Ratings based on 6,731 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami.

Everyone is in lobby because they charge for WiFi

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Very elegant hotel, but the lobby is always full with people because they charge for WiFi in the rooms.,.We had four people in our room and they would only give us three towels even after we called housekeeping for more.One of the towels had visible dirt on it.I have been to less expensive hotels which give you free Wifi and plenty of towels.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nrw

Man zahlt für den Namen

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Frühstück 34€ für Brötchen mit Käse, Marmelade oder cream cheese. Bier in der Hôtel bar 14€ WLAN im Zimmer 15€ pro Tag Keine Raucher zimmer!!! Abgesehen das es übertrieben teuer ist, war es dennoch schön dort..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the location; we prefer the Towers.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Love the location and the lobby is fantastic.
Cons: The Tower breakfast.
Location: Fifth Avenue, Lexington subway line, mid-island, Central Park
From check-in to check-out all good. Attentive staff, suite clean, Tower breakfast could be expanded, public areas beautifl.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Trading only on reputation

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: It's history
Cons: Everything
Over the last 30 years I have stayed in literally thousands of hotels around the world, from the cheapest of guest houses in India to the finest resorts in Europe. As great a city as it is, hotels in New York have been high on price and low on service for quite some time, nonetheless I was genuinely looking forward to staying at the Waldorf Astoria for the first time. The expedia price was not much more than regular hotel prices so I thought why not. The reality of why not - is the staff are tip starving but service lackadaisical, and while the foyer is grand old style my room had a rotting bathroom, peeling wall paper and was as tired as they come. Worse still is I checked in late and had my bags sent up - large tip required - so didn't enter the room until I was ready to sleep. I unpacked got into bed and then realized all I was going to hear was the elevator all night. It was like trying to sleep on the subway platform with a train rattling past every minute. I phoned to complain - no one answered. I phoned to complain again later and they made some half-heated apology but it was the middle of the night by then. I left exhausted and disgruntled the next morning. I will never return, I suggest to other travelers pop in for an overpriced drink but do not stay here until it has been taken over and fully refurbished. Sad to report in such a negative fashion on what should be one of the world's great locations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom glasgow

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Central for all the places to visit
Cons: Breakfast some fried eggs
Location: Locations great next door to Rockefeller building grand central station empire state building and central park and not far from time square
Had a fabulous time in new york done the tours ice skated in central park walked across Brooklyn's bridge came home knackered
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami,fl

Very central hotel in Manhattan

Posted Mar 24, 2015
The staff was vet helpful and serviceable. The rooms were very spacious. To eat at the hotel is pricey $$$ but very good quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding our high-quality offerings, True Waldorf Service, and spacious room accommodations! It is certainly a great reward to read such praising feedback from our valued guests, and we hope for the opportunity to host you again in the near future to create more unforgettable Waldorf moments. Yours in service, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas. Texas

Classic elegant experience

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Fell in love with NYC in part bc we stayed at The Waldorf Astoria.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Tammy, Thank you for your lovely review of the Waldorf Astoria! New York is a special destination and our goal is to be the best part of the trip. I am so glad that this held true in your case. We are so pleased to read that your expectations for a luxury experience at the Waldorf Astoria were met and exceeded, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. My best, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario Canada

Expected better

Posted Mar 23, 2015
This hotels extravagance is all in the main areas. We booked a Luxury King Suite and it was not so luxurious but still very nice. The bed wasn't uncomfortable but nothing of note. Room service forgot some of our order but did bring it up later. Rooms are very pricey but we expected that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Jamie, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is truly important to us because it helps us to realize both our strengths and weaknesses from our guests' point of view. I sincerely appreciate your feedback, and I hope you will consider staying with us again so we may better meet and exceed your expectations in the future. Warm regards, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delaware

Beautiful hotel Beautiful hot

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Amazing hotel. We have been staying here for 10 years almost annually. Took our son for his 7 th birthday. Gracious staff all around. We will be back many years to come
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Michele, Thank you for your continued patronage of the Waldorf, and for coming to visit us for your son's special birthday experience! We find so many of our clients have a personal Waldorf story and it was nice to read your anecdote. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours in service, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Classic Icon of a bygone era. Gracious living and a great escape from the course side of American culture For those who love gracious living this is your hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful 5-star review. Historic sophistication and modern luxuries are uniquely part of the same compelling experience at the Waldorf Astoria. I am pleased to read that this was your impression! The next time you are planning a visit to New York City, we hope the Waldorf Astoria will be a front of mind choice! Thank you, David O' Keeffe Rooms Division Manager