Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly decorated

Posted May 19, 2015
Everything was neat and clean. However, I couldn't find a plug-in for Kerieg so couldn't have my morning cup of coffee. Lamp wasn't plugged in. Clock was set wrong and I couldn't get it set. Minor things so I'd say everything was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2015 by Ian H., Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for your review as well as for the information regarding your stay. You will be pleased to read that we are replacing all of the lighting in the guestrooms because they are cumbersome to use. I have spoken with housekeeping to ensure all of the rooms are appropriately set for guest arrivals. Again, thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future. Kindest regards, Ian H.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Good overall would come back for sure nice rooms a little small but beds everything else was nice..good breakfast and bar
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Ian H., Hotel Management
Greetings, Our guest reviews are important to us here at the Crowne Plaza St. Paul-Riverfront, and soon to be the InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront. Thank you for your review; I will be sharing your comments with managers and staff members this afternoon. We are pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future. Best regards, Ian H.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Cons: Scrape it and retrain the staff
Stayed in a newly renovated room. Room was shoddy, carpet was disgusting (black feet after 5 minutes of walking around the room), and staff was rude, except the valet(s). Will not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Ian H., Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for writing us a review; all of our reviews are exceedingly important in maintaining service quality. I apologize for the experience during your stay with us here in St. Paul. I will be sharing your comments and words with department heads as well as staff members. Again thank you for your time and our most sincere apologies for the discontentment experienced. Best regards, Ian H.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Drap and disappointing

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location
A poorly constructed hotel with paper thin walls which easily let in noise from other rooms. Decor attempts to be moderne, but is in fact drap and uninspired. Public areas are cavernous and unappealing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Ian H., Hotel Management
Greetings Tim, Thank you for your review. We exceedingly appreciate every review we receive because they allow us to pinpoint our workable opportunities. I do most sincerely apologize for any miscommunication and discontentment during your stay. I will be sharing your words with multiple management teams as well as staff members. As you had mentioned we are undergoing renovations in order to become an InterContinental Hotel, still within the IHG family of brands. Because of this transformation we have upgraded all of the spaces to a more modern aesthetic. Thank you again for your time. Best regards, Ian H. (Social Media/Guest Relations Coordinator)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to various venues.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Easy access, check in and checkout was quick. Nice quiet surroundings.
Cons: I had problems accessing WiFi from my room. Maybe need to add a booster in that area of the hotel.
Location: Easy to find. Located near the River Centre, Excel Center, museum, Capitol, Cathedral, close to light rail line.
My stay at the Crown Plaza was restful and the staff very courteous. The food in the restaurant was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2015 by Ian H., Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review; we do appreciate the time it takes to do so and the feedback is always welcomed. As you had most likely noticed we are currently undergoing renovations. This Spring we will launch as an InterContinental Hotel. We are working diligently to make all of the upgrades necessary to align ourselves with the InterContinental brand. We are working to increase the WiFi speeds for the entire Hotel; this should be up and running in the next few months in time for our new brand launch. Our unique location in St. Paul, as you had mentioned, is indeed close to many venues; one of the best parts is that we are directly connected to the Skyway, which connects many of the venues you had mentioned. Again thank you for your words and time. We do hope to welcome you back to our new Hotel in the near future. Best regards, Ian H. (Social Media/Guest Relations Coordinator)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Great hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful.
Cons: There is construction going on, however the times are posted so you know when they will be working.
Location: The river with a beautiful path is across the street. the Science Museum and hockey arena are also within two blocks of the hotel
I had a wonderful experience in St. Paul. The staff were wonderful, the facilities beautiful and my trip was wonderful. I have and will continue to recommend the hotel to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by Ian H., Hotel Management
Greetings Kate, It was a pleasure reading your words and we are exceedingly thankful for your review. I will be sharing your words with management as well as staff members in the coming hours. St. Paul is a wonderful city and we are ecstatic to read about your experience here with us. Thank you again for your time and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Ian H. (Social Media/Guest Relations Coordinator)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: I like the improvement on the hotel, but wish that the pool work. Due to the fact that they don't have a tub.
The staff for overnights are lazy to pick up your phone called and takes for ever for the house keeping to bring things over. The parking in and out are not a great way to get in and out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Ian H., Hotel Management
Greetings, It is extremely disheartening to read about the experience you had during your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza St. Paul-Riverfront Hotel, and soon to be an InterContinental this Spring. I can assure you that I will be speaking with both the night manager as well as the Housekeeping manager today. I thank you for taking the time in writing a review for us and I would like to apologize for miscommunications and/or frustrations during your stay. Knowing our opportunities for improvement as soon as they arise enables us to review and/or change our service procedures if the need presents itself. Thank you again for your time and we sincerely apologies for any discontentment. Best regards, Ian H. (Social Media/Guest Relations Coordinator)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Green Bay, WI

Hotel Noisy

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: I like the staff serving the food great people. All the Staff where very kind and enjoyable to talk with.
Cons: If they would have let me move to other side of hotel the first time I asked, would not have been a problem.
Location: The Location seemed to be great, not sure about thing to do around there. Had a class at the University the next day. Didn't do anything other then th
I understood there was construction going on. . I had just drive there. it was a four and a half hour drive. Wanted to relax. They said noise would end at 5pm. It was 4:30 so ok no problem. At 5:30 still noisy.The noise was very loud and that is part of construction on one end of building. They said will it well end at 8:00 pm for sure. What the problem was is I asked to be moved to the other side of hotel away from the noise. They moved me from the 5th floor to the 7th floor. . Went up to the seventy floor to check out room, the noise was worst on that floor. Went back down to main desk. Total them that would not work, same problem. Asked to be moved to the other side of hotel away from noise again. They finally moved me to room 614 on the other side of the building like I asked. Corner room. Nice room but very cool, but away from noise. The room was cool because of the amount of windows and the very cool weather. Even with curtain shout. But much better then noise. Would not have stayed in that room if it had not been for the noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Ian H., Hotel Management
Greetings Roy, I would like to begin by thanking you for your time in writing us a review. Guest reviews are a fundamental part of maintaining our guests’ expectations of service. We apologize for any displeasure during your stay here at the Crowne Plaza-Riverfront Hotel. I will be discussing this review with the principal management team to pinpoint and improve upon service opportunities. Again, thank you for your time. Best regards, Ian H. (Social Media/Guest Relations Coordinator)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Ok stay

Posted Feb 27, 2015
The hotel was under construction when we checked in, which didn't really bother us. We were told that we got an upgrade to a room on the top floor, which was nice. But I think the only reason they did that was because we had booked a king bed and they didn't have any available so we had 2 queens. Kind of a sneaky way to avoid telling us they overbooked in our opinion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Ian H., Hotel Management
Greetings Alicia, We here at the Crowne Plaza St. Paul-Riverfront appreciate all of our guests’ reviews. They allow us to pinpoint opportunities in our processes. I can assure you that this will be discussed with management so we can facilitate methods which will carry forward into our daily operations. The missed opportunities for communication will be addressed and methodologies will also be reviewed. We apologize for any discontentment that may have been experienced during your stay and we again thank you, most sincerely, for your time. Best regards, Ian H. (Social Media/Guest Relations Coordinator)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jack

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Ian, Hotel Management
Greetings Jack, Thank you for your rating. We appreciate all of our guests' feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future. Again thank you for your time. Best regards, Ian H. (Social Media/Guest Relations Coordinator)