Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Commons Hotel

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Location to campus, very inviting and comfortable lobby, Beacon Public House is a great spot for a drink, Starbucks and Applebee's connected to hotel
Location: Best place to stay if you want to do things on U Minn Campus - you can walk to campus locations
The best location for spending time on UM Twin Cities Campus
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Roger from Santa Barbara

Visiting the U of MN

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Visiting the U. No coffee in the room, too hot, noisy too. Nice lobby and bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to UMN misses the mark at all levels

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Close to UMN good shuttle service
Cons: Management
Location: On UMN campus
Noisy room not serviced one day at all . Faulty unfixed bed lamp. Flashing message light on phone unable to be turned off. I will never use this company ever again. Let's the city down
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Weekend Away

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Overall the stay was very good! The service was terrific and very friendly. My only reservations with an overall 5 rating is that housekeeping gave us only decaf coffee (but there's a Starbucks connected to the lobby) and a guest got sick in the hallway, which wasn't completely cleaned up until later in the morning, so all night the mess was there. We just avoided by using the stairs and understand the hotel can't control their guest, but wished they would clean it up as soon as possible regardless of the time in the night (I'm sure others wouldn't mind if they knew what they were avoiding).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Laura from wisconsin

UofM

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
If visiting the campus, you can't get a better location. Always a pleasant stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, Wi

Great hotel on campus

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Hotel bar had a great selection of local craft beer
Cons: Little or no ability to recycle
Location: Tons of things close by and the light rail is right out front.
Really nice place with awesome rooms. I got a room near the elevators but it wasn't too bad as far as noise goes. I was really impressed with the size and styling of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A charming place to stay

Posted Mar 29, 2015
The Commons was a well-appointed hotel with comfortable beds, bright bathrooms, clean rooms and thick walls, all of which made for a very pleasant stay. The staff were courteous and amenable. We didn't take the opportunity to eat in the hotel restaurant, but that isn't a knock against it; the hotel is within walking distance to so many great places to eat. The adjoining parkade was extremely convenient and validation was a breeze. I highly recommend The Commons should you be traveling to Minneapolis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Great location. The U of M campus right out the door. Downtown Mpls or St. Paul just minutes away on the light rail train. Rooms well decorated.
Cons: We had one bed with well worn sheets. Frayed end with holes. These must be retired right away.
Location: This hotel is ideally situated on the U of M campus. You can walk anywhere on campus Light rail right in front to take you to dwnt St. Paul or Mpls.
We came to Minneapolis for the Women's Ice Hockey Frozen Four Championship. The hotel was comfortable and well decorated. I would recommend and return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect location to campus and light rail

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Location. Lobby ambiance
Cons: Rooms could use better cleaning. Closet mirrors obviously not cleaned on a regular basis. Carpet in hallways worn and ripping
Location: Dinky town with local student breakfast stops
Touring the university with my daughter. Helpful front desk staff. If you want a hotel shuttle within 5 miles you need to wait if they already have a group scheduled.