Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Location: Milwaukee is not big, so it's close to everything.
This is a great hotel in an up and coming neighborhood. Love the vibe/décor and the staff was very helpful. I didn't eat there, but I hear it is very good. Love the bar, lounge and outdoor space. I was a bit disappointed in the room I stayed in only because the picture of the room type I booked didn't accurately reflect the room I got. I thought it was going to be bigger and "lighter". They also don't use mattress pads and fitted sheets so the flat sheet covering the mattress often came un-tucked, exposing the mattress. I'd suggest they get some fitted sheets. Overall I did really like the hotel and will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisc

Great hotel and service.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Cory and the ladies and the front desk, Great! Rooms are wonderful, clean, quiet, bed very comfortable.
Cons: Selection on food. Got there on a Sunday afternoon, main restaurant wasn't open, so limited on food selection. Brunch a bit pricey for Sunday brunch
Location: Went to the zoo.
Got there a little early, no problem. Staff very professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Love this place!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Rooms are enormous and thoughtfully designed. (My favorite rooms are the 11's...411, 511, etc). Entire hotel is eye candy -- interesting art and architecture throughout. The staff are friendly and accommodating from door to front desk to bar. Food and drink is very good. Free covered motorcycle parking if you happen to ride in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Hampton Roads, VA

Downtown without being downtown.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: All of the above plus the "cheese board".
Cons: Don't have any recommendations.
Location: See above. Miller Park is easily accessible using public transportation -- Wisconsin Avenue, or free shuttle from O'Lydia's.
Great location. Short walking distance to the historic 3rd ward, public market and river walk areas. Good bar in hotel, but short walking distance to other great bars including the Black Sheep and O'Lydia's. Rooms were spacious and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leona from Milwaukee

perfect for a laid-back getaway for two

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Such a nice treat - gorgeous rooms, comfortable beds, fabulous hotel overall. We were a little weirded out that the bar/restaurant was so dead (we were literally the only people there) but it was a Monday night, so maybe it's more lively on the weekends. Food was good but the drinks were better. Spa was AMAZING. Don't remember the girl's name who we had (started with a J?) but she was just phenomenal. Great music and very relaxing. Only complaint was that we received just okay service at the front desk. Would have appreciated a warmer welcome - two of the staff members behind the desk continued chatting with each other after we approached them and made us feel a bit like we were interrupting (pet peeve of mine). Will definitely be back to check out the outdoor patio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by DB

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2014
Cool hotel, pet friendly, swanky décor and good drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JC from Chicago

Hip Hotel

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
A+ for design and quality of the rooms. Very well done. Will for sure stay here again, so much better than the other sleepy hotels in Milwaukee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Young Professional Business Traveler from Cleveland

Nice artsy/hip hotel, but room for improvement

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Iron Horse had a great vibe, and the downstairs is really alive at night. Big, big rooms, and huge walk-in shower. I liked the free pool table and the library - really unique, and a nice space. The housekeeping needs a bit more attention to detail, however. For instance, the bathrobe I laid on the chair in the morning was still there when I returned in the evening. Similarly, the bottles of shampoo, etc. in the shower were still scattered, and there was only 1 bar of soap ever provided. Also, beware the advertising of a car service available. This is misleading and an important factor for business travelers as it is only available for a limited time in the afternoon, and not at all in the morning when one would need it to travel to meetings. That being said, cabs arrived very quickly when called for. The neighborhood is going through a transition, but it is only 1/2 mile walk to the 3rd Ward which is a great place for restaurants, walking, and people watching. About a 20 minute walk to the convention center. Work-out facilities were ok, but limited. i was fortunate no one else was using them, as there is only 1 treadmill. All in all I would stay again, especially given the proximity to the 3rd Ward, but would factor cab fares into my cost calculations given the lack of the free car service
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian from Johnsburg, Illinois

AWESOME

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Iron Horse when we were in Milwaukee to see the Brewers. I'm a die hard Brewer fan but to be honest we didn't want to leave the hotel. The room and LOBBY if you want to call it a lobby were fantastic and like no other experience I've had at a hotel. We highly recommend this luxury if your staying in Milwaukee and the staff are as friendly as they come.Thank you Iron Horse.