Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Affordable

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Very average (you get what you pay for) stay. Staff was nice, room was clean but outdated and limited amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Appleton, WI

Adequate, but in serious need of updating!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The location was close to downtown.
Cons: Update everything inside this hotel, from the reception area to the rooms - especially the bathrooms.
Location: The location was the only thing I thought was desirable as far as this hotel was concerned. Within walking distance to many places downtown.
My husband & I went to Milwaukee for dinner and a Brewer Game on a Friday evening. The location of the Ramada is good, close to downtown, and there was plenty of parking. The beds were comfortable but the hotel and specifically the rooms are in dire need of updating. Although the room was clean, it had the appearance of being dirty. For example, the caulking in the bathroom was so old around the fixtures it looked dirty because there were rust stains on all the caulk around the sink, bathtub and toilet. The elevator was on the small side, with very old and worn paneling on the inside - but it did work. The employee checking us in was pleasant enough, but she had a very, very small area to work in. I was just very disappointed in the overall appearance and did not notice if there was even anywhere to get ice - there was not an ice bucket in our room so I would not be surprised if there was no ice machine available. I'm sorry, but I would rate this hotel with 2 stars at best. I'm glad we only stayed one night and I don't plan on going back unless they put money back into the hotel for renovations. We definitely paid too much money for the room, given the condition of the hotel. There really was nothing 'nice' about this hotel or the rooms, it was just an O.K. place to stay for the night. Truly disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Everything! Clean the place.. .
The hotel was disgusting The room smelled bad, the bathroom was dirty, the toilet paper roll was barely hanging on the wall. It was just gross.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Finance-friendly hotel close to downtown.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: replace the TV with a flat screen, and put in a better desk
Location: Other quality hotels were nearby, and the historic district was close, as was the main public library.
We had a wedding to attend and the guests were advised to stay at the Hilton. But it was exceptionally pricey. The Ramada was one block away, and easy to walk to even with my cane and new knee. We saved hundreds over the course of the weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you saved a lot of money and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Clean but Dated

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: the bed was comfortable enough
Cons: everything is dated -- none of the elevator lights actually worked on any kind of consistent basis and it overlooked the highway
Location: It is downtown and less than two miles from the fair grounds.
The hotel room was perfectly adequate but not worth the $150/night. The bathroom door wouldn't close, the carpet and furnishings were dated and the desk had no chair. Sure hope you weren't there for work. One morning the cleaning crew came by at 9:30 and when we asked them to come back later they couldn't be bothered. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean but it was poorly made and the sheets and mattress pads always had to be readjusted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards. We appreciate your comments as they motivate us to improve our hotel. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, falling apart, extremely dated

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Literally everything besides the location.
When we first got to the hotel, we realized that it hadn't been updated since the 80's, which as we came to found included EVERYTHING. The door to the bathroom had to be shoved shut, the carpet was gross, and we came to find that the air conditioning in our room didn't work IN THE MIDDLE OF AUGUST. The maintenance guy came and said there was nothing he could do about it until the morning so he brought in fans for us to use. He said it would be fixed the next day, but when we got back at 8pm nothing had been done. We went down to the front desk and they had us switch rooms. In the second room, the bathroom door shut, which we were excited about (Yup, you know its bad when the most exciting thing is the bathroom door shutting), but it was still falling apart. I'm pretty sure they had some sort of water leak as the hallways smelled like mildew and there were fans airing it out. Just all around bad stay, still waiting to see if we get compensated at all for the first room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from champaign, il

Just a hotel room

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Parking was free. Free drinks were offered.
Location: Location was good for downtown.
Hotel rooms really need updated. Carpet worn. Bathrooms old.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from madison, WI

Expensive, not nice

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: The place is falling apart.
I have never paid this much for a hotel before. I recognize it is downtown Milwaukee, but we're not talking New York or Chicago here. I would be willing to pay this much for a hotel if it was a nice hotel, but this is a crap hotel. It's dirty and dilapidated. Not impressed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ky

Close to conference center

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Stayed for 5 nights. Gone most of each day. Good restaurant. Beds were soft rather than supporting. Shower ceiling was quite moldy, didn't check other rooms. Good water pressure on 5th floor. Popular place for motorcyclists to stay. Not noisy. Not quality but cheap.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in general needs some upgrades

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Stayed here for a nearby wedding and the rooms reminded me of a 1980 motel on the side of the road..not worth the $150/ night price tag