Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Encountered one problem, went to take a shower and the hot water would not turn on. My husband went to the desk to see if we could possibly get a key to take a shower in another room. Initially was having difficult time finding someone, it was 5 am. When he did, the staff member told him he would have to wait until maintenance could fix it. After explaining that we were there for the track and field state championship meet at Penn State University, the staff provided us with a key to a room that was located near the one we were in. Inconvenient -yes. But all ended well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place in a pinch

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Location is close to the lake that I often fish.
Cons: HVAC - all the units sound like a diesel truck running in your room. It's also hard to adjust the temp as it is either too hot or too cold.
Location: Not much in the immediate area except Foster Sayre Lake.
I stay here often and the hotel is consistently OK...not bad and not great. It looks like it was built in the mid 70's and still kind of has that vibe to it. It's a little noisy especially when there is a wrestling tournament happening in State College and all the kids stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Three Star rating not Warranted

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The staff was very nice.
Cons: The interior of the hotel needs a total renovation.
Location: I stayed at the hotel to attend an event at Penn State 15 miles away. There is nothing to do in this area.
The only positive about the hotel was the staff. They were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was terrible. The 1st floor hallway leading to my room was dimly lit and the carpet was stained throughout. The entry wall to the lounge looked as if someone had kicked the drywall in at the bottom. The room made my skin crawl. Both chairs were covered with stains. There were stains on the walls as well. One stain splatter on the wall was red. I don’t know what it was from. I slept on top of the bed with my clothes on. When I returned home I immediately washed all of my clothes in hot water fearing that I might be bringing bugs from the hotel into my house. I would have checked out of the hotel immediately if there were any rooms available elsewhere. There was a large Saint Patrick’s Day celebration taking place in the area and all hotels were booked. The hotel is in desperate need of a total interior renovation. If you value your personal hygiene, avoid this facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible location.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
This place on Expedia advertises 12 miles from Penn. It is more than that and locates in the middle of a truck rest spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

THON weekend @ PSU

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The rates should stay somewhat the same. We booked for graduation in May at 5 times the rate we paid for THON weekend.
Location: N/A
Drove to State College in a snow storm to support our son for the 46 hr THON marathon. Decided to stay over, on our drive, due to weather conditions. Booked this hotel with Expedia. Couldn't have been happier. Clean comfortable rooms, nice lounge to get a drink, great breakfast and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Thank-you all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Place for Family, Can't Beat the Price

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Clean. Felt safe even near truck stop.
Cons: Maybe a little updating.
Accommodations were great for a family. Friendly staff and a clean pool and hot tub area. Breakfast was good, many options to choose from. Close to Penn State. Stayed two nights, no complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pa

College visit Penn state game

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Breakfast was not very good the rest was fine as far as being clean.The 2nd night they only made one bed up &never made the 2nd bed& the room was cleaned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good for PSU game

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: the toiletries are good choices. Breakfast choices are plentiful.
Cons: water pressure was not consistent. towels seem old or not too absorbent. decaf tea perhaps????
Location: PSU is about a 30 minute ride.
A nice enough roof. Seems to have improvements from the 2013 stay (carpets, redone breakfast room). The lounge is very lacking if you wanted to go to get an adult beverage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin, NJ

Nice, well worth the price

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Convenient, close to Penn State at a fraction of the cost
Cons: Could use a little sprucing up.
Location: Penn State
Perfect for a weekend at Penn State. Hotel is close to State College and at a fraction of the cost.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom voluntown ct

old and no regard for upkeep....

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: nothing.
Cons: maintain the place.
Location: nothing but a truck stop next store.
stinky. outdated. pool area and spa full of bugs. it is obvious that little to no care of the facility exists. will not stay again...