Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rockford IL

Great Staff, Hotel Needs some Attention

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The staff was awesome
Cons: Rooms need to be updated.
Location: Very nice neighborhood on either direction of the hotel. Great shopping within a miles drive.
Hotel staff was great. The hotel was clean, the pool was foggy, our room had issues. Heating and Cooling system. Single phase unit depending on the time of year dictated if you had head or air conditioning coming out of the vents. You could not change to cooling if the room was hot. The sleep number bed had issued. Deflated and inflated all night long. Got up in the morning with a very sore back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK TO STAY

Posted Apr 6, 2015
THE HOTEL STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMMODATING. THERE WAS NO FRIDGE & MICROWAVE IN THE ROOM BUT THE STAFF PROVIDED ONE UPON REQUEST ASAP. BREAKFAST WAS GOOD BUT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF MEAT WAS INCLUDED.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Metro Detroit

Okay hotel for the price

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Cons: Update the carpeting, beds and furniture.
We came into town for a relative's birthday celebration and chose the Radisson for its convenient location to their home. We have stayed here in the past. Front desk check-in was very pleasant. Bobby gave us an upgrade. Room was spacious and clean. Sleep number bed didn't seem to work well. Not very comfortable, but I was tired so it sufficed. Toilet "ran" every time you flushed it, so you had to take the tank cover off and adjust. Room not very sound-proof. Lots of kids running up and down the hall way at 11 pm. (Why weren't they in bed?) This hotel seems to be the place to go with children who utilize the indoor pool early in the morning and throughout the day/evening. Rooms could be very nice if the Radisson would spend some money to refresh them with new carpet, beds and furniture.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not my first choice

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Location: Convenient, as it is directly off of I43
The staff was very nice. The hotel is older and you can feel the wear and tear.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room and hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
It was nice. I liked the whole atmosphere. I would recommend it to a friend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Theft

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
While staying at this location, someone got ahold of a master key and stole several things costing a few thousand dollars from my room while I was out at dinner. There were several other rooms that someone broke into this night as well. I was reimbursed for none of my belongings. My phone calls regarding this situation were never returned. I was very disappointed as I have stayed here often.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have contacted our insurance company and we are unfortunately not liable for her lost or stolen items per the WI state statute and our insurance carrier. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

will stay often

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Everything was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

When you open the door to your room . . .

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: No!
Cons: It needs an overhaul.
Location: Stayed here because it was so close to many great shopping and dining venues.
Check in went well. Walked to the very back of the facility to find ,when we opened the door to our room, a terrible odor of mildew or tobacco smacked us in the face. The carpet was so soiled we kept our shoes on unless we were in bed ! The bathroom was clean and well stocked , the bed was well made,but one of the pillowcases had black marks all over it. Don't know if this room wasn't used for a long time or was being used by employees as a smoking hideaway ,but due to the disgusting smell ,filthy carpet and and dirty pillowcase, we will not be staying here again ever!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
We are very sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. The conditions of your room with be discussed with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards. We do appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.