Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Menomonie

Business traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
For the price of it, it's what you get. The room is small but doable for a night of stay. The room features need upgrade, bed was uncomfortable, and only has two pillows for each bed. There was no frig and microwave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to be cleaned up. Shower was in bad shape.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: The motels around it were nicer.
It needs updating. Also it needs cleaned up. It I old. I wouldn't take a shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay. We are committed to delivering the the highest level of service to our guests, your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal. Thank you very much for your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Hospitality
The hospitality was excellent; the breakfast/food was good and plenty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
It was nice to hear such a wonderful comment about our Hotel. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. We know you have a choice when you travel and appreciate you choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive motel with poor service

Posted May 19, 2014
Cons: They need an elevator if they are going to book people for the 2nd floor.
We received a room on the 2nd floor since we had a late arrival. The problem was that they had no elevator and did not have staff to assist us. Our suitcases were 50# each. Our ages are 70 and 80 years old. We don't have major disabilities but to pull the cases up the steep stairs was an effort. It should be noted on their site that there is no elevator. We may have missed that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. I sincerely apologize for the very unfortunate incident you experienced at our Hotel. Your review is important to us as it helps us to identify problems and take corrective measures. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the positive experiences of our guests and your valuable feedback will assist us to correct our deficiencies. We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a very insightful review. Thank you very much for your business.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude when checking in..

Posted May 12, 2014
Impossible to find steps..lobby..or entry ways ..from outside..lost every time. Screaming from other rooms..breakfast a joke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.Thank you!
2 out of 5
by LM from Long Beach, CA

Not a 2 star- 1.5 at best

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: EVERYTHING. Needs to be revamped from top to bottom
I'll definitely be upping my minimum standards if this is a 2 star hotel. It's an old run down property. Floor in my 2nd floor room felt unstable, shook the TV case every time I walked near it. Same in the bathroom. The shower needs instructions so you don't end up with a floor full of water.(learned that the hard way) The bathroom mirror had some type of worn pattern on it that rendered it all but useless. My last "2 star" stay for sure
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Please know at any time you may approach our staff during your stay if issues do arise and we will do everything we can to quickly solve any issue to your satisfaction. We sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future. We hope you will choose our Hotel again. We look forward to your next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent for the price

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Carpet in the room needed vacuumed. Pillows were flat and small. Breakfast was small, consisted of cereal, toast, and fruit with coffee and juice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We wish to let you know that your voice is of utmost importance to us. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the positive experiences of our guests and your valuable feedback will assist us to correct our deficiencies. We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a very insightful review. Thank you very much for your business.
2 out of 5
by Austin Powers from Indiana

Under reconstruction, inadequate parking.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Continental breakfast is a bad joke! Stale, barely edible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
It's so sad to hear you did not like the breakfast at all. I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Robert from Milwaukee, Wi.

Decent hotel near the airport in Milwaukee.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The nearness to the airport, the rate and the room except for the bathroom.
Cons: Handicap bars added to the bathroom for the toilet.
Location: N/A
Was pleased to be able to leave my vehicle there for my trip for a nominal charge. The room was comfortable. But I had asked for a room with a handicap bathroom. There were only grab bars in the shower not by the toilet. That made it difficult to use the toilet. The driver for the airport shuttle was very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the positive experiences of our guests and your valuable feedback will assist us to correct our deficiencies. We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a very insightful review. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future. We look forward to serving you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok but not quiet.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Hotel ok but people upstairs running around all night. Hard to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
I am so sad to hear that you didn't get to have enough sleep while staying at our Hotel. Rest assured the comments you made will be addressed in order for us to improve our services, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again. Your feedback helps to to improve our quality of service, thank you.