Ratings based on 722 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lewes, De

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Had a fine stay, would have been better if pool had been available during our 4 night stay, booked through expedia so hotel would not take off anything on room rate when I told them my kids were not able to use the pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice staff, but location far

Posted Jan 10, 2015
The hotel is very lovely, but we didnt expect it to be so far from miami. You need to pass by some very ghetto neighbourhoods before getting there. Staff is super welcoming and nice. Also try out the french bakery next to it! Perfect croissants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Hotel is a bit old. The room is clean and big, we especially like the hard wood floor.
We stayed one night, the neighborhood is nice and there were lots of shops around.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom iowa

hotel did not honor Expdia reservation not helpful

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Get new reservation system and train front desk to be helpful.
Front desk advised hotel full. Would not recommend orhelp get reservation at another hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Dusty.

Posted Jan 1, 2015
I stayed at Don Shula for a wee for the christmas holidays and was very disappointed. I have stayed in hotels before and if the room I stayed in is considered top of the line well the owner need to take a trip to see and know what top of the line is.. the lanai room we stayed in was very dusty, toilet in the upper bathroom was clogged, had to use the half bath so drinking water at night was not recommended. No microwave, 3.95 for bottled water, no pool, no room service, lazy house keepers, trash left after the so called cleaning. I'm sorry but I won't be back. I rather rent a car, stay somewhere that can give me clean services than stay somewhere just because it's walking distances from shops and restaurants but every day I come back to the room I'm sneezing and can hardly sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Overrated and dirty

Posted Dec 30, 2014
The room was filthy, dust everywhere, paint chipping, broken towel holder. Paid for pool view, pool doesn't work and was empty and roped off. Check in at 3, showed up at 4, still had to wait 45 minutes. Hotel shuttle available, but took over 2 hours to pick us up from the golf course. They asked for us to call 30 mins early, we did and still took forever. Air conditioner wouldn't work on auto so it was either hot or freezing. Save your money and go somewhere else.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Flooded bathroom

Posted Dec 29, 2014
The shower stall was about 2 inches higher than the rest of the floor with a thin metal track that was probably supposed to be for a sliding glass door. However, this shower had a curtain that didn't reach the floor. After my wife's shower there was about 1/2 an inch of water standing in the bathroom and running on to the wood floor in the main room (which I slipped on). When I called the front desk and explained the flooding problem their solution was to send a maid with more towels. She didn't offer to clean up the mess, just handed me the towels even after I showed her the problem. Now with that much water after one shower there is no way management was unaware of the problem. When I brought that to the manager's attention he said they had "only had a few complaints". I'm sorry but to me, when there is a safety hazard known to management it is unacceptable to not fix the problem and continue to subject guests to substandard conditions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel , especially for sport fans!

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Hotel is in a very nice environment , loved the location and scenery. Extremely disappointed in Shula's 2 restaurant staff. Both breakfast and dinner staff were below average. We waited a very long time for service , and they were not personable at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

never stay here

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: leaving
Cons: change managment
the whole experience was terrible, management gave us one week notice of impending later arrival checkin due to there allowance of a group who would checkout late?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Andalusia, Alabama

Above average Hotel... but not worth the full rate

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Location... Location... Location.... It is near some very nice shops and the area is beautiful.
Cons: Better TV... local channels unavailable. Need more comfortable seating.
Location: Excellent.
Very uncomfortable seats in room. No couch... desk chair is umcomfortable. Room is big and just needs something else.... it is pretty plain. Bedside lamp did not work and for most of the stay there was no local TV channels available.