'free' wifi' in lobby couldn't hold a signal long enough to read and reply to emails. the tv in the room was archaic tube type and fuzzy image. the halls and rooms smelled musty. my freinds stayed next door at the AQUA for the same price and got free WOKRING wifi in both lobby and rooms, plus things tropics didn't like free breakfast, a jacuzzi and a cool second floor terrace with seating to watch the street life. Also those roms had ergo flooring and didn't smell. don't go to tropics go to AQUA
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lou from CT

Can't be beat for price

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a Hostel that also offers rooms, look, this is a simple room and shower, no frills hotel, rooms are always kept super clean and the location is perfect, you are 3 blocks away from everything you come to SoBe for. I have been coming to Tropics now for 15 years.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from Brevard, NC

Bare-bones but so worth it

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: The staff!
Cons: The pillows!
Location: beach is nearby, as is a rental bike kiosk. shopping, bars, etc all nearby. can basically walk to the entire SoBe area.
Laundry room, kitchen and amazing staff- the friendliest people we encountered in Miami Beach. The rooms are super minimal, but who cares? Super close to the beach and shopping, bars, etc. We were so glad we stayed at Tropics Hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a night stay before cruise

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Arrived late and just spent the night. It was a nice and friendly hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anthony from Saint Lucia

Close to the action!

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a neat hotel with receptionists who were fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Vivian from Grass valley, ca

Great

Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great value, great location and very nice people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013