Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by tom from new delhi

Regrettable stay

Posted Oct 27, 2013
This is a heritage property that has been converted into a hotel. Some 15th century castle... The team running the property does not seem to be from the hospitality industry the rooms are disproportionate in size. Property shud be handed over to some professional chain for better guest handling... Bad commitments and customer handling
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jan from Leeds

Beautiful Location

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: The building and gardens
Location: Close to Milan and Motorway network
An absolutely wonderful hotel steeped in history and fantastic gardens. Like stepping back into a bygone era. Every room is different...wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Yorkshire Tiger from Beverley

Beautiful Itallian Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The building and its surroundings were superb and five star, but be prepared for one or two unusual things such as; rock hard bread rolls served with dinner, Reception reserving the wrong restaurant, there being no hair conditioner anywhere in the hotel (albeit lots of shampoo!), the breakfast restaurant not opening until 7am, although the freshly printed literature in the room quoted 6.30 am (which would have been perfect for our early morning departure). All in all the overall experience was well worth it though for the ambience of the building and its surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tyler from Virginia

Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: The view, the rooms, the restaurant...all of it.
Cons: It could be closer to the center of Milan, but the train station isn't to far a walk...definitely worth it.
Location: There isn't a whole lot nearby, it's tucked away in the middle of a neighborhood. But like I said the train station isn't to far a walk, maybe 2km.
I've stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world. This is the coolest hotel I've ever seen or stayed in. There were only a few guests besides myself, so it was almost like I had the whole estate to myself. It is seriously like staying in a castle, and for the same price of a normal hotel anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A. from USA

Old villa outside of Milan

Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good and not so good: stayed at the Villa for 3 nights, attracted by romantic look of the building and gorgeous green park. The outside look did not disappoint!! We had a car, so location far away from center was not an obstacle. Staff at the reception desk spoke some English, were nice and helpful, we were given an upgraded room, looking out at the park, airconditioned, with ceiling about 7 meters high. Comfortable bed, spacious bathroom with the tub and shower head on the hose, (no curtain, however, so taking shower presented a challenge of keeping water from splashing around). Breakfast was rather modest, but did have most typical European celections. The room was clean, but hotel's numerous halls and stairs are asking for some makeover, faded runners on the floor feel dusty and old, rather disattractive, and some cosmetic refreshing seems to be due. Do not expect typical 5 star hotels' feel, but let's be fair, the rates per night are not typical 5 star either. Warning: the hotel apparently hosts a lot of receptions, and you might have loud music under your window till midnight. Beware of food prices too! Beautiful Villa otherwise, with some excentric perks, we enjoyed staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by India B. from LA

Perfect antique Hotel 15 minutes from Milan

Posted Jun 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff was very nice, rooms were well appointed, hotel was beautiful, food is great, grounds are lovely and romantic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2013
It is maximum 3 stars hotel, not 5 stars!!! Very old furniture and window in the room, tile cold floor (and no sneakers - very inconvenient!). Not good location - it takes about one hour by taxi (roughly 60 Euro) to get Milan downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Romantic setting GRAND Castle

Posted Mar 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
I will go back, even after the original suite assigned to me had some "Hot Water" issue for the shower. The staff was very gratious changed my suite and was very pleasant about. A fairy tell castle where even the humblest room would be a good size suite everywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo - Impressive Hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great value for money, a real special one-off hotel that makes you feel like a king! Very large rooms, modern conveniences with the charm of an old mansion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

hotel san borremeo

Posted Sep 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
Lovely grounds and buildings however we had assumed that shuttle service would be available to Milan center and that it would be free since no cost was mentioned in hotel description. It was expensive to take cabs to and from city and finally to MXP.