Ratings based on 901 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Underwhelmed

Posted Apr 28, 2015
I was there for an event and decided to stay overnight. I walked up to make a reservation and was told there were no rooms available. I had looked online prior to my attempt, there were rooms. I went across the street to my parked car and made the reservation online, then went back to check in. I wasn't comfortable at this point, wondering if it was an issue of race or social status. I was shocked by the room's appearance. The heating vents were ragged and dirty. The thermostat went to 80 degrees, but felt like 60. Thank goodness it was not below freezing that night. The bathtub looked incredibly dirty, but I think it was wear and tear. It should really be replaced. There were some positives. The valet attendants and room service staff were respectful and attentive. Awesome job! Although the bed wasn't very comfortable, the sheets appeared clean and there was enough linen to compensate for the lack of heat. Even though I didn't get to bed until late after the event, I was awake early. I was very ready to go home. Working with the event's committe, maybe I can persuade them to try another venue for next year's event, where the rooms are as amazing as the rest of the event space.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inconsistent service at dated property

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The location was excellent for the Bradley Center and downtown.
Cons: Hotel needs a facelift and staff should be better trained.
Location: Location was excellent. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Easy walk to the Bradley Center and Marquette University.
We had very inconsistent service at this property. Our check in was wonderful. The woman who helped us was initially fairly aloof but warmed up as we spoke to her. Once in the room, we were disappointed. One of the rooms had a sitting area separated from the sleeping area but everything was very condensed and very worn. The closet and bathroom are really small, as is the sleeping area. There really isn't room to unpack or place your bags. The other room we got was much larger, with two beds. There was no sitting area. To us, this room was a better choice but was still plagued by small closet, minimal drawers and small bathroom. After check in, our contact with the desk personnel was very disappointing. We found the staff to be very unhelpful and very rude. They are not well trained and do not know how to properly address guest concerns. While what they say may be correct, the delivery is very rude and dismissive. The gentleman on the evening shift, however, couldn't have been more pleasant or more helpful. Wish they could have had more staff like him The bartenders in the lobby area work very hard and are generally extremely friendly. The waitresses, however, are not as impressive and service was spotty. We found it was much better to go to the bar to get our own drinks and/or place food orders rather than wait around to see if someone was going to come to the tables to take orders. This was true whether it was afternoon or evening.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Appleton, wi

11 Emergency Evacuations Alarm in one night

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: Downtown
11 Emergency Evacuations Alarms in one night starting at 330am. Every 20 minutes, upon check out the desk worker thought it was humorous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by MarkRFOM, Hotel Management
Hello, I would like to sincerely apologize for the malfunctioning fire alarm system during your stay. The circumstances of this malfunction were very untimely and I regret the negative impact it had on your stay. I am taken back that one of my staff members found this situation humorous and I can assure you I will be looking into the service provided thoroughly. Thank You, Mark Rybicki Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Not worth the money

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Easy access to downtown and Marcus center. The staff was also pleasant and friendly.
Cons: - Desk could be repaired - Stains can be removed - Shower curtains can be installed properly - Fix elevators, fix stains on hotel couches
Location: Marcus center is right across the street.
The room was subpar for the amount of stars and money it cost to stay there. (Room 510) - The bathtub was worn - the porcelain had rubbed off and there were black spots near the drain - The bathtub's inner shower curtain would not stay on the outer shower curtain - the buttons didn't work - The side of the desk was ripped off - Easily seen stains on the wall - Had to ask for a fridge to be brought up to the room - Downstairs lounge had couches with stains all over them - One elevator was closed due to maintenance
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Excellent view and location, hotel needs repair

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed, wonderful view, convenient location, full desk, luxury toiletries
Cons: Serious repair needed for scratches in hallways and rooms and worn carpets, cracked tub/shower, explanation of extra charges
Location: Right on the river in the heart of downtown across from MSOE and a short walk to other schools, restaurants, museums. Near enough to Miller Park.
Despite being a 4-star hotel with a wonderful view of Milwaukee, conveniently located downtown, I expected much more. The hallways were severely scratched, the decor in my bathroom was stained with water damage, and the tub/shower itself seemed ancient and cracked with stains. There were scratches in my room and the carpet was worn. The bed was relaxing, at least. The staff were pleasant and friendly, but parking cost more than advertised in the hotel details and I had two extra charges that couldn't be explained. Even though they were small amounts I still can't get a refund. I'd stay here again, if other similar properties nearby weren't less expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: It's terrific location for attending performances at The Rep. Being in walking distance to the Third Ward and the Public Museum. Excellent restauran
Cons: The housekeeping schedule should be based on how long guests stay. Two nights or more, room should be cleaned in the morning.
My husband and I stayed two nights. Our room was terrific! Great view and very comfortable! The staff was very friendly and helpful! We have one, only one, complaint........when we left for breakfast, the cleaning staff was in the hall and it looked like our room would be done soon. But, when we returned from breakfast our room hadn't been cleaned yet. We left again, this time to go to the Milwaukee Public Museum, (we were gone for hours, returning at 3pm), our room still hadn't been cleaned or restocked. I was napping, my husband watching TV, when housekeeping started knocking at our door! Why so late? We told them to forget it, just leave us some towels. Because of this unfortunate situation, our garbage cans were overflowing. We always tip the housekeeping staff, but did not this time. We will be back and this time we will request that housekeeping visits early in the A.M.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom besesemer mi

neil diamond concert

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: rooms and happy hour
Cons: it would be nice if the hotel had a pool
Location: stores and shops are in walking distance
very clean hotel. staff was excellent and very friendly.happy hour was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Amber , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your recent stay at The InterContinental Milwaukee. I hope you enjoyed the concert! Thank you for your kind words about the staff, I'll be sure to share this with them. Hope to see you soon! Best, Amber E Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom k

Very nice hotel convenient location

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Great service . Enjoyable lounge bar (shout out to Brenna our waitress Friday evening). Quiet. Very classy hotel b
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Amber E, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your recent stay and kind words. I'll be sure to share this with Breanna! Hope to see you soon. Best, Amber E Front Office Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago, il

Nice hotel close to everyhjng

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The room itself seemed a little out dated; especially the bathroom area. The hallways also looked like the house keeping cart leavings scratches along the walls, which took away from the overall classy appearance of staying at an intercontinental. The hotels location was superb. We also had room service which was delivered quickly and accurately.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by Amber E, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your recent stay with us, and sharing your feedback! Good news about the bathrooms, we are updating most of the bathtubs over the next few months! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our location and room service. I'll pass this along to our Food & Beverage team! Hope to see you soon! Best, Amber E Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom zaragoza

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Hotel agradable, buena situación, limpio, buen trato