Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy place to stay in downtown Milwaukee.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The room was charming and the kitchen/dining area was bigger than I expected.
Location: It was located in downtown Milwaukee, their were plenty of things to do and see.
We arrived a couple of hours before check in and our room was ready. Elegant hotel with old feel charm. We had a junior suite and it was great. It reminded me of visiting a relative's house vs. hotel suite. The rooms were clean and decorated with furnature and fixtures fitting of the old look and style of the era. We had a king size bed and it was wonderful. The carpet was older but it was clean. We had a great stay at a very nice alternative to regular hotel suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great location close to lake & restaurants,

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Updated yet has character! Rooms had all amenities for a longer stay. Bathroom was small.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice location, but an old hotel not updated.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The atmosphere is traditional-to-elegant, but not much updated for convenience; the mattress was sub-par and there was no place to get breakfast but the even more old-fashioned Argos. Nice walk to a view of the lake, but no convenient way down to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great location and Pleasant Stay

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Ambience and the traditional-style lobby
Cons: Size of bathroom
Location: One can easily walk to the lakefront, art museum, and Summerfest grounds
I once was a resident of Milwaukee and have eaten numerous times at The Knick. I did not know that staying here was ever an option, thinking that it was more of a residential hotel. Regardless, my wife and I booked a room here since hotel rooms were so scarce during a busy July weekend. Nevertheless, we were very happy with our choice. The location is terrific, and the room was comfortable for our needs. The only drawback was that the bathroom was small and placing one's toiletries became a difficult balancing act. In addition, it was not made clear that parking would have a $15 nightly fee. Still, we would come back and use the hotel again for a future visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for just a room.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
I think rooms here are condos so my guess is every one will be slighty different. Ours was old with stained carpet. Bed creaked with every movement. My biggest complaint would be the front office staff though. Guy we dealt with was fine, but the woman at the front desk seemed annoyed that I took 30 seconds of her time. Wouldn't stay here again unless I couldn't find a room elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Stayed one night. Very vintage. Staff were helpful. Bed was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, ILL

Gorgous room

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: It had alot of character and I loved the antiques.
Cons: New air conditioners. Mine worked but it was not very cold.
Location: Near the lake and walkable to the Summerfest event.
I had the French country room and I loved it. The bed was very comfortable and it had a large bathtub and a full kitchen. The room and the experience in the hotel was exceptional. The staff was kind and even found the cheese store for me so I could take home Wisconsin cheese curds. Great Service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammy from milwaukee

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014
A tad expensive for a really small room but overall good. Worth it seeing that it is In Downtown area. Would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brandon from F

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stacy from Colorado, USA

Surprisingly pleasant Knickerbocker experience

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Location: Great location between downtown Milwaukee and the lakeshore; nice grocery store within four blocks, several other very attractive restaurants nearby.
I've enjoyed "The Knick" restaurant for years, but had never stayed at this hotel. When I had a business trip to Milwaukee during their outstanding Summerfest, all my favorite hotels were fully booked, so I stayed at the Knickerbocker. I did read several reviews from others who did not have a satisfying experience, but I would recommend this to most travelers. This is a wonderful older building that has had several different lives; today it is part condos and part hotel rooms; the 7th floor, where I stayed appears to be mostly hotel. The room I stayed in, 715, has relatively new oak floors. It was clean and smelled fresh. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. It appears that each room has its own wireless router, and mine did not work--I could not "see" it in my wireless devices. A reboot of the router solved that problem. The elevators were surprisingly fast; the room was quiet; the bathroom, though small, had ample towels and soap, shampoo, and those traveler essentials. Pricing was a little high, perhaps because of the sold-out situation in Milwaukee; I see that they are much more reasonable other times of the year. Note that this is NOT a five-star modern hotel, but is a very reasonable alternative for those who don't want to stay in a cookie-cutter room on every visit.