Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not ready for prime time

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Will be a nice hotel once they get it completely up and running
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We want to provide you with a vacation experience that exceeds your expectations. For that reason, we recently went through some rennovations and we always do it, as soon as we notice something needs to be updated. We are sincerely not sure about the specifics of your review, considering we are fully running at this point. We look forward to seeing you, your friends and family again! Micky
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jinoo from Washington, D.C.

Great Stay

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was Great Stay, Perfect location and clean room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very happy to hear your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed our strategic location close to the beach, as well as our cleanliness.Thank you so much for your input! M.B
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Monique from Minnesota

Family friendly Miami

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant stay! Beautiful, small resort! Right on the gorgeous beach and "beach walk". Felt safe. Friendly staff. We were only called once about an appt to hear about timeshare. We declined and were not asked again. The rooms are like an apartment with big jacuzzi. Loved many things like the personable, quaint atmosphere, hammocks, bonfire, grills, fireplace, music selection of the outdoor speakers, the convenience store/deli that is attached, beach chair/umbrella rental service and lifeguard right there. We loved the low key location on the beach. The real spring break party scene was probably a mile walk along the shore. We walked to see the scenery but appreciated our spot the most! There were a few minor things that could use improvement...we read about it and it is true...there is a unique, unpleasant smell in the lobby but we got use to it. Luckily, we were extremely tired in the evenings and could fall asleep quickly because we could hear other people in their rooms and even the outdoor music, after midnight. We rarely came thru the front entrance but when we did, there seemed to be garbage that blew in from the street, along the front steps. We used taxi service and it's easily accessible right in front of the building. I would definitely stay here again! Thank you Westgate!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments about our resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort amenities. We always look forward to exceeding all our owner and guest expectations. Please come back to visit us again soon. Ray
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall great experience. Great location. Beautiful room. Hot water!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
We are Thrilled to know you had a Great experience with us our location Is perfect spot to enjoy all that south beach has to offer. Thank you again for your review as we love hearing kind words such as yours. We look forward to hosting your vacation again soon. Ray
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very fairly priced.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
This is an older building that has been redone very nicely. There aren't a lot of places to eat close so we ate in the room a lot which was easy with the kitchen that was included. I would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your input on Westgate South Beach. Recently in the past year we have undergone renovations at the resort. It’s really great that you were able to use the fully equipped kitchen to prepare your own home cooked meals. We certainly look forward to have you stay with us again! Ariel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Adriana from Chicago

Girls trip for Spring Break

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I absolutely loved this hotel! It was myself and 3 girls for a long weekend during spring break. The property was beautiful and the beach was right behind the hotel. They offer extras that many places don't. We had our meals at home and even used one of the grills on our last night. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is also parking right next to the resort, and it's $10 for all day parking which was a plus for us. I would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
We are so thrilled to know that you have a Fantastic Girls Weekend for spring break. As you discovered, we are in the perfect location in south beach to enjoy all of the unique activities. It’s great to know you took part in many of our unique amenities. Sounds like we will be seeing you and your family again soon! Ray
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was great, the room was perfect for us. The amenities were good. My only complaint is that I scheduled a cab pick the night before to go to the airport the next morning and it didn't show up The person working the desk was happy that I said I would just handle it myself.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time at the Westgate South Beach Resort. Your home away from home awaits you next time you are in the Miami area. Josie
2 out of 5
by Sue & Mike

"resort" NOT!

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Uncomfortable couches, asked for room to be cleaned , clean towels were left but bed was not made, light came on in the middle of the night and would not turn off in master bedroom, no hot water, needed to change rooms. Toilet overflowed in second room. Staff did not speak English so communication was hard.tried twice to get us to listen to sales pitch for time share. Nice location, nice grounds. Store on premises convenient . Parking not good .
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated so we can measure our strengths and areas that need improvement. We are happy that you enjoyed the convenient location, beautiful grounds and amenities. We apologize about the negative experiences you described. The comfort of our guests is a top concern for us. Your challenges are being reviewed by our Management Team, as they share a common interest to ensure that these issues are corrected. We remain hopeful you will give us a second chance to serve you again. Josie
3 out of 5
Recommended
by B.G. Williams from Delaware

Facility / Staff Do Meet expectations of Westgate

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The resort was clean, but the facility is poorly built. The floor and toilet in my room shifts when people walked down the main hallway on the first floor. The walls are paper thin and you won't be able to sleep if your room is on the 1st floor, as you hear every noise from the units above you. The pool area looked refreshing, but was infested with ants. The staff was misleading in their intentions when setting up a meeting to refund some of my hotel fees. I specifically told the staff member I was not interested in a sales presentation, she insisted she wasn't in sales and it was just about looking into refunding me some of my fees. Minutes into the meeting it was clear that the intent was to sell me a timeshare. After taking up my time they stated they were not able to refund any of my fees because I didn't book through Westgate. They knew who I booked through prior to the meeting. I believe if I showed interest in buying they would have made me believe they were refunding money which could be used within the deal. I understand this is their business, but be transparent in your intentions with your customers. I've stayed at several Westgate Resort locations across the country, this location pales in comparison and in my opinion.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our staff strives to be attentive & give great service and we're delighted to see that you experienced that. Our staff is there to assist you in any way they can and we are happy they were able to accommodate your needs. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will stop by again and stay with us. Josie
2 out of 5
by Ron from los angeles

Good location but that's about it

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Location, it had a store attached
Cons: Cleanliness, service, room condition, plumbing
Location: Miami is great!!!!
Great location, beach access. Small elevator I got stuck in twice. My room was on 2nd floor right next to a noisy air duct that ran 24 hours a day. Room was ok at first glance. Nice jacuzzi tub in corner of master suite. Unfortunately there was no hot water so it was no use to me. I read a previous review complaining about the water temp in the shower being scalding hot or ice cold. I guess the people at this resort did not read it because this was exactly the case. Called the front desk, they sent maintenance up, but there was no change. Room was only serviced twice in 5 days and the first time they did not empty the garbage in the bathroom which was full. The topper was as I was packing to check out I saw a bed bug in the bed that I had been sleeping in.