Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Historic Ambience.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Overall it was pleasant. There's an old school historic charm to the facility. Only fault is the walls are thin and you can hear almost everything. Luckily there were no noisey tenants. Nice restaurant bar. Quaint and charming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel, close to the lake and Brady St.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: It was close to many interesting locations.
Cons: Parking should be free
Location: Walk by the lake, visit several museums, dine and drinks.
I only spent one night at this hotel, so my experience was pleasant and I was comfortable. We were able to walk to many central locations like the lake, museums and eat/drink at Brady St.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old, Rustic Hotel with Character

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The Astor was an old, but well maintained hotel. Everything works.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for downtown fun.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
No complaints - the hotel is old, but it's comfortable, has a great location and is a classic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eau claire, wi

It was a pleasant stay, and the staff was helpful.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: It was clean and had a welcoming ambience. The staff was helpful and friendly. Check-in and out were easily accommodated.
Cons: As I said, the satellite tv was not working, despite staff efforts to correct it. We were charged an extra ten dollars for using the hotel parking lo
Location: The location to downtown was convenient and within easy walking distance of many establishments.
We'll stay here again, but the tv didn't get any reception for two says. The breakfast was tasty, but the help was short-handed and the only meal offered was breakfast, despite having a full service kitchen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Looks like a rat motel will never go any where near this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

2nd time

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Great stay except for shower, when room next door use water my shower water became ice cold or scalding hot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, not a restful place

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: A/C, tub drain, room towels (not enough), overall cleanliness.
Although the hotel was close to many things, are experience was below-average at best. Issues with noise (thin walls), very loud A/C (window unit) and a bath tub that would not drain. We were only there a few nights and we went on short notice. I would not recommend this to any other travelers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location, but could use someTLC

Posted Jun 2, 2014
I chose this hotel for the location and price. I read reviews, which were mixed, but just wanted a close place to crash after a night of dinner, dancing and a few drinks. It is a great location, within walking distance to the river district. The hotel could be spectacular if given a little more TLC. It has great vintage detailing and charm, that should be preserved, but needs some repairs. At arrival, we were "upgraded" to the parlor room, which is basically a studio apartment, with full kitchen room, dining and living room etc. The space was nice, but the kitchen floor was peeling and the bathtub too. the carpet could have also used a good cleaning or replacement. I would love to see the owners preserve the vintage charm, like the baby blue tile in the bathroom, the stained glass in the lobby, the old mail slot sysem, the strange door, but make the repairs necessary to keep this piece of history up to date. It has so much potential, but is lacking the love. The staff was wonderful, the place was clean and the room was spacious.
2 out of 5
by Marta from San Rafael

Great location, outdated building

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need to be painted, facilities updated, new bedding, mattresses changed, new carpet installed, doors need a new coat of polish, etc.,
Location: Art museum, Jewish museum, children museum, Discovery world, lake Michigan, park, beautiful neighborhood. A very nice supermarket store 2 blocks down.
The hotel is located in the downtown near the lake Michigan and is in a walking distance from many attractions. However, the hotel itself is in a dire need of renovation. Beside the televisions, that are newish, everything looks pretty old and outdated.The bathrooms are tiny, there is no counter space to put anything out. The bathtub had repair patches and looked pretty bad. The carpet and chairs had a lot of stains. There was a duvet over the blanket but the blanket was very uncomfortable and all clumpy. The mattress was old and very uncomfortable. We couldn't have breakfast in the hotel's restaurant because the dining room was freezing, the air condition was on full blast, and the waitress told us that she couldn't turn it down. (It was not a hot day) To sum up I would say that the hotel needs to have a major renovation. I would not use it for my future stays and would not recommend it. It has a great potential of combining an old world charm with modern comfort but now it's just old.