Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Nice hotel close to the beach!

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The neighborhood is wonderful. The hotel is right across the street from the lake.
Cons: I'd like to see a small cafe or coffe shop in the hotel. There's an ideal vacant space for one.
Location: Just a mile away from Downtown, the Milwaukee Art Museum, the Discovery Center and just about everything else there is to do and see in the City.
Every room has a kitchenette. Be sure to bring some food and snacks. The only restaurant on site is the Knick for dinner. Otherwise it's a mile to the nearest restaurant, grocery store, or coffee shop. This hotel is ideal for a longer term stay in Milwaukee. Lovely neighborhood.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

NOT a SUITE

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Everything other than the location
The 3 star rating for this hotel is definitely over-rated. It is a 2 star at best and the quality and conditions are below that of a common 3-star hotel (hyatt, comfort inn, four points, hilton garden inn, etc.). A few examples of the "quality" are: (1) clerk at the broken wood counter, non-shaven, untucked shirt and sloppy tie, eating a pizza at the desk, (2) the room has old ikea furniture, stains all over the old carpeting, wires for the "netgear" router (in the room) and the tv all over the place, and a phone from the 80s that blinks a red light constantly, (3) the housekeeper knocked on the door and asked if there was any service that we needed that day - I asked for 4 towels - she gave them to me and left. The hotel looks decent from the outside and the lobby - but the rest leaves little to be desired. I would stay at a suburban 3-star and drive downtown rather than stay at this hotel every time - unfortunately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wausau, WI

Nice old hotel right near Lake Michigan

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: There is coffee & pots in the room, but a coffee shop/newsstand/small deli would be nice.
Location: See above.
It's a beautiful old hotel near the Lake, Summerfest grounds and downtown, and it is in a really nice neighborhood. The staff was friendly and attentive, although we had zero problems. The rooms are more like small apartments with both regular and huge sized closets, full kitchens, and the best mattress my wife & I have ever slept on. Parking is in a small, secure lot adjacent to the hotel ans literally steps from the back door.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice, but did not meet expectations

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: The charm of the hotel. Very pretty and nice details in the decorating. The staff was nice and the room was clean.
Cons: Heat was too high! There were blinds for a window in the kitchen that was not on the window, but on top of the fridge.
Location: We booked this hotel because it was close to the lake. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate with strolls by the lake. Starbucks is close by.
We enjoyed the charm of the hotel. Very pretty and nice details in the decorating. The staff was very nice and the room was clean. We were exceedingly hot during the night and had to open a window because the heat was so high. we also were looking forward to watching a movie, but could not purchase one through the cable at the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

Not what I hoped for

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The Knick restaurant/bar. The lobby decor. The location. They still have real keys, not key cards.
Cons: Fix the toilet. Put steady, sturdy furnishings in room. Parking lot. Lobby staff could be more attentive.
Location: Lake. Brewery.
This hotel is listed on the historic hotel registry. I try to stay at historic hotels whenever possible. This hotel is quite nice from the outside and the lobby is beautiful. The check in/out staff seemed preoccupied with other things.The room was updated to have a 1950s feel. It seemed nice and included a kitchenette. The hightop table was unsteady and ready to fall over. The bed was terribly uncomfortable. This was compounded by the fact that we reserved a king and got a full. Sleep was difficult. The toilet had issuess too. It did not want to flush and kept backing up. The parking pass did not work when exiting the parking lot, but no problems opening gate when entering. If we had been staying for more than night or required to be in the room more, I would not have kept this room. I did enjoy the restaurant/bar there. It was very nice, with friendly staff and great food/drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm

Posted Mar 23, 2015
I love old world charm and this hotel had it galore. The residents clearly enjoy living there and the location couldn't be better. Parking was convenient and it was easy to get around the city from this spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome old hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Neat old hotel. It feels like a hotel out of a movie from the 40's! Clean, comfy, and close to the lake and downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Very old building with some renovations. Enjoyed.

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: It was quaint.
Cons: There was no breakfast in the building. The shower was a little unwieldy.
Location: We went there because the Art Museum was close by. It is also near Brady street.
We were there only one night, but would go back again because it is near the art museum. The walls were thin and so there was some noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tonyfrom Madison

Eh

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels.com
Eh not impressed. Its old and unique and it could use some attention to detail in their rooms. Service is non-existent. Where do you get your help at the front desk? Do they really want to work there?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Classic Milwaukee

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
Had a great time! The staff was friendly and helpful! The hotel was in great condition. We loved the classic vintage touches.The bar, The Knick, is a great place to grab a drink or a bite to eat.we loved the views of the lake as well and how quick of a walk it is to downtown (about a mile).