Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Econo Lodge - Milwaukee Airport

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See Above
Location: Very limited restaurant choices.
Disappointing experience - air conditioner did not work in the room - 3 calls to the manager and he finally moved us to another room. I'm not familiar with Milwaukee - usually there are all kinds of places to eat in the area the hotel is in, but this was not the case. There was ONE within 1/2 mile so we drove in all four directions, finally finding an Applebee's several miles away. No knowing the city, or the area I was in, I did not feel comfortable / safe. The breakfast bar was not very well stocked, and rather messy. I could see that this location had been there quite a while, and it needs a good "face lift" - paint, carpet, linens.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Miss Lynne, I am sorry that your request to transfer to another room was not immediately addressed I am sure they were just preparing the other room for your to transfer. It is sad that you had difficulty finding your way around Milwaukee, please ask for assistance from our staff on your next stay. I will accelerate your concern about the breakfast selection. I assure you that this will be evaluated and addressed accordingly as we want our guests to be completely satisfied during your stay. Thank you for your business. We hope to serve you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monroe, WI

stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Not much! The hotel is old. There are stains on the carpets. There is a smell of cigarette when you enter the hotel from the side entrances.
Cons: The entire hotel. If you stay on the first floor expect to here the people on the second floor walking around. The courtesy of the front desk staff!
Location: It is located in an industrial area. There are many fast food places in the area. It is about 2 miles from the airport.
I called the hotel to see if they offered a 24 hour shuttle to the airport and if it cost anything extra to leave the car there while I was gone. I was told by the Indian working the front desk that they did have a 24 hour shuttle and there was no cost to leave the car there while I was gone. When I checked in on the 28th of July the same man told me that because I had booked the room on Expedia rather than on the hotel sight or with him over the phone, the free cost for parking there over the time I was away was forfeit and I would have to pay $5 per night. I tried to tell him of the conversation we had had over the phone and that he didn't mention that I needed to book with Econolodge directly he would have nothing of it and basically said I was making it up! Thus, a room that I got on Expedia for a great price ended up costing me twice the cost. As for the room, it was clean and met our needs for the 7 hours we were there. Also, according to the Indian the nightly shuttle only runs every half hour. It also isn't run by Econolodge, but by the airport in Milwaukee. We didn't get the breakfast although I was told there would be something when we left! Also no newspaper!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am so sorry for the misunderstanding regarding the parking issue and the inconvenience that you experienced due to this issue. I believe it has been fully explained to you by our Indian manager already. We value your opinion and suggestions for improvement as these comments help us to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. Your feedback will help us to grow and evolve and I thank you again for taking the time to write an insightful review and to point out areas in need of improvement. We hope you'll return someday to see how we have addressed and improved upon these issues of convenience and hospitality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel very near airport

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Close to airport
Cons: Cleanliness
Hallways and rooms dirty, hotel staff very unfriendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. Your review is important to us as it helps us to identify problems and take corrective measures. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for your business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy Check-In and Out. Clean, Comfy Room

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Cons: Breakfast. Cereal tasted a little old.
Just needed a clean bed to stay in for one night before I flew out of MKE. Econolodge was a great value. I only paid $65 after taxes and got a clean, comfortable room. Staff was friendly and easy to talk to. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. It' s always a pleasure for us to give you a good value of your money. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future. We look forward to serving you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport and low price

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The price, the location, and the bathroom was recently redone.
Cons: All of the linens were old and not as clean as they should be. If they were replaced more often, it would have made a lot of difference.
Overall it was a fine experience for what we paid for. Although we were under the impression that there was free parking while we were on our trip, which there was NOT. There is a free shuttle but you have to pay for each day that your car is in their lot, which does not seem very safe at all. The upside to the hotel was the location, only minutes from the airport and from car drop-off locations, which is what we ended up using.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. It sounds perfect that the location worked best for you. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are committed to delivering the the highest level of service to our guests, your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal. We hope you will choose our Hotel again. We look forward to your next stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Menomonie

Business traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
For the price of it, it's what you get. The room is small but doable for a night of stay. The room features need upgrade, bed was uncomfortable, and only has two pillows for each bed. There was no frig and microwave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. Your review is important to us as it helps us to identify problems and take corrective measures. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the positive experiences of our guests and your valuable feedback will assist us to correct our deficiencies. We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a very insightful review. Thank you very much for your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to be cleaned up. Shower was in bad shape.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: The motels around it were nicer.
It needs updating. Also it needs cleaned up. It I old. I wouldn't take a shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay. We are committed to delivering the the highest level of service to our guests, your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal. Thank you very much for your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Hospitality
The hospitality was excellent; the breakfast/food was good and plenty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It was nice to hear such a wonderful comment about our Hotel. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. We know you have a choice when you travel and appreciate you choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive motel with poor service

Posted May 19, 2014
Cons: They need an elevator if they are going to book people for the 2nd floor.
We received a room on the 2nd floor since we had a late arrival. The problem was that they had no elevator and did not have staff to assist us. Our suitcases were 50# each. Our ages are 70 and 80 years old. We don't have major disabilities but to pull the cases up the steep stairs was an effort. It should be noted on their site that there is no elevator. We may have missed that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. I sincerely apologize for the very unfortunate incident you experienced at our Hotel. Your review is important to us as it helps us to identify problems and take corrective measures. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the positive experiences of our guests and your valuable feedback will assist us to correct our deficiencies. We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a very insightful review. Thank you very much for your business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com