Ratings based on 575 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tomasz from Poland

Great staff and excellent conditions!

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Staff and rooms - based on available prices - amazing. Great pool, beautiful patio.
Location: Many restaurants, beautiful surroundings (nice city quarter) but quite far from the center of the city.
We, the family of 5, neded a hotel for 1 night on our way from Key West to Tampa. We were delighted with very helpful personnel, high quality of rooms and the pool. Restaurant in the hotel was very good and with reasonable prices.
1 out of 5
by Jill from Chicago

Awful!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Not a thing.
Cons: Service, accomodations.
Location: Far from downtown. Golf is right there.
My husband and I were traveling with out two 8 year old sons. They put 4 of us in a room with one king bed. They were sold out, so they could not move us. We made our reservations months in advance, but still were told they couldn't move us. They would not refund our money, so we literally had no other choice. We got no sleep needless to say. The walls and doors are paper thin, so we could hear everything (not that we were able to sleep anyway)! There was not a couch or sofa to sleep on, so it was one room, with one bed for 4 people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from G

Nice and clean

Posted Mar 9, 2014
I made reservations for my sister coming from Canada for 2 double bed and a sleeper couch and they end up getting a king bed and a sleeper couch so the family of 4 end up sleeping in the king bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kenney from Miami,FL

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Location: Mostly everything is within a few mile radius- Pollo tropical, Olive Garden, Wells Fargo, Burger King etc.
Hotel was very nice, it was our first time at the Shula's resort. Finding our room was very difficult if you're not familiar with the area. They should put more security officers to help people find their room. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. We had a minor problems with our room, it was quickly handled by management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from Bradenton FL

Nice hotel...loved main street.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Beds were so comfy.
Cons: Hallway noise.
Location: Loved dining at Shula's Steakhouse!!!
Loved everything about it except rooms are quite noisy from hallway noises.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to golf.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: The connecting Main Street Community
Cons: Internal Decor of the rooms.
Location: Main Street gives a relaxed laid back feel with most of the necessary amenities nearby.
The rooms were clean and tidy the hotel staff provided courteous and receptive information and assistance and the property was beautiful.
3 out of 5
by Sach from Kansas

Not What You Expect

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Clean and close to shops and restaurants.
Cons: The actual description of what this hotel is.
Location: Close to some shops and restaurants
When booking this hotel, our expectation from the pictures and description was that this hotel was at the Don Shula resort and the reality is it is not. It is almost a mile away from the golf course and also the country club facilities. It's an older hotel with not much of a view or the amenities that you think you will get. Also, when we booked it, we were supposed to get a $25 dining certificate which made the price more reasonable. However, when we checked in, we got a certificate that was only good if you spent $100 or more, which again is very misleading (luckily Expedia fixed that for us). The hotel is OK otherwise and the room was clean and comfortable. Walking distance to Miami Lakes shopping and restaurants, which was nice. Because we were expecting something different from what we got, this hotel gets a lower rating. They really should not be showing the golf course pictures and other amenities that are actually not a part of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from Miami, FL

Quiet Weekend

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: The beds were nice and plush. Very clean.
Location: Walking distance to restaurants and movies.
We live in the area, but just wanted to have a lazy, relaxing weekend of nothingness. Checking in was easy, though we had to wait a while for them to prepare our room. The hotel is near lots to do and it was quiet. Exactly what we wanted.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Hotel needs updating in their rooms!

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Nice staff but room was old and the furniture in terrible shape. Good location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

THEY OVERBOOK AND YOU WILL NOT GET ROOM

Posted Jan 28, 2014
I had a confirmed booking though expedia. I had called and told them that I will be checking in late. When I reached the hotel, there were 2 guests in from of me trying to get a room and the hotel said they did not have any rooms as they were sold out. They took my info. After that I waited 1 and half hour, till they could service me.After 2 hours at 2 am night I , my wife and 10 months old baby were told to go to a hotel 20 miles as they did not have any rooms. We drove that hotel and on checking in their, I was told that I have to leave at 12pm ( standard check out ), as they were full the next day. I told them I had booked for 2 nights in Shula and i should be staying for 2 night. The front desk at the other hotel ( which was a definitely a lower star), told me that shula had only paid for my 1 night stay. I called up Shula hotel and they said they will get back regarding the same. At 3:30 at night, they informed me that I could stay there for only 1 night and to call up Shula hotel in the morning. In the morning, I called them up, but the front desk had no idea about what happened last night. I explained the situation and she said they will call back ASAP. After half hour, I had still not heard back , so I called back as needed to know where I would be staying.She said they would call me back. Eventualy, they did call me back saying they would have room ready for me at 12:30pm. So, I had to repack everything and drive 20 minutes to get to Shula and check in.